Hey there,

Now I know that this is being read (hi Robin!), I have added pressure to keep up with my end of the deal to track my MN experiences.

I woke up this morning to the sound of the house phone ringing – my dad’s doctor’s office calling at 7:44 AM. Way to go, doctor’s office. They asked me to relay some cryptic message to my dad about the stuff he “ordered,” and in my newly awakened state I’m sure I mumbled an “okay” in return before hanging up the phone.

I don’t know if it’s the fact that I am now not in school right now, or if my body is physically worn out from the school year and the other day’s epic drive here, but I have slept a lot/well. I took a 90 minute nap yesterday… I can’t remember the last time that happened, as I usually can’t fall asleep during the day.

Now, you are probably thinking, “Geez, Kate, shouldn’t you be working on your thesis instead of sleeping all the time?”. And the answer to that is “yes”.

This morning I spent a few hours behind the laptop listening to the greatest Broadway mix ever and doing research for a couple of hours. I started a brand spankin’ new Bookmark Folder (“Thesis Proposal” – original, I know), and have 16 academic articles waiting to be read more thoroughly within said folder. Though I will not divulge my thesis topic to you, reader(s) of the blog, I assure you that it is not a topic that has been adequately covered by academics and therefore it is a bugger doing research because I feel like I have to find articles that circle my topic instead of actually address what I am trying to analyze. Oh, Academia… you are bonkers.

Besides a fair amount of research, I have completely caught up watching Party Down, the brilliant Starz series about a catering team made up of actors, a writer, and other social misfits. For the record, this show had been in my Netflix queue ever since last summer, and I did not just jump on the Party Down bandwagon because several of my peers from grad school watched the show. I was intrigued by the show because I have been a fan of lead actor Adam Scott (Henry!) for a while now, and I have been a huge supporter of all things Paul Rudd before the whole of society decided he was everyone’s favorite funny man.

I could write an epic monologue about how much I dig Henry on Party Down and his relationship with Casey Klein (the always awesome Lizzy Caplan… I so want to befriend her, give her a huge hug and thank her for her entire canon of work). Scott and Caplan play off each other so well and they have these extremely intimate moments where they just kind of lock eyes, shrug and completely convey what their respective character is thinking… they are both underrated in their amazingness. I am bummed that the show only has 2 new episodes left. Adam Scott is on Parks and Recreation now, which is great because I already watched that show anyway.

In other entertainment “news,” my dad and I did watch The Rock last night. And it was just as friggin’ great as I remembered it to be. Props to Michael Bay, his cinematographer and art director for the greenish hues used throughout the parts of the film set in Alcatraz. (This is not a joke.) The colors were completely complementary to Ed Harris’s eyes and the uniforms and really gave the scenes in the prison a more muted, yet a seemingly intense and professional feel to it. While watching the movie, though, I was intrigued by the music and was like, “Hey, this sounds super familiar.” I realized that the main themes from the Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy borrow heavily from the motifs used throughout The Rock. According to IMDB.com, Nick Glennie-Smith and Hans Zimmer scored The Rock. Glennie-Smith wrote additional music for the three Pirates movies and Zimmer scored the Dead Man’s Chest and At World’s End. Hmm…

There is some sort of Paley Center special on television tonight, but we also just got Observe and Report in the mail (oh, Netflix…) So we’ll probably watch that at some point too.

Well, I need to feed my dogs…

Have a good one 🙂

