While I was trying to get to sleep last night, I realized I didn’t do a blog post. And though that broke my daily update, I am letting myself off the hook for that one… there was a death in the family. A blog post isn’t so important anymore, is it? Nope.

Yesterday morning I decided I was going to get out of the house, so I drove on the highway (!) to get to a nearby movie theater to see Toy Story 3. Now, I hate driving, I really hate highway driving, and I extremely hate driving in places that I am unfamiliar with… so it was a kinda big deal (in my opinion) that I was venturing out of the house like that. I also hadn’t been to a movie in about a month – and for someone who tries to go once a week, I needed to see a movie in theaters or I was going to get the shakes.

So I highway drove to the movie theater, paid my $7.25 (for a matinee, Regal Cinemas, really???), got some Sour Patch Kids and nestled down into my seat. As I was at the theater way early, I kept busy texting w/a friend. Said friend asked about my highway driving and I admitted to being a pansy about it, though I have a decent learning curve. I also confessed that I needed to man up and drive to more places just to be around people.

[To be frank – it is super lonely here in MN. Yes, I get to see my dad most evenings and I will see him more on the weekends, but I miss being around people in my age bracket. I miss my friends. A lot. And though I have tried to hard sell to see if anyone would come visit me, that’s likely not going to happen. Plane tickets are expensive, MN is way to far from Ohio, and it’s unreasonable to expect people to just up and come 1/3 of the way across the country to save me from loneliness. My dogs and dad are great company, but I miss my friends – dogs and my dad just are not an equal substitute.]

Families with small children began to filter into the theater and ended up sitting near me, which made little sense as the ginormous theater was pretty much empty.

I opted to see Toy Story 3 in 2D. I have vowed not to see anything in 3D ever again… it’s a waste of money, the effects usually aren’t all that great, and I hate wearing those glasses. Toy Story 3 in 2D was just fine. In fact, it was friggin’ great. I loved the first two films, and this was a perfect fit for the (now) trilogy. And I don’t usually cry at movies (I sobbed at Million Dollar Baby and shed some tears at In America and In Her Shoes), but I was beyond teared up by the end of Toy Story 3. I won’t spoil any plot lines for you, but the scene when they all held hands and then the scene with Andy and Bonnie really hit home. I was already missing my friends, but then to see the love and selflessness was almost too much for me to take right then. I spent the credits wiping tears away from my eyes and trying to collect myself before the lights came up. (Side note – we totally had that Animal Lovin’ Ken doll when we were little! Along with his friend Animal Lovin’ Nikki… woot)

When I got out of the movie, I saw that I had two missed calls and two voicemails from my dad. I hadn’t told him I was going to a movie, so I assumed he was wondering why he couldn’t get a hold of me. Before I drove home (I don’t talk on the phone while I drive – duh), I called my dad and he prefaced the conversation with “I have some bad news…”, which is parent code for “someone [person or pet] is in the hospital or died”. He told me that my great-grandmother had passed away earlier that morning. I managed to make it through the rest of the conversation, drive home, let the dogs outside, leave a message on my grandparents and my friend’s phones before I completely lost it leaving a message on my BFFs phone. Cue tears and my blindly searching for a box of tissues. I just wanted to talk to someone… and that just wasn’t happening. So, I texted my friend who I was texting with earlier and all said friend had to say was “Awww I’m really sorry”. I know he meant it, but this girl needed more comforting than that.

So, I choked down a sandwich and laid face down on the couch and just watched television the rest of the afternoon instead of working on thesis stuff. I was sad and in no mood to read about hegemony.

I perked up a bit later when I was doing the dishes/dancing around the kitchen to an excellent mix of pop music (Lady Gaga, Beyonce, Britney, etc…). My grandparents called and I talked to them for awhile, which was nice. We talked about my great-grandmother… she was 94 (I think).

My great-grandmother was an amazing lady. I have nothing but good memories of her. Visiting her and my great-grandfather up in Maine and New Jersey, and then later visiting her in Florida after my great-grandfather died. She was always making food, trying to get us to eat, playing cards with us or telling stories. My sister and I would stay with her in New Jersey before driving into NYC for a weekend. She was probably the nicest person I will ever meet in my entire life and I am thankful and grateful that I got to know her for these past 26 years πŸ™‚ I will miss her dearly, but have so many fond memories to keep myself smiling for years to come.

When my dad got home from work last night he gave me a big hug and took me out to BW3s for dinner. On the way there my mom and sister called from Alaska… I could tell my mom was really sad (this was her grandmother who just passed). I won’t get to hear from my mom again until the end of the week, which sucks, but that’s just how it is. She and my sister are doing well, which made me happy.

After dinner, my dad took me to Half Price Books where I got 2 books (an APA manual for my thesis, a book about shows that jumped the shark, and 2 DVDs – A Mighty Wind</em> and Bend it Like Beckham – woot). When we got home, my friend Robin called and that made me feel much better πŸ™‚ My dad and I then watched a really crappy movie (Shadowboxer) and called it quits for the night.

Today I was going to get a lot of work done on my thesis proposal since I didn’t do anything for the past few days… I found a bunch for articles, and started an annotated bibliography (I think I took notes on three or four articles). I will totally do a lot more work tomorrow, but I just didn’t have it in me today.

I spent a lot of time watering the plants because I keep getting lectured that all the plants need to still be alive when my mom gets back. I also watched several episodes of Weeds Season Three. I also watched Paper Heart (2009), the mockumentary about love… and I loved it! It made me so happy and sad at the same time, even though I was already aware of what was real and what was fiction in the movie. So, after watching the movie… I kinda poked around online and found an online dating site for the area where I’m living. And I might have signed up… That probably was not the most rational thing to do, especially after all the unintended drama the last few months of school… but whatever. Surely there must be some great guy for me around here somewhere, right?

Well, my youngest dog just came over and put her head in my lap which means she requires my full attention and wants her belly rubbed. And I could totally use a cold drink and another few episodes of Weeds

Have a great evening πŸ™‚

