Yeah, that’s pretty much how I felt today, at least with regards to working on school stuff. Because I didn’t work on school stuff… I ran an errand for my dad, watered plants and watched a movie.

Go ahead and say it – I am a crappy graduate student. Sure, I got all of my homework and papers turned in on time and had decent grades for the entire school year. But I have little motivation to read articles for my thesis proposal, and I especially have no motivation to actually type the sucker up.

I’m sure this is just me being extra anxious about what happens next. As in, after I write and defend my thesis proposal, then I will have to write and defend my thesis. Once I’m done with my thesis, I am magically supposed to have my life figured out. And seeing how I have absolutely no idea about how my life is going to turn out, I am procrastinating with the thesis…

No need for therapy, I can decipher my own crazy, thankyouverymuch.

So, I watched a really great movie today called Bright Star (2009). And you’re thinking, “But wait, Kate, that’s a romantic drama… How can you like a romantic drama when you don’t like romantic comedies?”

Easy folks – usually stuff doesn’t work out for the main characters in romantic dramas… which I consider to be more relatable to than crappy romantic comedies.

Often times in romantic dramas, the two leads meet somehow, fall in love, and then there is some crazy huge conflict that they usually cannot overcome (class issues, death, etc…). Not to be a Debbie Downer, but this is way more gripping to me and catches my attention way more than a cheesy meet-cute, then stupid conflict involving alcohol or a he-said/she-said, then a corny reunion/wedding. Pain is real and emotional whereas forced comedic romance just tries my patience and often times annoys me. I don’t like to be annoyed when watching a movie, I’d rather be engrossed in the characters and the plot.

So, Bright Star. Directed by Jane Campion, the second woman ever to be nominated for the Academy Award for Best Director (for The Piano). This film was beautiful on so many levels. Besides looking gorgeous (I friggin’ love period pieces), I admired that there was hardly any music (except for when the brother played the violin and the group of men were singing). Usually when there is no music in a movie, it causes the film to drag, but not in Bright Star. The script was great, the characters were captivating and the plot moved along quite well. I mainly wanted to see the movie because I am a fan of Campion and I love Paul Schneider. However, I came away from the movie admiring Abbie Cornish and thinking that Ben Whishaw (who I had never heard of before) was brilliant as John Keats.

I was familiar with some of Keats’s poetry, but admit that often I do not understand poetry as a whole when I am reading it. Though when someone is reading a poem out loud, it has a greater impact on me – and I can feel it, or at least let the words travel through my ears, into my brain and then dig around until they find some sort of memory or form some sort of audio/visual map to guide me to its meaning. I am not knocking my own reading skills (I am well read, thank you), but hearing someone put some feeling and inflection behind the words gives me an extra nudge in understanding and connecting to the poem. So I appreciated the parts in the movies where poetry was discussed or recited, as it benefited my enjoyment of the film and helped me grasp the intended meaning of the poems. This is definitely a movie that I hope to have in my collection soon – it will complement my Becoming Jane and Pride & Prejudice DVDs quite nicely.

Speaking of Becoming Jane, I must end this post so I may watch part of it before I go to bed. The entire time I was watching Bright Star, I was thinking how much James McAvoy would have been perfect for Keats. But, I will settle for him as Tom Lefroy – swoon (1:09) .

Good night

