It was a fantastic weekend… and then I started feeling horrible around 3:00 this afternoon. What the what?

Yesterday morning my dad and I watched The Ten before we head out on our afternoon fishing adventure. If you haven’t seen The Ten and aren’t offended by a non-Biblical look at the Ten Commandments (or are just a fan of Paul Rudd and his usual posse of peers… Ken Marino, A.D. Miles, Michael Ian Black, etc…), you should check it out.

After The Ten, we went to the grocery store to pick up some chicken livers (gross). We then went to some sporting goods store called Joe’s to pick up some nightcrawlers and some sort of special catfish bait. We then drove somewhere along the Mississippi to meet up with three other guys so we all could go fishing.

Four adult men and a twenty-something girl in a small boat all trying to fish at the same time. It was comedic hijinx for sure…

I was a bit skeptical about how the fishing trip was going to turn out – I like fishing, but I’m not super awesome at it. Also, I was basically crashing a guys fishing outing. Luckily, everyone was really nice and no one treated me any different or held back during conversation. It was actually really great.

Everyone caught fish – and everyone caught multiple fish, except for me. After a few hours, I did manage to snag a smallmouth bass, but I couldn’t land it. I reeled in my line and got the fish out of the water, but then it shook itself off my hook. Sadness. But, all the guys in the boat saw it, and they all said it counted.

After several hours of fishing, the guy whose boat we were on took us all for a bit of a boat ride down part of the river to show me some of the sites along the way. Luckily the weather held out – it was supposed to storm that afternoon, but it didn’t.

It did, however, storm most of last night after we got home – blah. Thunder and lightning like crazy… not a fan. We were also watching Drag Me to Hell, which was rather disturbing. Luckily, I was conveniently distracted by a conversation with a friend, so I didn’t have to watch the scary movie.

One of the best things about CST is that Saturday Night Live is on at 10:30. It was the Taylor Lautner episode for around Christmas. As cheesetastic as those Twilight movies are, that kid was a decent SNL host. He seemed like he was game for whatever sketches they had planned and he was actually really funny. So, good for you, Lautner.

This morning my dad took me to go see The A-Team. I really liked it! It wasn’t a great film in the way that On the Waterfront is a great film, but it was highly entertaining and had a great cast. I am already a fan of Liam Neeson, Bradley Cooper and Patrick Wilson, but Sharlto Copley was so brilliant… I need to watch District 9 and soon! The A-Team was super funny and had some great action sequences. I have never seen an episode of The A-Team, but I know that theme song. I was pumped to see the film based on the cast and the trailer… and I knew my dad would get a kick out of it, so it was a good father/daughter movie outing.

After the movie, my dad took me to some Indian restaurant. Growing up, that never would have happened – we hardly ever ate other culture’s foods, besides the occasional Chinese take-out. Once I left for college, I would eat food from other countries. I guess my parents have expanded their cuisine choices too…

My dad and I got back to the house around 3 and I started to feel weird. I scrunched up and laid down on the loveseat (instead of stretching out on the couch that is physically 3 feet away…) and fell asleep. Now, I am not one for naps, but I woke up after an hour with a dried string of drool stemming from the side of my mouth. I looked at the clock on the DVD player, repositioned myself and fell back asleep until after 5:30. Both of my dogs, who usually are fed dinner at 5:00, were looking at me and each came over to poke me with their cold, wet noses. I peeled myself off the cushions, tried to get my head to stop spinning, and got up. I fed both dogs, let them outside, then face-planted on the couch.

If you’ve ever heard the song “Man” from the musical The Full Monty, you would be aware that the songs ends with Patrick Wilson sing-shouting “Ba-da-da-da-da!”

My sister and I will shout this after something great happens or a song ends triumphantly.

When something is crappy, we say “Booooooooo!”, as in the sound that the lever makes when the guy pulls it down right before the Death Star blows up (either time – though in this video it’s 3:32-3:33).

Overall this weekend was “Ba-da-da-da-da!”, but this afternoon was definitely “Boooooooo!”.

I haven’t felt this horrible in awhile. I’m super tired, even though I just slept for a couple hours, and I feel queasyish.

In my icky state, my dad let me pick whatever I wanted to watch tonight – I chose Fletch. It was all right – not as great as all the hype, though. I do love me some Chevy Chase, but I might have been too tired and/or sick to actually enjoy the movie. Sigh.

I’m going to take it easy the rest of tonight. But, even if I still feel sick tomorrow, I’m going to do more school work. I hope to get the rest of my 70 articles read this week… not entirely sure if that’ll happen. But I’m gonna try.

Grrrr.

(See, when I was little, my mom told me to growl at the ball while I was up to bat and I would be able to hit better… I am assuming the same works for thesis proposals as well.)

