This hard, wooden dining room chair (made by my dad, of course) is starting to hurt my back – I need to find a more comfortable spot to sit and do my thesis stuff…

So, today I got another 5 articles read and took notes on them bringing my total to 19 articles down and 9 1/2 pages of single-spaces notes… I’m sure I could have had more done by now, but perusing Facebook and watching old Tony Awards performances on youtube is just waaaaaaay to easy to do when you’re working on a laptop.

Also, one of my dogs, Moose, has been guilting me into playing catch with her. She puts her fury head on my lap and looks up at me with the saddest (and eye-booger filled) brown eyes and just digs her chin into my thigh. You would cave too if you saw her face… it’s ridiculously adorable.

How can you say no to this face?

She’s sleeping right now, so I should be working on reading more articles, but since I didn’t post yesterday, I figure I would check that off of my “to-do” list.

Yesterday I tried to take it easy… I read 4 or 5 articles and drank a lot of liquids because I was still feeling a bit dodgy from the day before. Mid-day I took a lunch break and started watching the 2008 version of Brideshead Revisited. After watching Bright Star last week, I Netflixed whatever other Ben Whishaw movies I could (which turned out to be Brideshead and some other movie called Stoned, where he plays Keith Richards). I watched some more of it today, but I’m still not even 1/2 way done. It’s all right so far – I do enjoy period films, especially those set in England or other areas of the UK. I like those accents a lot… regardless what people are saying, it sounds way more intelligent than American English.

Oh, iTunes Broadway playlist… playing “Don’t Stop Believin'” from the cast of Rock of Ages. Did you see them at the Tony Awards last year? Sooooo good (esp. Wesley Taylor at 3:20!!!!!):

Okay, confession – I am still a little bit in love with Constantine Maroulis (the lead guy). Remember him from American Idol Season 4? Every time he was on screen, I would giggle uncontrollably. And it turns out, I still do… I can’t help it. I still want to see this musical sooooo bad. I have the soundtrack and love all of the songs – and supposedly there is a movie version in the works – but I want to see this on the stage. As everything is so much better on the stage πŸ™‚

But I digress…

I started feeling better by yesterday afternoon, so my dad took me out to dinner and then we ran some errands. I got a MN library card and a stack of books – woot! When we got back to the house, we put groceries away and then I watched The Bachelorette (I watch so I can update my sister who is still on her road trip…). My dad went on Facebook and saw that my brother had updated his status to “thinking about a surprise trip to MN this weekend”. I had talked with my brother earlier, so I was aware of his plans to come up and visit this weekend (woot!), but we both weren’t going to tell Dad. If he found out on Facebook, fine, but we weren’t going to tell him. Well, he found out, and then he started to cry 😦 Ever since his accident several years ago and the passing of both his parents, he gets way more choked up than I ever remember from my childhood. These were happy tears, but I don’t like seeing my dad cry at all, so I joked, “What are you, on your period?” He laughed and shook his head at me.

See, as super lonely as I have been – missing my friends so much that I actually cried today while brushing my teeth this morning – this is why I am up in MN for the summer. Family first, right? I know my dad misses my mom a lot while she is on this trip w/my sister. He needs company – I am company.

However, this also means that I am super sad that I am hundreds of miles away from my friends. But I can’t tell that to him because I don’t want him to feel bad that I feel sad. And so I suck it up and put on a genuinely happy face when he gets home from work and we do our father/daughter stuff. But as I sit and work on my thesis stuff during the day, I have ample time to reflect on missing people and it sucks a lot. But – I’m going back to Ohio for a few days next month and will get to see some of my friends, so that will be really great πŸ™‚ I don’t know when the next time I will get to see some of those people after that, but I will appreciate the time I do get to spend with my friends!!

Anyway, my brother should be here very late Thursday night and we’re all planning to go fishing and play tennis and hang out this weekend, so that will be tons-o-fun πŸ™‚

Today I got 5 more articles read and I am in the midst of making chicken tacos for dinner. This is the first time I’m cooking for my dad, so I hope he likes it. I need to pick some lettuce from the front porch (yep, you read that right) as well as make some guacamole for myself (my dad doesn’t like avocados – he is obviously crazy). I also need to water the plants on the back deck… I will get to that when I am done w/this blog post.

I don’t think there are any plans for tonight. Maybe we’ll play some more Trivial Pursuit… I would like to win again πŸ™‚

Have a great almost middle of the week!

