Well, well, well…

“So, Lord Helmet, at last we meet again for the first time for the last time.”

I couldn’t help it, it’s been a Bill Pullman quotin’ kind of day.

“Why?” you ask? Because it’s the freakin’ Fourth of July… you know, our Independence Day!

So, before we get to today, let’s recap yesterday (since I neglected to post…):

As my brother was still in town, of course I did not get any thesis proposal work done. Not a shocker. The three of us woke up, my dad made us breakfast and we finished watching District 9. What a great movie! Sharlto Copley was friggin’ awesome – it’s hard to believe that this was his first movie. Props to the cast and crew of District 9 – that was a well made film that really resonated with the themes of apartheid. Brilliant film… and I’m not even a fan of most movies with alien creatures, but I really liked this movie. (It’s an instant stream on Netflix – check it out!)

After the movie, we did some chores around the house (as in my brother mowed the lawn, my dad watered the gardens and I sat on the back deck and read my sister’s magazines that have come to our house… did you know that Ewan McGregor is in a 50s-inspired spread in Vogue – gorgeous!)

After that, my dad took us out to lunch and then to Wal-Mart so that he could pick up a pair of flip-flops that he can tie flies with, and Spud needed some foam stuff for something in his car. I just browsed the DVDs, as I usually do 🙂 I did notice a particular title was now in the $5 dump bin and almost texted a friend regarding said title… but I stopped myself.

(Yep, I’m going to leave that story hanging…)

After running errands, we went back home to take care of the dogs. We popped in Eddie Murphy’s Delirious. Even though it was ridiculously hilarious, I fell asleep during the last 20 minutes and ended up napping on the couch for 2+ hours. As this is the second out of two times that this has happened the day after a fishing outing, I am going to hypothesize that copious amounts of sunlight for extended periods of time (plus the heat) has the ability to knock me out.

I woke up at 5:30 and fed the dogs. We then grilled out for dinner again – I chopped up a bunch of vegetables while Dad worked the grill and Spud watered the plants on the back deck. As it was too hot to dine alfresco, we brought everything inside and watched Hot Fuzz. I could probably watch that movie three times in a row and still laugh just as hard each time. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are a delightful pair. I also love that Paddy Considine is doing comedy – he’s brilliant in so many dramas, that I am glad to see he is great in a humorous role as well. There are so many great parts and great quotes from that movie that it’s hard to peg favorites. I am quite partial to this part, though 🙂

After the flick, Spud and I played Mario Kart on the Wii for a bit, but we were having trouble figuring out what was going on (oh battle mode, why couldn’t you be more like the Super NES version?). So, we ended up playing Yahtzee again. He won, but it was still fun, as Yahtzee always is.

It was late, so the three of us went to our respective rooms. I started reading Tracy Morgan’s “I am the New Black”. I always question how much the celebrities are actually involved with the writing process of these kinds of books. So far, though, I like it. He’s an interesting guy, and I’ve been a fan since his days on SNL.

Because of my epic nap last night, I had a really tough time falling asleep last night. Blah.

I dragged myself out of bed around 8:00 this morning and poured myself some granola. We turned on Wimbledon to see Nadal take down the Czech guy in three straight sets. I was rooting for Nadal since Federer was out. I love Wimbledon and have been watching it every summer since I can remember. I know I cheered for Agassi and Sampras when I was little, along with Stefi Graf and later the Williams sisters, Rodick and Federer. I suck at playing tennis, but boy I can watch the pros play for hours!

My brother left around 11:45 this morning so he could make it to East Troy, WI to see the Dave Matthews concert. I don’t know how many he’s been to, but I would say probably around 6 or 7… he’s a fan. I’m not a DMB fan, but when Spud told me that the Zac Brown Band was opening for them, I got a little jealous. I’m not a country music fan by any means, but I’ve seen the Zac Brown Band on a few awards shows now and I do appreciate their rendition of “The Devil Went Down to Georgia”… soooo good.

My dad and I watched part of the SNL Best of Commercial Parodies and then he went to fix the lawn mower while I was supposed to work on school stuff. I read 3 pages of an article and took, like, 4 sentences worth of notes. To celebrate him fixing the mower (he didn’t think he was going to be able to, but he totally did!), he took me out for dinner and errands (another pair of flip-flops to make more flies). We got home and finished the Parodies special while he tied flies. Moose was sleeping in my lap the whole time – it was nice.

Since summer television is crap (we don’t have cable), we opted to watch another movie… I offered up The Darwin Awards and my dad took the bait. I had seen it a few years ago and ended up buying the DVD a few weeks ago but hadn’t watched it. I’m glad he ended up liking it – we laughed a lot. Joseph Fiennes is no Ralph Fiennes when it comes to acting, but I love him anyway. Especially in Shakespeare in Loveswoon times infinity.

As it’s the Fourth of July, it was a pain trying to let the dogs out for a final time before I went to my room to type this out. Moose is okay with the loud noises of fireworks but is easily distracted by them. Yukon, on the other hand, is terrified of fireworks and the sounds they make, so she spazzed out and almost dragged me back onto the porch. I sat with her, pet her, and calmly tried to tell her that she was fine, and while her breathing slowed, she wouldn’t leave the porch. You can’t say that I didn’t try.

So, my dad has off from work tomorrow (Federal holiday b/c of the 4th being on a Sunday…). Right now our plans are fishing and buying tires and windshield wipers for my car. Because my sister had car troubles while on her trip, and I’m driving back to Ohio in a couple weeks, my dad wants me to have better tires on my car. He worries about us kids and I am lucky and thankful to have parents who are always on the lookout for their kids. My dad loves me and tells me that multiple times a day 🙂 It makes a kid feel good.

I asked when he was going to take me target shooting… hopefully I’ll get to do that sometime in the coming weeks too. I haven’t shot a gun since I was in middle school, I think. So this will be interesting… I used to be a decent shot. Surely I will have gotten better with time, right? We shall see.

We heard from my mom and sister a lot over the past few days. I miss both of them, but am glad they get to spend all this time together. Even though I am super jealous about their epic road trip, I think it’s so cool that my mom got to do this! She spent 20-some years raising all of us, so she deserves to have some fun like this.

It is super adorable how much she calls my dad. And because the volume settings on my dad’s cell phone are whack, I can usually hear their entire conversation (if I’m in the room, that is). My parents are the cutest couple on the entire planet. They’ll be married for 29 years this August and I get a kick out of how much they love each other. It’s better than any romantic comedy you’ll ever watch. When my mom calls, she describes everything that she and my sister have been doing, and my dad will try and insert our activities into the conversation, but she just keeps talking. My dad chuckles and shakes his head, but he keeps listening. I can tell that he misses her like crazy, but I know that he is also super happy that she is on this adventure with my sister. I love my parents! (So, mental note for future husband – I know our marriage is not going to be a mirror image of my parents’ marriage, but if we love each other half as much as my parents do, then we are going to be super happy together 🙂 )

And now I must get some rest… got a big day of not doing school work ahead of me. Fishing time!!

