I’m sitting in our living room watching the All-Star game. Both my father and I our on our respective laptops (I’m a Mac, he’s a PC…) and Moose is sleeping at my feet. It’s pretty much a great place to be right now 🙂

I ended up waking up way earlier than normal this morning, though by time I dragged myself upstairs to greet the day, my dad had just left for work. The living room was dark, but I saw both dogs wagging their tails and seeming happy to see me. Of course they were happy to see me – I’m the one who feeds them 🙂

I fed them breakfast and chopped up a couple bananas for myself (yes, I eat the same thing pretty much every morning for breakfast…). I took the dogs outside and let them blow off some steam before I herded them indoors.

I fed the fish/snails/leeches, then poured my granola and sat down to watch Pushing Daisies. Although this all must seem like a boring routine to you, I like my mornings like this. I’m not a morning person, so only talking to dogs is pretty nice. When my sister and I lived together and crossed paths in the morning, we’d each make a groaning sound acknowledging each other’s presence, and then yell “bye!” when the other one left. That’s all we needed… it worked for us.

I finished one episode of Pushing Daisies and started another one, then got down to business. Shower, emails, apartment hunting, etc… The nice lady from the apartment I checked out today called and reminded me of my afternoon appointment. Yes, ma’am.

I finished another episode of Pushing Daisies with lunch, then let the dogs outside to play a bit. I then gathered my purse and GPS and headed out the door.

Since I Google-mapped where I was going, I knew which streets I was supposed to be taking. My GPS, Daniel (he’s British…), suggested two alternate routes before he finally got the gist of what route I was determined to use. While driving, I got two phone calls and two text messages. My phone was in my purse, as I rarely talk on the phone while driving, and I never text while I’m driving, so I waited until I parked at my location before seeing who I missed. The calls were from my sister – she and my mom were on a Ferry and wanted to kill some time. The texts were from Matt (my friend from grad school, not the guy we went shooting with yesterday) – he started watching Weeds and was letting me know that my favorite character (Andy) has finally appeared and that there was some good joke involving a coffee table. Good times 🙂

At 1:00, I met a kind man outside of the apartment complex and he showed me a room. It was exactly like the youtube video on their website, so I wasn’t super surprised about anything. I’m always nervous around strangers, so I basically ran my mouth the whole time. I’m weird – I either am dead silent, or yap like crazy (you should have seen me during my driving test back in Indiana… I talked through the whole thing. I can only drive while listening to music, and I wasn’t allowed to have my radio on, so I just kept talking… it was pretty bad. The talking, not the driving. I passed on my first try – woot.)

After that, I drove to a Super Target as I needed some caffeinated soda and snacks for my road trip on Friday. While at the Target, I called my sister back and we chatted for awhile. A good sister-to-sister chat. Though I only bought snacks for the trip, I wanted to buy a bajillion things in there. And by a bajillion things, I mean a bunch of DVDs and a Ninja Turtles shirt that I thought was adorable.

I got home and let the dogs outside and gave them treats. I tried to get Moose to “speak,” but she doesn’t know that command. Yukon does, though, because she is a champion.

(Okay – so I gave up on the game… it was 0-1 (AL) and there was a pitching change in the Bottom of the 6th. I’m now sitting on my bed next to Iron Man Buddy and am going to try and type the rest of this out pronto so I can get to sleep…)

Where was I?

Oh yes, I got home and played with the dogs a bit because I love them so 🙂 Growing up, there was usually at least two dogs around all the time. So I am taking full advantage of spending time with my dogs after being away at school or whatnot since 2002.

We all settled down and watched another episode of Pushing Daisies. I then did the dishes because that was the right thing to do… I called Robin and left a message and then sat down to check my email. Mere minutes later my phone rang – it was Robin!!

We chatted for almost an hour – once again solving life’s mysteries, talking about thesis stuff and planning some hang-out time when I’m back in Ohio soon 🙂 I can’t wait to see friends!!

My dad came home and so Robin and I said goodbye. I suggested ribs and salad for dinner – my dad concurred that that was an excellent plan. Though instead of firing up the grill, we had an epic father-daughter chat that resulted in me bursting into tears (*not* his fault) and him scolding me after I told him I basically have two worthless degrees and am paranoid about not finding a job and becoming an epic failure. He got a bit mad when I told him that I thought I was unimportant in the grand scheme of things. I feel like I am a huge burden to my parents sometime – like I somehow failed them (they both tell me this is not true). I was the super smart kid with the good grades and college scholarships. And now look at me… two degrees down (almost – damn you, thesis!), a resume full of odd jobs, a checking account full of college loan money, and I’m living at home with my parents. But it’s not even my home… I never lived here growing up (my parents moved here 3 years ago). My head spins daily with confusion of what I want to be when I grow up and whether I’m ever going to amount to what I thought I was supposed to amount to. (I surely hope this throbbing feeling in my head right now is just from me trying to hold back Round 2 of tears and not the god-awful stress-induced tension headaches I had back in high school….)

So yeah… it was a good talk in the sense that my dad and I tried to work some stuff out about the coming months. But it still left me a bit shaken. This did not come as a surprise, though, as it was basically the dad-version of the same talk I had with my sister a bit earlier in the day. My entire family is rooting for me to succeed – just another reason why I am super lucky to have been raised by my parents and be surrounded by my siblings. My family kicks ass.

After much consideration, I sat down at my computer and tried to type out an email to my BFF. I just checked to see if there was a response, and so far there wasn’t. Hopefully I’ll get to talk to her on the phone sometime tomorrow.

I fed the dogs and let them out. Then after all these shenanigans, my dad decided it was time to grill. I was in charge of making salads. I make up for my epic lack of grilling skills with my amazing salad creations. Spinach, pickle, tomato, cucumber, broccoli, crushed roasted almonds and pecans, cheese… ooooooh snap. Too bad we were out of strawberries, as those are so good on a salad as well.

We kicked back and watched the news. My sister called again because she saw a sign that said “Alien Skoots”. That’s only funny to us, so I won’t even try and explain why. We laughed, then she passed her phone to my mom so I could say hi. Oh my mom, I can’t wait to see you (and Sarah) next week 🙂

And now we circle back to the beginning of the post where I put on the All-Star game and got on my computer to start typing this…

Tomorrow I am planning to do chores around the house and watch more episodes of Pushing Daisies and my Netflix movie. I already made a list of what i need to do (mostly laundry and vacuuming the living room and stairs), so I hope to get that done so I can watch my show and *maybe* do some thesis notes. (Blah)

Have a mucho fantastic whatever time of day you are reading this!

