I don’t know why, but I had that line from Sunday in the Park with George in my head for some reason. Hmmm…

Well, today was another small step for Katie-kind back into the realm of working on my thesis proposal. I got another 2 articles read and another solid pages of notes down… over 11,200 words of notes. Yikes Stripes. I have another 10 articles or so saved in my “Thesis Proposal” folder and then a bunch of guild websites and a few books to peruse, but the note-taking end is in sight. Then just organizing and writing to go – Yikes Stripes again.

I woke up this morning to the sound of dogs barking. My parents already left for their canoeing obligation (they were riding on the Park’s boat to make sure the paddlers were staying safe, etc…), so only the dogs were home with me. I ate my yogurt and granola while watching the first 40 minutes of Serenity (you know, the movie that followed the short-lived but epically brilliant series Firefly…). So far, so good… love me some Nathan Fillion and Sean Maher.

I then brushed my teeth and got dressed – ready to face a day of thesis stuff. I turned on my computer and somehow ended up watching youtube clips, parts of various episodes of Late Night with Jimmy Fallon that I had missed, and reading up on Comic-Con. When it got to be 12:30 and I hadn’t done any homework, I knew I needed to turn off the computer, let out the dogs, eat lunch, watch the rest of Serenity and *then* get to work.

Which is exactly what I did…

Oh, Serenity. I thought you were a fitting end for Firefly. Although I was aware of the characters that died (I won’t spoil which ones), I was shocked when one of the deaths went down all of a sudden. Sadness! I immediately grabbed my phone and texted Matt because he watched it a few months ago and was the only person I knew who watched the entire series and movie (and this was his favorite character). I watched the remainder of the film with my mouth hanging slightly open, talking at the television every now and again in genuine reaction to what I was seeing before me.

The movie ended and I had to get to work. I rebooted my computer and nestled down into the recliner. While my dogs slept, I typed away at my keyboard, digitally jotting down notes from the lengthy articles I managed to make it through today.

Upon completion of the second article, my parents arrived back home. My mom and I had a slice of pie while she told me about their morning adventures (my dad was fast asleep in the recliner I just vacated). Mom and I played some Yahtzee, each winning two rounds, though I was the overall champion (842 to 791 – woot). I playfully chided “Go f**k yourself!” in a high voice as my mother had done over Christmas break, mimicking a phrase my brother had introduced to us over the course of the holiday season. Both she and my father looked at me like I had said this out of nowhere. I stopped to remind them of what went down over Christmas and they both were like “What the what?!” So, I texted my brother for verification that I was not making this up. He texted back that I remembered correctly. His girlfriend seconded it. I also texted my sister and she called back to verify that my mother had indeed been chanting “Go f**k yourself” at us over the holidays (not maliciously, mind you). I love my family.

My parents left again around 6. I made dinner and watched two of my favorite episodes of Pushing Daisies (I didn’t watch them in their entirety, but fast forwarded to my favorite parts… basically it was 40 minutes of Ned instead of 80 minutes of everyone…). I was then going to work on school work, but when I checked my email, I saw that I had a message from a nice guy that I have been chatting with online as of late.

Now, I have been thinking about this long and hard, but I don’t think it is wise of me to even be thinking about being in a relationship right now. Chalk it up to horrible timing… I just got out of grad school, I moved to a new state hundreds of miles away from all my friends, I have no job, I have no idea what i want to be when I grow up, I am trying to work on my thesis proposal so I can defend it and then do my thesis, I recently had a (temporary) falling out with my best friend of 15 years, and I just went through the emotional wringer regarding unrequited feelings (among other things…). So, really this is not the best timing to be launching myself into a relationship that is anything more than friends right now. And as much as that really sucks, it’s the most sensible thing to do. I need to figure my shit out before I can be in a relationship with someone else, as it’s not fair to him.

So, I did what I thought was best and messaged the nice guy back and told him what was on my mind. I felt like I was breaking up with someone, but we weren’t even dating. But I still felt super crumby about it 😦

And now I’m watching the rest of Bandits with my parents… and soon we’ll watch the Jon Hamm SNL. I have no idea what is in store for tomorrow… only time will tell.

