First of all, let me say that typing a blog post when I’m tired is the equivalent of grocery shopping when I’m hungry… the end result is never what I intended it to be. But what can you do? Press on…

I woke up this morning to find a note on the kitchen counter from my mom saying that she’d be back soon. Curiouser and curiouser.

I let Moose out of her coup and grabbed my water bottle and a peach from the fridge. As there weren’t any dishes in the sink, I knew my mom hadn’t eaten breakfast yet, so I wanted to wait for my mom to eat with her (I’m getting used to meals with one or both parents – it’s kinda comforting). I cuddled up with Moose on the couch and put on my next episode of Dexter. Once I fast forwarded through the credits, I heard the front door opening – my mom!

She went to the grocery store to get more tea bags (my mom has been coughing a lot since she got back from her trip… I blame my sister) and some pecan rolls for us. She sat down at the table to work on a crossword puzzle while I continued on with my episode of Dexter. Mom ended up paying more attention to Dexter than her puzzle… I think she’s hooked. My mom LOVES murder mysteries and forensics, so obviously this show is right up her alley šŸ™‚

After the show, we played a couple rounds of Yahtzee then both got ready for our string of errands that needed to go down. We dropped off some postcards at a mailbox then ran to Target for some groceries. Yep, one of our many Targets has better groceries than our regular grocery store. Crazy times. We then stopped at a gas station so Mom could top off her car’s tank before she heads out to Kansas tomorrow.

Home again, home again – we played some more Yahtzee before getting on with today’s chores. While mom got stuff ready for her trip, I wrapped my mom’s birthday present to my dad. (I friggin’ love wrapping presents. When I worked at Elder Beerman, wrapping wedding presents was seriously one of the best parts of my job.)

We let the dogs out then I helped her chop up stuff for chicken salad while we rocked out to some Neil Diamond. Woot. After lunch, there was some more Yahtzee and then more chores. While Mom worked outside, I went to my room to straighten up some stuff and do a bit of unpacking. While most of my stuff is staying in their boxes, I did stack some clothes on the bookshelf so I don’t have to wear the same 7 t-shirts over and over again.

While unpacking, I got a bit sidetracked looking at on of my stashes of Playbills. My mom gave me her Little Night Music Playbill and some fliers for other shows, so I was incorporating my new material into the stack of Playbills for shows I’ve seen over the past few years. While looking at the flier for Jersey Boys, I realized the guy playing the lead is the same guy that my sister and I saw in the Chicago cast of the show *and* another one of the guys (Sebastian Arcelus) played Fieryo in the production of Wicked we saw up in Cleveland! (I met him and got my picture taken with him – see below!)

SKF, Sebastian Arcelus and me after seeing Wicked up in Cleveland šŸ™‚

And then, I saw in the back of the Little Night Music Playbill that Rock of Ages is going on its National Tour soon and that Constantine Maroulis is reprising his role as Drew. Of course I Googled that news to see if it was true – and it is (even though it seems there is some Baby Daddy drama going on with him… though it still seems he is going to do the tour. What I *really* want is for him to be in the movie version too… but that casting hasn’t been released yet. Sigh).

So, guess who is going to be buying tickets to see Rock of Ages in MN in October – oh wait, that’s me!! I was so excited about learning all of this today that I probably could have peed my pants and/or had a panic attack.

You don’t get it, folks. I have wanted to see Constantine in Rock of Ages ever since I heard he was going to be in it years ago. When he was on American Idol back in 2005, I would watch and giggle uncontrollably every time that man was on the television screen. I don’t know why, but he made me chuckle whether I wanted to or not. I’m listening to the Rock of Ages soundtrack right now (one of my favorite medleys – “Heaven/More Than Words/To Be With You“)… I can’t wait to see this show. It’s going to be frickin’ awesome šŸ™‚

I called my sister to tell her the good news and to see if she can come up to MN to see it with me. She needs to check her calendar… I hope to buy the tickets tomorrow, so she best know by then!

After this fan-freakin’-tastic news, I helped mom water plants outside then fed the dogs and put dinner in the oven. During dinner we watched I Hate Valentine’s Day. This actually had potential to be a decent rom-com, but I had a huge problem with Nia Vardalos. I like her in My Big Fat Greek Wedding and Connie & Carla, but even though she wrote and directed this film, I don’t think she was the best choice to star in it. But, why I was okay to watch this movie is that it co-starred John Corbett. And as every woman knows, John Corbett is friggin’ adorable. I have loved him in Northern Exposure, Sex and the City, and even Raising Helen. He’s a beautiful man who doesn’t seem to make the best movies. But he’s just so likable, I’ll watch whatever he’s in šŸ™‚

The movie was okay, and then I watched Modern Family which made me laugh out loud, of course. Mom and I played a few more rounds of Yahtzee. During one of our games, I heard a phone make the “you have a text!” sound. I assumed it was my phone, but it wasn’t – it was my mom’s. (For a fraction of a second, I was actually jealous. I remember a time when my phone would make that noise multiple times a day… and then about 6 weeks ago it just kinda stopped. Perhaps the movies were right? Or maybe the amendment holds true? Or maybe men and women can be friends regardless… Yes?)

My dad texted my mom to tell her to have a safe trip tomorrow and that he loves her. Awwww. But what is really “Awwww” is that I watched my mom write out my dad’s birthday card – “All my love, forever and ever”. Say it with me – AWWWWWWWWWW. My parents are too cute. They aren’t all swoony or overtly emotional out in public, but the two of them are the most adorable people ever. They’ll be married 29 years next month and it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside that they are so friggin’ cute together. I love my parents šŸ™‚

So now it’s time to read some more of Sarah Silverman’s book and then get some rest. Got a big day of reading articles and buying theater tickets tomorrow!

Have a good one šŸ™‚

