Right?

Simon is gone. Ellen is leaving. I don’t trust Randy or Kara to carry the show. And I don’t even care if the rumored hiring of any or all of the following: J-Lo, Jessica Simpson, Justin Timberlake, Elton John, and/or Steven Tyler are really going to help. The show has jumped the shark. (For those of you not familiar with the origin of this phrase, see the clip from Happy Days below…)

Oh my…

Anyway, I love American Idol. LOVE IT. But the show won’t work without Simon and all this rearranging of the judge’s panel is not a good idea… so, FOX, please just cancel the show. This season wasn’t that great… don’t make things any worse than they already are.

Besides Idol stuff, what else happened today?

I finished reading all my articles for my thesis proposal!! I’m sure there are other great articles out there, but I’ve read 45 scholarly articles and took 27 pages of notes… I’m calling it quits. I know there are a few books I would like to track down, and I need to look at a bunch of guild websites, but I’m saying that I am temporarily done with reading scholarly articles!! Even though I hate writing, I kinda am looking forward to making some sense of my notes and (slowly/methodically) cranking out this thesis proposal.

I also managed to watch another movie in its entirety… I watched Blindness. Not my favorite movie by far, but I am a huge fan of Mark Ruffalo, Julianne Moore and Gael Garcia Bernal, so I felt I needed to watch it. I heart Mark Ruffalo. A few years ago, my sister and I saw him on Broadway in Awake and Sing. It was a great play – I just felt horrible because there were hardly any people in the audience. At the end of the show, those of us who were in attendance stood up and gave the ensemble a standing ovation – but it must be hard for such hardworking and talented actors to look out into the audience and see mostly empty seats. After the show, my sister and I were lucky to get our pictures taken with Ruffalo, as well as meet Pablo Schrieber (Liev’s brother!). Also in the cast was a distant relative of ours (at least that’s what I was told by my late grandfather) – Ben Gazzara.

Me and Mark Ruffalo 🙂

What else, what else?

Really the only other stuff I did today was some chores around the house (laundry, water plants, do the dishes, play with the dogs, etc…) and watch a half an episode of Dexter. I love Michael C. Hall more and more with each episode I watch. He has a great voice for voice over. Love it!

My parents opted to drive back from Kansas today instead of tomorrow. I felt bad, though, because they got stuck in heavy traffic about an hour outside of our city – blah traffic. So, I offered to drive and pick up some pizzas for when they returned. I assumed that the streets were done being paved, but I was totally wrong… I (and later my parents) got the evil eye from construction workers as I (and later my parents) maneuvered our vehicles around the blinking orange signs and onto our street. Whoops!

In Rock of Ages news – my sister cannot come up to MN to see the show with me 😦 That sucks that I have to see Constantine without her, but my mom is totally going to come! I think I will turn her into a musical theater junkie by time I move out of here… plus, she’ll know most of the songs for Rock of Ages! We’re buying our tickets tomorrow – I can’t wait!!

