My mom caught the black lung from my sister…

Okay, so it’s not really the black lung, but my sister had this epically horrible cough before/throughout their entire road trip and now my mom is coughing something awful. We call it the black lung though that is false. But still, I feel bad that my mom isn’t feeling well. Well, she says she feels fine, but we keep telling her to take it easy before she goes gung-ho into doing house chores and whatnot. My mom can’t sit still… I love her, but she needs to get better before she takes on a full work load.

Since my mom was ailing today, it was basically a day full of Yahtzee and Netflix.

After watching a few woodworking shows on PBS, I finished an episode of Dexter that I started last night. Then we began Yahtzee … over the course of the day, I’m sure my mom and I played probably 20 rounds. Not all at once, mind you, but throughout the day…

During this first chunk of Yahtzee time, I tried to explain to my mom about the upcoming Avengers movie. See, I was wearing my Marvel comic t-shirt again… the one that has a bunch of characters on it. And I was pointing out the people who I knew were going to be in the Avengers movie and what their backstories are. Now, I don’t read comic books, but I have seen enough comic book movies and read up a bit about the characters in the Avengers movie to know a bit about them or at least who was playing them. Then, unrelated to the Avengers movie, I was telling her about the Green Hornet and Green Lantern movies. A fan of Seth Rogen and Ryan Reynolds, I will see both movies…

I was never into comic books, but somehow comic book characters and super heroes have always been a part of my life. There are plenty of pictures of me wearing Batman, Robin, or Super Man pajamas when I was a little girl. I totally have Batman, The Incredible Hulk, Super Man, and my Marvel characters shirts. Even now as I’m typing this, I have my Batman Buddy next to me (Iron Man Buddy has been temporarily retired to the chair across the room – I just found that a thread on his foot came unraveled and I don’t want the stuffing to come out. He’ll be fine… he’s chillaxin’ with Yoda Buddy…). I guess I just like a little bit of the fantastic every now and again.

Anyway…

Besides Yahtzee this morning, I brought the rest of my stuff that my parents brought with them from Kansas in from the garage. My room is a hot mess, but I will work on rearranging some more stuff soon. I did unpack my faux roses which make me smile. I’m not awesome at keeping real plants alive (though I haven’t killed any of my mom and dad’s plants yet!), but I do love having flowers around. So, my blue and pink roses are pretty perfect in my situation… plus who doesn’t love roses?

During lunch, we watched the SNL Best of Dana Carvey. I hadn’t seen some of the sketches, so I really enjoyed seeing Massive Head Wound Harry 🙂 After lunch, I went to my room to watch last night’s episode of Jimmy Fallon since Paul Rudd was on. I love Paul Rudd and his ridiculous shorts suit. After that, I did some banking and car insurance stuff and then decided to start a social experiment on Facebook.

See, one of my favorite SNL sketches of all time – Cobras vs. Panthers – is not available to watch anywhere online. It used to be on youtube, but was taken down due to copyright issues. So, I started a group to see if we could somehow get enough people in the group to show support of getting this video clip on the NBC/SNL website. If a Facebook group could get Betty White to host the show, surely a group could get a video clip online, right?

This is also a social experiment to see how few of my hundreds of Facebook friends would join the group and spread the word… I know it’s not an awesome cause or anything, but it really shows who is willing to click “join” and who is not. Not to say that this will show me who my real friends are or anything, but I know I’m not important in the grand scheme of things. But I sincerely would like that video on the website, so this isn’t all in vain. If we can’t watch it on youtube, then please provide us a copyrighted way to watch it legally.

After my feeble attempts to start a movement, I went back upstairs to play some more Yahtzee with my mom. Part way through the match, I asked her when she was free to go see Rock of Ages with me… and then I bought our tickets! It’s amazing… there was over $30 in fees for two tickets that were only $25.50 apiece. WTF, Ticketmaster?!

Anyway, my mom and I are seeing Rock of Ages – I can’t wait to see Constantine Maroulis on stage!!!!!! I’m already giggling like a school girl – this is going to be epic 🙂

I got a phone call from my brother, then my mom got a call from my sister… ah, siblings.

I let the dogs out and then cleaned up the front yard a bit so my parents wouldn’t have to. My mom and I played some more Yahtzee throughout dinner (we use two sets of dice so I don’t have to touch her germy ones… and we have Purell in the kitchen and living room. No black lung for me… yet). We added a sixth dice apiece and took the best five out of six after the final roll. It didn’t change the game much, so I don’t think we’ll be doing that again.

We called it quits and watched some Bones (Season 3 Episode 1) and then a couple episodes of Dexter. I think my mom is hooked now! She keeps saying that Dexter (the character) is creepy and weird. I completely dig that – Michael C. Hall, you are brilliant. (And did you know he was on Broadway? … Love it!)

I have no idea what’s going on tomorrow. I should probably work on school work as it’s August and that means there is about a month and change before OU’s fall quarter starts! I still need to contact my advisor to see if I need to be registered for the quarter in which I plan on defending my thesis proposal (which I haven’t written yet…). Oy vay

