When I saw some of my friends post on Facebook earlier that Prop 8 was overturned today, my heart leapt a little bit and I cracked a giant grin.

Though this decision does not directly affect me (I’m not gay, nor do I live in California), but it does affect our country and is a giant leap (in my opinion) towards equal rights for everyone. Isn’t that what our country was founded on – that all men are created equal?

Now, this is just my opinion, but who is to say that gay people aren’t allowed to get married? Regardless of how people interpret the Bible, in my opinion, the government should not have jurisdiction over who is allowed to fall in love with someone else (that is, in the case of marriage, two consenting adults…). A man loves a woman. Fine. A man loves a man. That’s cool. A woman loves a woman. Equally fine by me. Transgender people. Transsexual people. Bisexual people. Whatever. A person who loves another person and wants to be in a committed relationship as long as they both shall live should have the right to get married to each other. Prop 8 was inhumane. But again – that is just my opinion.

Stepping down from my political soap box, today was another day of thesis proposal notes, Yahtzee and Dexter.

I finished all guild notes and only have some books to go… but since they haven’t come in the mail yet, I just need to work with what I got. However, when I tried to print out my notes, my computer couldn’t access our printer (my mom forgot to inform me that I would need to install some printer software on my computer…), so I’ll have to print that out tomorrow morning. Whatever!

My mom and I played some more Yahtzee (it’s our game of the summer, evidently… one summer all we did was play 500 Rummy). I dominated the game this morning, whereas she kicked my ass right before I crawled into bed to start typing this out.

My brother texted me today – “lots of Monopoly.” He’s coming to visit next week and he and I have a history of playing Monopoly. We each buy the exact same properties every time (I get the Dark Purple, Light Blue, Orange, Green and Dark Blue spaces and the Railroads while he gets everything else) and we’ve been playing that way for years. It’s still fun for us. Sometimes my sister will ask to play too, but it’s just not the same when she gets involved – she messes up our established system. Besides Monopoly, there will be some tennis, fishing and maybe some catch as well 🙂

My mom and I watched the last half of Season Two of Dexter. I am 100% sure my mom has never watched that much TV in one sitting… but we couldn’t help it. We’re sucked into the show and are eagerly anticipating Seasons Three and Four (I put them on reserve at the library… hopefully I get Season Three soon… I will be going through Michael C. Hall withdraw in a matter of days, I know it.) I love his intensity in his quiet moments, as well as when he finally wigs out every now and again. His stare is unsettling, but in the best way possible for that character. I’m so glad I finally started watching this show!!

And that’s about all… I am super tired, but even though I should try and fall asleep, I’ve been reading a few chapters of HP7 each night (even though I own this book and have a stack of library books I should be working my way through). What can I say, I love the HP series (books and movies, though I consider them two separate entities)

Have a good one and YAY California for overturning Prop 8 🙂

