So, once again I didn’t really work on anything related to my thesis proposal today. I did start reading a book that I got in the mail this week about early women filmmakers… so does that *maybe* count for doing any thesis proposal work? Probably not… Ergo, I = epic fail.

I think I am just scared of actually typing out anything involving my research for my thesis proposal because I’m afraid that my research isn’t good enough or thorough enough. Which, I’m sure is a completely ridiculous thought that I should not be having… but I am not uber confident in my paper writing skills (types the girl who just made it through an entire year of graduate journalism school where she wrote lots of little big papers). Writing is not my forte. I can write about movies, and I can write this blog, but the big scholarly papers are daunting. Though my vocabulary is pretty good, my paper is not going to be chock-full-of those big, academic-y, words that just confuse the bajesus out of readers. I am not going to write something that I wouldn’t understand, you know?

BLAH. My goal is to have this ridonkulous thesis proposal written by the end of August to defend in September. My brother is going to be in town all of next week, so I likely won’t make much headway on the paper… but I seem to do all right under pressure. So perhaps creating my own deadline and making my own time crunch will help me in the end. At the end of spring quarter I wrote 19 pages of my 20 page Ethics papers over a holiday weekend… perhaps I can do the same for my thesis proposal. Plus, my outline is details, my notes are pretty good, and I’m actually super interested in my thesis proposal topic whereas I was only “meh” interested in my Ethics paper topic…

What else, what else?

I rewatched Dr. Horrible’s Sing-A-Long Blog today – I love NPH πŸ™‚

I played Yahtzee with my mom, and then later with both my mom and dad… I’m awesome at this game. Probably not something that’ll help me on my resume, but it’s a decent skill to have, at least in my family.

My mom and I also played 5 games of Ping-Pong… and she won every single game. However, my learning curve is like / and not \, so eventually I think I will be better than her. Plus, I can also play equally well with my left hand as I can with my right, so that’s an advantage.

Instead of thesis proposal stuff, I watched last night’s episode of Late Night with Jimmy Fallon because Billy Crudup was on (and I looooooooooooooove Billy Crudup – he’s one of my favorite American actors). Billy Crudup was in the first Broadway play I ever saw (The Pillowman) and I will remember that show forever. Even when I reread the play, I can hear the actors voices in my head and my eyes well up with tears during certain parts. It’s such a powerful show… I hope they *never* make it into a movie.

This evening we watched Tropic Thunder because my parents had never seen it before. As much as I am not a fan of Ben Stiller or Tom Cruise, I still like this movie thanks to Robert Downey Jr. He’s soooooo good as Kirk Lazarus πŸ™‚ He’s also good in the Cobra vs Panthers SNL sketch that I’d like to see put up on the NBC/SNL website

I also started rewatching Waiting for Guffman. I love Christopher Guest’s movies – Guffman is my second favorite, after A Mighty Wind. (*Note – how friggin’ adorable/awesome is John Michael Higgins in this movie?!)

Right now I’m waiting for the James Franco SNL rerun to start (20 more minutes…). I love James Franco – he was solid both times he hosted SNL. He’s great in dramas (Milk), but I loved him in Pineapple Express!

We also have a Tornado Watch until 1:00 AM. Those who know me best know that I am super afraid of tornados even though I have never been in one. But I have nightmares about them all the time 😦 Here’s hoping we don’t get one!

Some SNL and then sleep… I’m gonna take part in some clean-up effort in my dad’s Park tomorrow, so I needs my sleep!

(*NOTE* I will link out to stuff tomorrow… no time right now to find the kind of clips I like to share πŸ™‚ )

