As I get older, I appreciate the time I get to spend with my family members because it’s rare that most of us are in the same place at the same time anymore…

I mean, yes, I am living at my parents house for awhile while I work on my thesis proposal (whoops – haven’t done that in over a week), so I get to see one or both of them practically every day with a few exceptions, but it was great having my brother in town this week. He’s in grad school for architecture, so it’s not like he has ample free time throughout the year to just visit. He starts his GA position for school next week so he’s headed back from whence he came tomorrow, but it’s been so much fun having him around the house and getting to spend time with most of my immediate family! (My sister is in Kansas for a doctoral program and could not come up and visit… my family seems to be uber fond of higher education.)

I wonder how often other people my age get to see their families like this – or even if they would want to see their family members this month? I’m a super family-oriented person, so I am loving that I get to see my parents and have gotten to see my brother a few times this summer. I lived with my sister for these past four years, so I got to see her more than I thought I would after we both went away to college after high school. I love my family. We don’t get along all the time, but we love each other regardless… so I am super thankful that four of us got to spend this week together. It’s been super fun, super busy and at times super tiring, but it’s been great πŸ™‚

Today we took it easy again after being out on the boat for most of the day yesterday. My brother and I finished watching Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix this morning. During lunch, Spud connected his computer to the living room TV and clicked through the 1800+ picture slide show of my mom and sister’s road trip around the county w/live commentary from my mom. It was cool to get to see pictures of the things she had told me about along the way!

After that, some Yahtzee was played, and then we started watching Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. It was super fun watching the last four HP movies this week… especially because we got to watch them with my mom. Mom has only seen bits and pieces of most of the HP movies (though she totally took us to see Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone when it came out back in the day… and *this* was her favorite part which we all quote on a regular basis – “Not me, not Hermione, YOU!”). So, she’s all caught up now for when the first part of the seventh HP movie comes out in November. It was *priceless* when we got to the end of the sixth movie and (SPOILER ALERT) Snape kills Dumbledore – my mom was like “What? Did he really just kill him, or did he just *pretend* to kill him?” My mom is so cute πŸ™‚

The weather finally broke around here so we made a fire on the deck and made some smores! I had the genius idea to use two chocolate chip cookies instead of graham crackers… yum! My mom and I also made some Pina Coladas and blended in some leftover grilled pineapple from dinner – double yum!!

It started thundering during smores and my brother suggested that it was a dinosaur instead of an incoming storm… if only he were right. But, the storm didn’t last too long… some quick rain, some thunder and lightning. By the time that hit, we were all in the garage taking turns playing ping-pong, so all was well.

After ping-pong, we went inside for a round of Cranium. Mom and dad won, but only during a tie-breaker. Dad and Spud are watching The Jackal (I can hear it through my ceiling), but I’m tired so after I post this, I’ll read some more Dexter and go to bed. I just checked the library website and I am next in line for the Dexter Season 3 DVDs – I can’t wait!!!

Have a good one πŸ™‚

