I’m going to visit my sister in September and today she bought us tickets to go see Aziz Ansari do stand-up!!

RAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANDY!

I can’t wait to see him! He’s sooooooo friggin’ funny ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish he was in more of Funny People, but luckily he’s on Parks and Recreation so I get to see him on TV every week!! I’m super pumped that I get to see Aziz in September and then Constantine Maroulis in Rock of Ages in October. My mind grapes are bouts to EXPLODE!!!

So, I did not sleep very well last night… woke up in a panic around 2:30 and then tossed and turned forever thinking about thesis proposal and lack of a job… but then was thinking how every time I look online at job listings, there is hardly anything that sounds remotely stimulating or relevant to what I might what to be when I grow up. And then that copy of Writer’s Market is laying next to my bed and I think that maybe I should send out some query letters… but aren’t I supposed to be writing my thesis proposal? Blah!!!

I know I’m totally spazzing out about stuff I should already have a handle on. But my mind has been cloudy with all sorts of thoughts about nouns (you know – people, places and things) that I haven’t really finished anything yet. I need to make a list and just start checking things off, one at a time.

I did start highlighting my thesis proposal notes today… I got through six out of forty-three pages… and then my ear started bleeding, so I stopped to tend to that. (I don’t know what happened… one minute, I was striking through some lines of notes with my blue highlighter, the next thing I know, my inner right ear felt weird and wet, a low and behold – blood. Not a lot, but it was enough to make me track down a tissue and stop the bleeding. I’m fine. My ear is fine.) I have plans to type up a bulk of my thesis proposal this week. We’ll see how that goes!

Yahtzee and ping-pong were played… I faired well with the dice, but got my ass handed to me by all other present family members when it came to ping-pong. It’s not that I’m bad – I’m actually pretty good at ping-pong – everyone else is just a little bit better. Oh well, it was fun.

My dad split a bunch of fire wood today and I helped stack some of it on the side of the house (Spud stacked most of it).

Since we were out of Harry Potter movies, we opted to watch Daybreakers, our latest Netflix endeavor. I got this one because I know Spud likes Willem Dafoe. As far as vampire movies go, it was actually pretty interesting. Some good gore effects. Plus, Ethan Hawke looked mighty fine in his vest ๐Ÿ™‚

My brother left around 5 to head back from whence he came. It was fun having him here for the week. As of right now, the next time I’ll see him is around Thanksgiving… but maybe a parent and I will visit him sometime before then!

My dad and I finished watching Daybreakers during dinner, then we started watching The Departed awhile after that. I love The Departed – it’s my favorite Scorsese movie thus far. It’s got a great ensemble (looooove Damon, DiCaprio, Wahlberg and Baldwin!!!). I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again – Leonardo DiCaprio is a great actor. He’s near the top of my list of actors who act with every inch of their body. Don’t believe me? Watch his eyes, especially during parts where he doesn’t have dialogue. You can see his character working things out in his head and can clearly read every emotion. He proves that you don’t have to be talking to get your point across. Other actors should take notes. If he doesn’t get an Academy Award for acting sometime in the next fifteen years, I will eat my hat.

Time to read some more Dexter… woot! Soooo twisted. I like the show way more than the books, but I’m still enjoying the books ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a good one!

