So, I was brushing my teeth this morning (as one should do every morning) and I had my Broadway playlist blaring at full volume on my iPod and guess what song started to play?

“Love is my Legs” from Dirty Rotten Scoundrels

My sister and I saw this musical on Broadway, but unfortunately Norbert Leo Butz was out for the performance. And then somehow his understudy got hurt during the performance, so he was replaced by someone else… it was bizarre.

Anyway, “Love is my Legs” is my most favorite song from Dirty Rotten Scoundrels if only for the part that goes “Love is my legs / And you are my love / So you are my feet bones of love” near the end of the song.

Feet bones of love. Is that not the greatest string of words ever put together. Forget cellar door, “feet bones of love” is brilliant.

I got to thinking how much I love “Love is my legs” which got me thinking how much I love Norbert Leo Butz. His comedic timing is excellent, and I heart his singing voice. Although I only have three musical soundtracks featuring him (Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, Wicked and The Last 5 Years), I rank him up there as one of my favorite male musical theater performers.

Ever since the Wicked CD came out years ago, I’ve listened to portions of it just about every week. Like Rachel Berry, “Defying Gravity” is a go-to shower song. But, one of my other favorite songs from the show is “As Long As Your Mine”. Butz and Idina Menzel’s voices mesh together so well, and the ballad is just beautiful.

I love the blocking of this song – it’s so simple, yet ridiculously intimate. And Butz is so manly…

Speaking of manly and intimate… one of my favorite numbers from The Last 5 Years is The Next Ten Minutes. If this song doesn’t make you feel something, then check your pulse my friend.

But my favorite *favorite* song from The Last 5 Years was actually one that was cut from the show. Instead of “I Could Be in Love With Someone Like You,” “Shiksa Goddess” was put in the show instead.

The line “I don’t know what I’m doing but come in and ruin me” KILLS me every time. The build up to that invitation is brilliant and those words are the epitome of vulnerability. Every time I listen to this song or watch the video, I rewind to that line and listen to it several times. That line, to me, is poetry.

As you may (or may not) know, Norbert Leo Butz was also in Cabaret at one point – he was the emcee. So many great performers have played this role over the years, but he puts his own stamp on it.

Awesome πŸ™‚

So, besides listening to show tunes today, I did get some stuff done (although nothing further on the thesis proposal… whoops).

Once again, I woke up in the middle of the night (4 AM) and had trouble getting back to sleep. I woke up for reals around 8:30 and by 9:15, my mom and I were at a tennis court trying to do better than yesterday’s outing. We volleyed pretty well, but I was super tired. I could only get myself into a rhythm by singing Glee songs out loud to myself… it worked, don’t judge.

We got back to the house and then pretty much went right into moving around a bunch of furniture. We got one dresser out of my room, moved the bookshelf to where the dresser was (I put ALL of my DVDs on the bookshelf… it’s glorious to see row after row of DVDs… beautiful), and then we moved two other heavy dressers into my room.

After all of this moving stuff around we took a lunch/Yahtzee break. I was exhausted and could have fallen asleep at the table.

After lunch was more of the same… I had to keep moving the dressers so I could have access to the wall plugs while I set up my TV and DVD player. My DVD player wouldn’t work, and neither would the one that used to be in my parents room, so my mom said I could use the DVD/VCR from the living room. I hooked everything up and it all works, but the only crappy thing is that widescreen DVDs look skewed when played on my non-widescreen tv. The aspect ratio is all wrong and it bugs me (full screen stuff looks fine, but I own maybe 20 full screen DVDs of the hundreds of DVDs I have in my room…), but I’ll need to deal. I am just thankful I now have a working TV and DVD player in my room!!

I also unpacked a lot of clothes into the two dressers… I’m only going to be here for four or five more months (hopefully!), so it’s not like this is permanent. But it’s good to get stuff in drawers as then I have more floor room.

I have plans tomorrow to hang out with my BFF, so I shan’t be working on any thesis proposal stuff then either, but next week I promise I will get back to it with a vengeance.

Tonight I watched the Physical Education episode of Community, the Emmanuel goes to Dinosaur Land episode of 30 Rock and Clash of the Titans (2010). I have seen all of these before, but the Community episode is my 2nd favorite one thus far, the 30 Rock episode is HILARIOUS (oh Jon Hamm and your hooks…) and Clash of the Titans is cheesy, but it’s got some uber attractive guys running around in tunics.

Clash of the Titans is such a girl’s movie packaged to look like a “man’s movie”. All the fighting and special effects aside, it’s full of eye candy and a cheesetastic love story between Perseus and Io. Come on! But Sam Worthington is hunky, and let’s not count out Nicholas Hoult. Yep, that little kid from About a Boy is grown up and ridonkulously cute. Did you see him in A Single Man? Day-yum.

Anyways, time to read and then off to bed… I gotta friend-date tomorrow πŸ™‚

Have a good one!

