So, after another night of not sleeping (oy), I was woken up by my mom at 7:30 so we could be out of the house by 8 to go to the Minnesota State Fair.

I was a first-timer. To preface, I’m not one for huge crowds at amusement parks or whatnot, and the State Fair reminded me a lot of something like an amusement park. Luckily it was a Monday morning (and a hot one at that), so it wasn’t too crowded.

We got there and went straight to the Miracle of Life pavilion… baby livestock!! I love farm animals, so it was awesome to see newborn pigs, goats, cows, rabbits, chicks and ducks. ADORABLE!! The baby cows reminded me of Moose (even though she’s a dog) and I wanted a baby pig so bad! Baby pigs are so cute 🙂

Then we went into the Horse building. I love horses – they are in my top five favorite animals of all time (along with dogs, buffalo, manatees and elephants). And, call me crazy, but I love the smell of horse manure. It has the same effect on me that an aromatherapy candle might have on someone else… it’s calming and gives me a sense of serenity or home (we used to have a horse when I was really little… plus I used to ride in Girl Scouts and college. And I used to volunteer at a horseback riding facility that gave lessons to adults and children with mental and/or physical disabilities). I’m going to look online tomorrow to see if there are any horse rescue facilities nearby to see if they need volunteers. I loooooooooooove horses.

After that we checked out the swine building and saw a bunk of pigs, including a ginormous boar names Reggie. Yikes.

We walked around, ate fair food (cheese curds… and I had Pina Colada flavored shaved ice). And even though I didn’t sample any, there was bajillions of food carts that featured any food item you could think of on a stick. Key Lime Pie on a stick. Mac & Cheese on a stick. Cheesecake on a stick. Bacon on a stick. Scotch Egg in a Meatball on a stick. Fried Fruit on a stick. Fried vegetables on a stick. Chicken nuggets on a stick. Etc… Ridonkulous.

We only lasted at the fair for about 3 hours because it was ridiculously hot, especially in the buildings (no AC to be had).

I’m not awesome when it comes to being in the sun or exposed to heat/hot weather, so that combined with my lack of sleep the past few nights kinda sent me over the edge and I felt weird/off toward the end of our fair adventure.

As soon as we got home, I had a cold drink, but then pretty much passed out on the couch for most of the afternoon. I was awake, but not really moving much… and convinced my mom that we should pretend today was the end of a three day weekend (since my dad took off from work) and she let me watch TV in the living room. I watched 2 episodes of Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip. And it pains me that I’m liking it more and more with each episode.

I felt worse than better, so I went to my room and laid down with a book for awhile. I feel nauseous but I haven’t been physically ill (yet). I hate feeling like this. I hope I feel better tomorrow… I know I need to get back to working on my thesis proposal, but I’d rather feel fine while I’m working on it. Blah

After dinner, my parents and I watched Invictus. It was really good, as pretty much all Clint Eastwood movies are 🙂 But, as much as I love Matt Damon, I don’t see how he was nominated for Best Supporting Actor. He was great and all, but besides the accent, the part wasn’t showy or attention grabbing in the way that his work in The Talented Mr. Ripley, Good Will Hunting or (in my opinion, and not the Academy’s) The Departed was. But it was a solid film and really inspiring and uplifting. I liked it a lot 🙂

And now I’m looking forward to going to sleep before 10:30, as sad as that sounds. I just feel awful 😦

But there are two reruns of Glee on tomorrow night to look forward to, as well as hopefully knocking out some more of my Literature Review.

Have a nice day

(p.s. I’ll expand on the Emmys in a later post, as well as link out to stuff on this one… but I need to do that later, as my eyes are closing as I’m typing this…)

