Thank God for Glee, that’s all I’m saying…

After feeling uber crappy yesterday, I woke up feeling still a bit off, but mostly incredibly sore on the left side of my body. Did I sleep wrong? Is my body just deciding to fail on me? Maybe… I wouldn’t have been surprised if my right arm hurt from playing catch with my dad the other day (I hadn’t thrown a softball in several years), but nope… the left side is the hurty one (yep, “hurty”. Not a word, but I use it all the time. Deal with it.)

So, after asking my mom to shoot me to put me out of my misery (she said no), I wandered back down to my room after breakfast to get working on my Literature Review… I did get a little bit more written, but I mostly misused my time by checking email, reading up about the Emmys telecast, and rewatching the Emmys’s opening video another few times. I still think this is the most brilliant thing I’ve ever seen – props to you, Jimmy Fallon, for making my mind grapes explode with your inclusion of my favorite things (Glee, Jon Hamm, Tina Fey, Joel McHale, etc… LOVED IT!)

After noon, my mom and I took a lunch break only to return to our respective locales afterward. (She spent the day vacuuming and straightening the upstairs and foyer… they look marvelous) I nestled back down into my oversized red recliner and watched the Emmys video another couple times. I did do a bit more work, but for the amount of time I was supposed to be working on my paper, I know I didn’t get as much done as I should have. For shame, Me, for shame.

At 2:45 Mom and I took a drink and Yahtzee break. After I returned to my room, this time to fold laundry. I got a few items folded but then ended up talking on the phone with Robin for awhile 🙂 Talking to a friend about thesis stuff should count toward actually doing thesis work, right? Because we totally talked shop for an hour…

My dad got home from work early, so I ditched my laundry and went upstairs to see my parents. We watched the news with dinner (I almost teared up during a package about parents who returned home from the war!) then I finally finished folding my laundry. I caught the tail end of Entertainment Tonight and they said that on tomorrow’s show they would have video of the rehearsal footage from the Emmys opener… I will have to make sure to watch that at some point. Seeing Jon Hamm rehearse choreographed dance moves is probably going to be excellent television…

Around 7 I headed back upstairs and flipped on the television to watch the President’s address to the nation about the combat troops being pulled out of Iraq. I like the way he delivers speeches, but I was not impressed with the camera work. Every now and again there was a slow zoom that was super noticeable. I don’t know who is in charge of directing or filming these speeches, but it wasn’t as smooth as they probably hoped it would go, visually. Nice try.

And then, the highlight of the evening… two reruns of Glee (Glee-runs?)!!!!!!!!

Although “Home” and “Bad Reputation” are not two of my favorite episodes, both have brilliant moments in them that I love Love LOVE!

“Home” – So many musical numbers, so little time. I love the return of April Rhodes… Kristin Chenoweth is an amazing talent. I love her voice and that character is great. April and Mr. Schue’s duet of “Fire” is solid. But the musical highlights of the episodes are care of Mr. Burt Bacharach. Kurt’s version of “A House is not a Home” (w/a little help from Finn…) is a sucker punch to the gut, as is April and Mr. Schue’s duet of “One Less Bell to Answer/A House is not a Home“. And, anytime Mike O’Malley is on as Burt Hummel the audience is guaranteed some solid scenes between Burt and Kurt (and now Burt and Finn). Burt and Kurt bring the most heart to Glee, and it’s great to see their father/son relationship, as it is one that is not often portrayed very well (if at all) in the media. Another great thing about this episode are the messages about body image. Having Quinn befriend Mercedes like that was a great idea 🙂

“Bad Reputation” – This episode showcases one of my most favorite musical numbers in all of Glee thus far, “Run Joey Run”

There are so many great things about this video… The cheesetastic wipes. The horrible, horrible over-acting (Puck on the bed… holy hell, that is funny stuff). The incredibly confused and pissed looks that Jesse flashes to the other guys throughout the video (LOVE Jonathan Groff! He needs to be on Glee all the time…). Just the utter camp-factor of it all. Oh how I love it so 🙂

My other favorite part of this episode is the “Total Eclipse of the Heart” sequence. The jealous looks from Finn, the passionate singing and dancing from Rachel and Jesse (love the ballet part!!!), and the fact that even though this is a horrible ballad I love this song so much and sing it on a regular basis because it is so cheesetastic.

Glee is grand. I cannot wait until September 21st when new episodes air 🙂 Although 30 Rock is still my favorite show, Glee comes a close 2nd. I am a Gleek, and I am proud of it 🙂

More school work tomorrow, for serious.

Have a good one!

P.S. My thoughts about the Emmys:

– I’m glad Modern Family won Best Comedy. That show is amazingly funny and is a more traditional comedy than Glee is. Although I would have been happy if 30 Rock won again or if Glee took the prize, Modern Family is a worthy show and I’m happy that it won Best Comedy, Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy (LOVE Eric Stonestreet!) and Best Writing for a Comedy

– Yay for Jane Lynch winning Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy 🙂 Sue Sylvester is iconic, Jane Lynch is brilliant, and she deserved it 🙂

– I felt bad that Lost didn’t win anything, but I did enjoy Jimmy’s bit about Lost… especially when he said “We have to go back. We have to go BAAAAAAAAACK!” Note Perfect!

– Even though I love Mad Men and was glad they won Best Drama and Best Writing for a Drama, I am not a fan of that Matthew Weiner guy. I thought he was pretentious with his speeches. Blah him.

– Jimmy Fallon did an amazing job as host. His opening number and interstitial bits were great *and* the show somehow ended on time. Besides the opening part, my favorite Jimmy moment was when he introduced Tom Selleck 🙂

– Even though I have only seen a few episodes of The Big Bang Theory, I was so happy Jim Parsons won Best Actor in a Comedy! Yay for him!! His speech was pretty cute 🙂

– I need to watch Temple Grandin.

– This was the most entertaining telecast I can remember… yay Jimmy Fallon! I’ve been on the Jimmy Fallon bandwagon for many years now… I’m glad to see him doing an amazing job all the time 🙂

