I will tip my hat to Eminem (and Rihanna) for that amazing opening performance. I have been a fan of Eminem for awhile… I might not know all his songs by heart, but I do know most of the words to more than a handful of what I consider to be some vocal poetry (albeit featuring some awfully depressing and/or violent lyrics). I am a bit behind the times when it came to his songs “Never Again” and “Love The Way You Lie“… in fact I just saw that music video for the first time this morning. But Eminem’s performance tonight was amazing and quite powerful.

And then the show kinda went downhill from there. Don’t get me wrong, I was super happy when Lady Gaga took home a bunch of well deserved awards (LOVE her… she’s a brilliant musician and performer). But it looked like Justin Bieber lip synced his way through his performance. Usher was pretty solid, but that’s to be expected. Linkin Park just makes me sleepy. Taylor Swift did pretty good (even if her song was about Kanye…). And Kanye’s song was uber self-indulgent. It’s been a year, I guess we can forgive him of upstaging Taylor Swift when she won her award. But let’s move on, shall we? He’s talented. But he’s not the *most* talented performer to ever have graced the stage (as much as he seems to think he is…).

But the VMAs were not impressive to me because of the host, Chelsea Handler. I haven’t read any of her books and I don’t watch her show, Chelsea Lately. But I heard good things about her from peers. So, I was excited to hear that she was hosting… but after watching the show, I wish someone else would have done the honors. She wasn’t all that funny. her jokes were crass (and I usually LOVE crass jokes). But none of her material seemed new or memorable. She kept talking about drinking, drugs, and was (jokingly) encouraging people to use weapons to make the show a hit. Really? Is this what MTV should be telling youth? That drinking, drugs and weapons are the way to get a party started? Maybe MTV should just go back to showing music videos again. Isn’t that what “Music Television” means? Now there just seems to be Jersey Shore marathons on all the time. Music doesn’t need drugs and weapons to make it awesome, but it seems that’s how it’s being marketed these days. I don’t get it.

We didn’t have cable growing up, so when I was in someone’s house with cable and we watched MTV, I thought it was a real treat. I still remember during sleepovers in the mid-90s, my friends and I would stay up late to watch music videos… Spice Girls “Wannabe,” Sheryl Crow’s “If It Makes You Happy,” No Doubt’s “Don’t Speak“… those were the days. Now the only time I ever see music videos is on youtube. My how the times have changed…

But I digress.

Yay for Lady Gaga πŸ™‚

Today my sister and I watched some Project Runway and Top Chef before we went to some mall in Kansas City. We both got some rain boots… Sarah got black while mine are purple and neon pink. They are pretty awesome.

We got burgers from Five Guys for dinner… I’ve never had any food from that chain before. The burger was pretty good… I got a bacon cheeseburger with grilled mushrooms and barbeque sauce. Yum!

We watched last week’s episode of Mad Men (I miss that show soooooooooooo much! I don’t have cable, so this is the first episode of the fourth season that I’ve seen!) and then she watched Jersey Shore while I got a shower and then called my mom and dad.

VMAs red (excuse me, white) carpet was pretty meh, and then we watched the show. Again… meh (except for Eminem and Lady Gaga… wish she could have performed!!!)

I will work on my Literature Review tomorrow while my sister is at school. I brought my notes and stuff with me, so I hope to get another couple pages or so done on that. I’ll work on it some more Tuesday, but only after I go out and buy Glee Season One Volume Two: Road to Regionals πŸ™‚ Can’t wait!

Also on Tuesday, my sister and I get to see Aziz Ansari do stand up at KU!!!!!

RAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANDY!

Have a good one πŸ™‚

