Hola

Once again I am sitting on my bed with a sleeping Moose next to me (only taking up 1/2 the bed this time) and Yukon is laying down on the floor at the side of the bed. It’s nice to be surrounded by dogs… makes me feel safe. I’m pretty sure Yukon would eat somebody for me, if it ever came to that. 🙂

I plan on getting back to work on my thesis proposal tomorrow. I hope to finish another section (at least) of my lit Review.

So, even though I am still epically tired (I haven’t slept well in awhile… hopefully tonight will change that), the battery on my computer is charged (we’ve got 2+ hours left of juice) and I promised some pop culture opinions…

Where to start? How about at the end… work our way back. I’ll try not to spoil any plot lines…

Art School Confidential – I just started watching this tonight. I have about 40 minutes left. I like Max Minghella, though every time I see him I think of his dad and how much I am sad that he is now deceased. Anthony Minghella was one of my favorite film directors of all time… sadness. Anyway, I started watching this b/c it was labeled an Independent Comedy and I knew that Adam Scott is in it. Scott plays another douchebag (see also Step Brothers), which is a shame because he’s at his best when he is the likable underdog (see Party Down). This isn’t laugh out loud funny, but I like it because it’s about an art school and I like art.

Living ’til the End – In all honesty, I totally only watched this because Sean Maher (Simon from Firefly/Serenity) was in it and I find him very attractive. This was not the best movie ever by any means, but it had its moments of okay-ness. The plot was a bit meh (guy is told by a psychic that he will die on his next birthday, so he lives life in fear of death, then meets girl who is all about living life to the fullest…), and I was not a huge fan of the woman who played Audrey, but I didn’t hate it. Tha’s probably overly harsh, but I don’t feel the need to see this again. But Sean Maher is still way good looking. There’s no denying that…

Dexter Season Four – Yep, I watched all 12 episodes within 48 hours. I friggin’ LOVE this show. Season Four was solid. I knew what the very last scene of the finale was well in advance (thank you Internet spoilers, as well as all the entertainment magazines I read… blah), but it was super interesting to see how they got there. There were a handful of plot lines or scenes where I let out an audible “WHAT?!” and I so wish that Season Five was out on DVD already and I could find out what happens next in the life of Dexter Morgan. Michael C. Hall is such a brilliant actor and was perfectly cast as Dexter… I’ve said it before and I will keep saying it, but his voice is beyond spot-on for all the voice over and internal monologue that he does for his character. And he’s so freakin’ manly… even though most of the other characters (like Quinn, etc…) write Dexter off as a geek, Hall balances out the science and technical aspects of Dexter with a very manly and authoritative way of carrying himself. I hope Season Five further explores the relationship between Dexter and his sister, in addition to his relationship with his children. I was really digging John Lithgow as the Trinity Killer… it was great to see him doing some more dramatic plot lines than the comedic ones I’m used to seeing him in (3rd Rock from the Sun and Broadway’s Dirty Rotten Scoundrels). Also, I think Quinn is an interesting character… I feel there is a lot of wiggle room with him with regards to making him a good guy or a bad guy. Though, I kind of like how he sort of floats between the two… you’re rooting for him and against him at the same time. His character also has a dodgy family background, and I think that will play a part of his story in the next season. (Also, props to the wardrobe department for Quinn’s shirts… the blues and greens go very well with Desmond Harrington’s eyes…)

The Brothers Bloom – I’m so glad I finally saw this movie, as I am a fan of Mark Ruffalo, Adrien Brody and Rachel Weisz. Was Brody’s character named Bloom Bloom? I think it was… Anyway, I loved how the characters of Bloom and Stephen dressed like they were from another time but it seemed to take place in the present. That was really unique. I also loved the brotherly dynamic between Ruffalo and Brody… both are super talented actors and it was great to see them do a film together. Ruffalo played a great showman, while Brody has the amazing ability to convey all sorts of emotions in his quietest/non-verbal scenes (see also The Pianist). I thought the ending was great… though I had a hunch his shirt was going to turn brown. “Tastes like tinfoil.”

Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip – I finally finished the show! On a whole I enjoyed it, though it got waaaaaaaay overly dramatic in the last several episodes. I didn’t like how there were no physical repercussions of Matthew giving up his pills cold turkey (No withdrawal? Come on!). And all of the plot lines wrapped up way too neatly. *And* I thought that Sarah Paulson (Harriet Hayes) overdid it with the Holly Hunter accent. I’m sure the writers were the ones to overkill it… and it was a solid accent, but it got way old way fast. Same with the Juliet Lewis impressions. It made Harriet seem like a two-note performer. And I thought Harriet was a singer who could act? Then how come she really only sang in one episode? I did like the working/friend relationship between Danny and Matthew (even though I still am not a fan of Bradley Whitford… I don’t think I ever will be). I also liked the Matthew/Harriet relationship… their ups and downs. I was rooting for them, but was glad that they each held their ground with regards to their religious opinions and whatnot. I also really, really liked Nate Corddry as Tom Jeter. Why hasn’t this guy had a bigger career by now? He was so good in those K&R episodes… man tears are either done poorly or just right. And Corddry’s were beyond just right… they were downright heartbreaking.

Glee Season One Volume 2 extras – LOVED THEM! I dug the behind-the-scenes making of the Madonna episode. But I really, really loved the “Making of a Showstopper” bit when they showed you how the “Bohemian Rhapsody” number got put together – Jonathan Groff!!!!!!!!!! I love how he is just a natural when it comes to the choreography. In a way, he’s kinda like Gene Kelly… able to make dancing a very natural and graceful, yet incredibly masculine action.

Glee – “Theatricality” – I rewatched this episode (well, I rewatched a lot of them, but let’s focus on this one…) and I love the “Bad Romance” number. But the standout scene in this episode is the one among Finn, Kurt and Burt. It’s so powerful… all three actors handled this extremely touchy and vulnerable material very well.

(btw – I am BEYOND excited for Glee to start back up again on Tuesday!!!!!!!!!!)

Well, I am off to sleep. Gotta rest up to work on thesis junk tomorrow.

Don’t forget, LOTs of season premieres this week… check your local listings 🙂

Have a good one

P.S. Jon Hamm is hosting SNL on October 30th. WOOT!!

