First off, a big BOOOOOO to the weather. There was an epic thunderstorm this morning at 2:30. Blah… at least the dogs were kind enough to let me sleep in until 8:15ish again.

After letting the dogs out, feeding them, and letting them out again, I made myself some tea and breakfast and sat down to watch some more of Rudo y Cursi. I think I only have 40 minutes left to go. I still like it fine, though the plot is not super interesting. I do like sports movies and I am a fan of Bernal and Luna, so I will finish it out soon, I’m sure.

After fueling up with some yogurt and Grape Nuts, I went down to my room to work on my Literature Review. Yukon followed me downstairs and slept on my floor while I typed up some more about hegemony (and checked emails and watched a bunch of videos on youtube… I distract so easily. Especially when I was watching more Jonathan Groff videos… the guy is entertaining and so adorable… I can’t help it).

At noon I stopped to let the dogs out and make lunch. My head hurt again (as it has been for the past few days), so I took some pills and opted against subtitles with lunch. I put Iron Man back on and watched Robert Downey Jr and his glowing chest for 20 minutes or so.

After lunch it was back downstairs to type. Blah. But, again Yukon followed me to my room, so at least I had some company while I typed. She’s the best πŸ™‚

Around 3, I assumed the mail came, so I stopped typing and let the dogs out. Alas, no mail… sadness. But I did vacuum the upstairs of the house and bag some trash, as tomorrow is trash pick up day.

After my chores (and a brownie…) I went back to my room to type some more. I finished the third part of my Literature Review and will move on to part four tomorrow… only two parts left!!

My eyes couldn’t take staring at the screen anymore (much like right now – ouch), so I quit at 4:30 to do some dishes and feed the dogs a bit early (they usually eat around 5).

When the dogs were fed and let outside then back in, I decided to tackle dinner for myself. I was making Chinese food from a can (so, obviously not great Chinese food…) but couldn’t find the can opener. Plus, the can opener is kinda busted, so it’s not like if I found it, it would be much help. But, I remembered that we inherited an electric can opener when we got all that furniture from my grandmother, so I tracked that down instead. Having never operated an electric can opener before, I was a bit confused as to how it worked, but I figured it out. Magnificent machine!

Just as I sat down with my dinner, my phone rang – it was my mom! She was just updating me on what she and my dad were up to… my crazy parents πŸ™‚ I love them so.

When we hung up, I ate my crappy Chinese food and started watching Me and Orson Welles (the mail had finally come… hello Netflix DVD!). I wanted to see this movie when it was in theaters and almost did… but the person I asked to see it with me had reservations about sitting through a Zac Efron movie. So, I never ended up seeing it… until tonight πŸ™‚ (I will expand on my opinions in a bit, as at this point, I had only watched 15 minutes of the movie and hadn’t quite formed my thoughts about it.)

After dinner I took care of a few more chores and then sat down to watch Glee!!!!!!!

Oh new episodes of Glee, how I missed thee πŸ™‚

(SPOILERS ahead)

Glee 2.01 – “Audition” – It was nice to see my favorite McKinley High glee clubbers after a long summer… we didn’t get as much time with some of my favorite supporting people (Kurt!), but on a whole I liked the episode. Even though we were introduced to four new characters, they didn’t feel overwhelming, nor was the spotlight every really taken away from our original cast. I like the new football coach, Coach Beiste (it’s French…). It’s nice to see a new rival for Sue. I thought the scene where Beiste yelled at Finn was great… especially after he called her “Dude”. Whoops… I was worried about Chord Overstreet as Sam Evans, but I think he’s going to be a nice addition to the show. He actually sings really well… I liked his version of “Billionaire“. Way to go, writers for calling out his Beiber hair. (Also, way to go writers for Jacob Ben Israel’s video blog at the beginning of the episode… I almost choked on my popcorn when he told Mr. Schue about the poll of people who didn’t like when he rapped.)

So, is Charice only going to be on this one episode of Glee? Or are we going to see Sunshine Corazon again when it comes time for New Directions to face off against Vocal Adrenaline? I liked her duet of “Telephone” with Rachel and her solo of “Listen“. Both those songs are part of some of my go-to shower song Playlists…

I wish we would have seen more of Cheyenne Jackson! I know we’ll be seeing more of him as Vocal Adrenaline’s coach. I can’t wait to hear/see him sing!!! I love him on 30 Rock, so I’m extra pumped he’s going to be on Glee.

Other things I loved about the episode:
1. Rachel singing “What I Did For Love“. I hate A Chorus Live, but I friggin’ love that song πŸ™‚
2. Even though I love Artie, I was happy to see Tina and Mike Chang going out! (As well as Harry Shum Jr’s abs… day-yum) Hopefully we’ll get to see more of them (Tina and Mike) together!
3. “Empire State of Mind“… I just love this song πŸ™‚
4. My most favorite part of this episode was Finn’s Cheerios try-out. Holy hell, I hadn’t laughed that loud in awhile. Cory Monteith, my hat is forever off to you for that epically awful dance routine! I LOVED IT!! (No video has been posted yet… but I will keep an eye out for it. It was BRILLIANT)

(END GLEE SPOILERS)

Also – I can’t wait for next week’s episode… it’ll be the first one with John Stamos AND it’s the Britney Spears episode… and I friggin’ LOVE Britney Spears songs. (Yep, I admit it. I love Britney Spears and her music… so sue me.)

So, after Glee, I opted not to watch any of new shows that premiered after it and decided I wanted to finish watching Me and Orson Welles.

If you’ve read some of my prior blog entries regarding Zac Efron and his movies, you will already know that I freely admit to liking Efron and pretty much everything I’ve seen him in (though I never ended up seeing that Charlie St. Cloud movie… but I do love me some HSM, Hairspray and 17 Again). I thought Efron did a pretty decent job in Me and Orson Welles. He comes across as charming, but still is able to take hold of more dramatic scenes. You want to root for his character, Richard.

I am a fan of Welles’s work in the theater (see also Cradle Will Rock) and all things Broadway (see my stack of Playbills kept neatly in a box in my room…), so it was neat to see a fictional take on when he put up Caesar at the Mercury in 1937. I love watching theater sequences in major motion pictures (see also Stage Beauty). For me, it’s the best of both worlds… stage and screen.

I also dug the period-piece look of the film. It looked like autumn, with the oranges, browns, tans and reds (except for the theater costumes, which were black and very military-esque). Though the palette was appropriate and gorgeous, I’m a bit surprised the wardrobe people stuck to it so strictly with Efron’s character. Usually when the lead actor is that decent looking and has that shade of blue eyes, one would put him in something blue to make his eyes pop, but the wardrobe people did not go that route. For me, some of Efron’s eye-acting (not a real term, I know, but a majority of an actor’s performance does, or at least should, come from his/her eyes) got lost among his eyebrows and skin-tone. But that’s just me…

I liked the movie and am glad I finally saw it πŸ™‚

Anyway, I am super tired and must be getting to sleep. Moose is currently snoring away and I would like to be doing the same…

Have a good one!

