So, today was my first official day of work – as in, I was out on the floor helping people and learning where stuff is and how to find stuff on the computers and whatnot…

I made the decision to write about work on my blog, but not to divulge the name of company I’m working for. It’s not that I’m ashamed of the company I work for (it’s actually a really great company and the people there are super nice thus far), it’s that the specific company is in no way related to the kind of career path I plan on taking and it’s not important for stranger people to know where I work. But, in addition to working on my thesis proposal and trying to figure out my future, I now also am juggling a part-time job. So, that must work its way into the blog.

Anyway – first day of work. I had to pull the “it’s my first day” card a few time because I could tell I wasn’t helping people as fast as they wanted me to. I tried. I did my best. And I helped a lot of people and met a lot of nice co-workers. So, that’s a start… I’m back in tomorrow from 9-5, even though this is not a 9-5 job. Hmmm…

The worst part about my job is my shoes. I have two pairs of shoes that are part of the dress code, but neither of them are comfortable to wear for more than 3 hours. I blame my feet – they are super wide, have beyond high arches, and are just stupid feet. I will just deal with foot pain tomorrow, but I will go in search of better shoes or at least locate some foot inserts sometime soon.

I have Tuesday off and will be working on my paper for a solid chunk of the day. Woot. (Blah)

Saturday Night Live was pretty good last night. I loved that Jimmy Fallon, Tina Fey, Justin Timberlake and Maya Rudolph were all there too πŸ™‚ Amy Poehler did a solid job as host, and I was glad to see her doing Bronx Beat and back at the Update desk with Seth. It was also cool to see NY’s Governor poke fun at himself. Katy Perry does not sing very well live (it’s sad that not a lot of artists do, these days) and the Digital Short was weak sauce. Come on, Samberg, you had a whole summer to come up with something awesome. But Boogerman? Lametastic.

I still have to give my opinions on 30 Rock and Community… patience, grasshopper.

Also, I just started reading Steve Martin’s “Born Standing Up” – his autobiography. I’m only a few chapters in, but it’s brilliant thus far. He’s one of my favorite comedians, and it’s interesting to read about his life growing up.

I realize that I could never be a comedian or successful screen actor. Besides not being uber funny, I also had a pretty normal upbringing. It seems that a lot of comics lead tragic childhoods or had epic clashes with a parent, or their parents got divorced or one or both parents died. I mean, there’s a bit of craziness sprinkled throughout my family tree and some stories that will forever kill at parties, but I lead a charmed life thus far compared to the whole of all the people you see on Inside the Actors Studio. Ergo, I cannot be a comedian or successful screen actor. Sadness.

Well, I should get to bed. I have to be up at 7 to be at work by 9… ugh.

I hope you have a great day!

πŸ™‚

P.S. I can’t believe tonight is the season premiere of Dexter and I can’t watch it right now! I’m going to need to find a way to watch that online… Hmmm…

