Okay, so it’s 9:44 PM as I start to type this up, but it feels like waaaaaaaaaay later. I was tired after Modern Family (which is on at 8 here), so that’s the kind of day it’s been.

I got up just before 7 and got ready to be out the door for work by 8:20. I clocked in just before 9 and spent most of the rest of the day dealing with Christmas.

I know, it’s September still. But it’s Christmas galore at work right now… yikes.

A colleague of mine asked how I am able to make it through the day in an environment such as ours, with the people and whatnot… I told her I think of it as free acting lessons. I may not be the most sociable person known to mankind, but I was when I took acting classes in high school and college. So, here I am, years later, putting my acting skillz to use. Eat your heart out, Stanislavski.

(For the record, I did read one of his books when I was in undergrad… not even for acting class. I was just so wrapped up in/obsessed with the show Inside the Actors Studio that I was trying to learn everything I could about “the craft” even though I wasn’t a theater major. And I’m still obsessed with theater to this day, so it wasn’t all for naught.)

Anyway, work was okay. I got my schedule shenanigans figured out for this week. Turns out this is my weekend… I now have tomorrow *and* Friday off. That’s good for me, because it means I get to work on my Lit Review for two days in a row… woot. Maybe I’ll go see that Facebook movie on Friday. Maybe… I do like David Fincher and I LOVE Jesse Eisenberg – I think he’s one of the best actors from my generation.

After work, I drove home through rush hour traffic to find my mom waiting for me. I got in the house, changed into non-work clothes and came upstairs to find that she had made one of my favorite foods of all time for dinner… I call it “Cheeseburger Surprise,” but it’s really called “Bisquick Cheeseburger Pie“. (Minus the onions, of course) And it’s delightful 🙂 *And* my mom made cooked spinach… yum yum yum. Somehow she knew what I wanted when I didn’t even know what I wanted… my mom is the best.

We watched some HIMYM (so glad it’s in syndication around here!), Survivor and Modern Family.

Survivor didn’t surprise me at all – though I don’t think I would have voted out who they voted out quite yet…

Modern Family was great, as per usual. I loved how the whole episode was about physical affection, but that (SPOILER ALERT) Cam and Mitchell’s kiss ended up being a nonchalant background moment after such a huge deal was made out of it. I thought that was a great choice by the director and editor(s?). That show is so brilliant… I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – every character is great. Even the ones who aren’t my favorite are still amazingly fleshed out. Love. That. Show.

Well, I’m going to try to watch last week’s episode of The Office. It wouldn’t work for me yesterday. I’ll try once more. Maybe it’s just time to break up with that show… it has gone downhill anyway.

Have a good one!

