Because I had Thursday and Friday off and have worked yesterday and today, it doesn’t feel like it’s Sunday even though I know that it is. I know this because I watched Christiane Amanpour’s show this morning and The Amazing Race this evening.

For the record, it was not awesome starting today off w/Amanpour’s show. Today’s topic was the “mosque” being built at ground zero and whether or not Americans should fear people who practice Islam. First of all, there are a bajillion things wrong with that sentence… there is no mosque being built at ground zero. There are plans for an Islamic Community Center to be built a few blocks away… but that’s totally different than a mosque directly being built on ground zero. That’s not an opinion – that is factual information.

Second of all, it is a bit bonkers to me for anyone to even think that all Americans should be fearful of everyone who practices Islam. What the what? On the show they were discussing 9/11… my understanding of 9/11 is that some waaaaaaay radical Islam terrorists hijacked those planes and caused those 4 huge crashes. Some radicals. Not the entirety of population who practices Islam. Am I fearful of terrorists? You bet. Am I fearful of people who practice Islam? Nope.

Just because someone is Muslim does not mean that he/she is out to get you.

But there were some very, very religious Christians on that program this morning arguing that Islam is bad and that building the mosque on ground zero is more than disrespectful.

Again – what the what?

Part of the First Amendment of the United States Bill of Rights states that we have freedom of religion. Now, in my journalism classes, we talked about that First Amendment a lot, mostly with regards to free speech and freedom of the press. But in addition to those two freedoms, as well as assembly and petition, there is the freedom of religion. Which means if you’re an American, you are free to practice religion. And not just one specific religion, but any religion of your choosing. In our country, there is a separation between Church and State, which means that the State (i.e. our government) cannot control our Church. And vice versa. Or at least those two entities are supposed to be separated… though it seems that Church and State have blurred the lines a bit. And by a bit, I mean a lot.

I’m not going to continue on about this, even though I have a lot more opinions on the matter. But basically, what I am trying to say is that Amanpour’s show made me sick to my stomach this morning, to the extent that I asked to put in a movie because I physically couldn’t watch those adults fight about this topic. It just seemed that some of Amanpour’s guests were so set in their ways that they weren’t even going to hear the other side out. I sometimes wonder why some people never got the Common Sense Gene. Or at least the “I may not agree with you, but I’m willing to shut up for a minute and listen to what you have to say.”

*sigh*

Anyway, I worked this afternoon and got home in time to see the last half of The Amazing Race. That’s a neat show because you get to see a lot of different parts of the world ๐Ÿ™‚ On today’s show, they were in Ghana. Awesome!

After the show, my parents and I watched Fever Pitch. I love that movie because I love Jimmy Fallon and baseball movies in general ๐Ÿ™‚ My folks hadn’t seen it before – they both liked it a lot.

I have to work tomorrow from 6:15-9:15. A three hour shift… how silly. I basically have a day off, except for at the end of the day when I would be watched all of my favorite Monday night shows, I’ll have to drive a couple towns over, work for 3 hours and then get home in the middle of Castle ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’ll watch HIMYM online, I guess.

I’m not complaining about working… it’s my job and I’ll go. No big deal. But a 3 hour shift is a bit bonkers. Especially when one has to drive 15-20 minutes to work… basically the 3 hours will pay for the gas it takes to drive there… Oh well. At least I have Tuesday off. It’s my mom’s birthday, so perhaps we’ll celebrate or something. She’s not usually up for celebrating her own b-day, but maybe we’ll do something fun. We’ll see.

Well, I am way sleepy… I did sleep in till almost 9, but I was up late last night b/c of SNL.

Best part of the show, for me, was the Miley Cyrus Show sketch. That new girl does a spot on impression of the (annoying) Miley Cyrus. And that new guy did a great Johnny Depp impression. Well played, new people.

