I think I watched 4 1/2 episodes of 30 Rock today. Three and a half of those were Season 4 reruns, and then I watched tonight’s episode live because my parents weren’t home. (We usually watch Bones… since my mom also likes Bones and my parents aren’t 30 Rock fans like I am, even though if they gave the show a chance, they’d like it too.)

In fact, watched 30 Rock was the first thing I did this morning. I got up, ate breakfast and watched the Season 4 finale of 30 Rock (thank you, Netflix Instant Streaming stuff). Oh, Matty Damon… my “doorman to the sky“. (He’s a pilot on the show.)

After eating my egg sandwich (thanks, Dad) and laughing (thanks 30 Rock), I went down to my room to edit what I have so far of my thesis proposal… 37 pages of Introduction and Literature Review. Yeah, 37 pages. That’s almost 11,000 words of scholarly stuff that I spent months writing. Here’s hoping even a fraction of it is usable 😦 I spend a few hours fixing grammar errors, and adding in some (poorly executed) transitions. Woot.

Just as my head was about to explode, I went upstairs to see how my mom was doing. She made us some chocolate chip pancakes and we played Yahtzee.

She went outside to rake while I went back to my room to email my BFF back and then email my thesis proposal draft to my thesis chair.

Then, my mom and I went to the garage for some ping-pong. I lost all 4 games we played. I beat her the other day, so I blame today on the series of back spasms I had during the 2nd game. (My back is still acting up now… and it’s not supposed to rain, so I don’t know what is up with it. Ow. Long story short, I had a bit of an accident during a softball game the summer before my freshman year of high school. I tripped on a rock – curse you, gravel field at Copley – and fell backwards and F-ed up my neck/back. Even after physical therapy, it’s been hurting ever since. This year was my 12th anniversary… fun times.)

After that, I tried to watch Modern Family through our Wii, but the Wii doesn’t support Flash past Flash 8, so I had to give up that and just watch the show on my computer. (By this time my parents left to go to Wisconsin for something…) I then watched last week’s episode of The Office. I’m still over that show, but there were some okay moments.

After the tv stuff, I folded some laundry. Somehow one of my black pants for work has this big whiteish grayish splotch on it – I know it’s from the laundry detergent – and I am 99% sure that my pants are ruined. Awesome. I paid friggin’ full price for them at the store, only wore them once and now can’t wear them because it looks like someone (pardon my language) jizzed up and down my right leg. Obviously not work appropriate. My mom said she’d try and fix them, but I don’t think it’ll work.

With my parents gone for a few hours, I fed the dogs and let them outside before I made myself dinner. After my dogs were settled, I made some pizza and watched a few more episodes of 30 Rock Love. That. Show.

Then, my BFF called 🙂 And it was a wonderful conversation, of course.

After that I watched Community, 30 Rock and Grey’s. Community and 30 Rock were good… not great like they usually are, but still solid. Grey’s was Grey’s… that guy with the District-9 arms was a bit strange. That show is dumb, but at least in the preview for next week it showed a shirtless Avery. Call me shallow, but Jesse Williams is one handsome guy. I can see why Gilmore Girl liked him in that Pants movie…

And then I came down to my room to type this up, read some more “One Day,” and go to sleep. I have work tomorrow from 12-6. *sigh*

Anything else?…

For reasons completely unbeknownst to me, I have been listening to 2 songs on repeat. Both are a bit behind the times, but I love them just the same. Not the most happy songs ever, but they got me hooked for different reasons:

1. “Boulevard of Broken Dreams” – American Idiot Broadway Cast – This is my favorite Green Day song, but I like the broadway version a bit better, especially when the female vocal comes in at the end (@3:08). Those harmonies are beautiful – my favorite part is when they sing “and I’m the only one and I walk…”

2. “Love the Way You Lie” – Eminem featuring Rihanna – Okay, so not the best message to send, especially in the music video… you know, a pair of good looking people fighting with each other, then making out, then fighting some more and then there’s a house on fire. Hmm… But the lyrics are brilliant. I can honestly say I’ve been a fan of Eminem’s for over a decade now and his raps are solid. This whole track is great…

My favorite chunks of lyrics are:
“sound like broken records playin’ over
but you promised her next time you’ll show restraint
you don’t get another chance
life is no nintendo game, but you lied again,
now you get to watch her leave out the window
guess that’s why they call it window pane

and

“come inside, pick up the bags off the sidewalk
don’t you hear sincerity in my voice when i talk?
told you this is my fault, look me in the eyeball
next time i’m pissed i’ll aim my fist at the drywall
next time there won’t be no next time
i apologize even though i know its lies
i’m tired of the games i just want her back
i know i’m a liar if she ever tries to f—in’ leave again
i’ma tie her to the bed and set this house on fire

Brilliant, Eminem. Brilliant.

(And now I’ll go read my book…)

Have a good one

