Well, last night was pretty not fun.

Even though I was freakishly tired, I stayed up to finish “One Day”. I won’t ruin anything for you, but I will say that I liked the premise of the book a lot – chronicling the same day (July 15th) over a 20 year period (1988-2008) in the lives of Emma Morley and Dexter Mayhew. The movie version will star Anne Hathaway as Morley and Jim Sturgess as Mayhew. I totally see Sturgess in this role… not so much Hathaway. First of all, Emma is British. (Now, before you grumble about how Hathaway did a British accent in Becoming Jane… I know she did. I love that movie – not because of her [hello, James McAvoy!] – but her British accent isn’t the best one in town. Sorry.) Second of all, I am not one of those people who champions Hathaway as God’s gift to acting. Sure, she held her own in The Devil Wears Prada and I didn’t see Rachel Getting Married yet, but I know she was Academy Award nominated. But Hathaway just bugs me… perhaps it’s her bug eyes. I just don’t see her in this role. She’s just ducky in those Princess Diaries movies, but I do not have high expectations for her performance in One Day. I hope she proves me wrong.

After I finished my book, I tried to get to sleep. That’s hard to do with an extremely scratchy throat. I had throat lozenges and throat spray, but nothing was helping. I was up for most of the night and finally around 5:11 am, I got up to take more cough syrup that my mom recommended. Usually, my mom is right about everything. Not as such with this cough syrup… mere minutes after I downed a couple teaspoons, my heart began racing and my legs and feet were moving all over the place. I could not stop fidgeting for the life of me. I thought I was going to have a heart attack. My alarm was set for 7:30, and I think I finally fell asleep for the night around 6:58. Needless to say I was bonkers tired when I got up this morning. I had to work from 9:45-3:15… I tried to put on a cheery face, but I felt miserable all day long. I had a bunch of lozenges in my pocket, along with tissues and Purell. I was counting down the hours and then minutes until I was free… and of course my manager asked me if I wanted to stay and work more hours (nope!), but then when 3:15 rolled around, I was helping a customer who didn’t finalize her purchase until just after 3:30. I just wanted to go home and put my jammies on and have something to eat and lay down.

(So, here’s something I don’t like about work… unless you work, like, 7 hours, you aren’t allowed to have a proper food break. And since it takes 5 minutes to get from my area to the locker area where my purse is, I physically don’t have enough time to go get a sandwich or anything out of my bag. So, on long days like today, I carry around a granola bar in my pocket and that basically has to be enough carbohydrates to keep one going on a 5-6 hour shift. And we can’t have water bottles at our work area… what the hell, place of business?Also, I sold about $1000 worth of stuff today and I probably made $35 after taxes. However, as crappy as all the above is sometimes, I am thankful that I at least have a job. And even though it’s totally not ideal, I work hard at what I do and am thankful for the few dollars I am making several days a week.)

End rant.

I’m still sick, and very tired, so the ranting just kind of happened.

I got home around 4 and put on my jammies, thanked my mom for the assortment of cough drops and teas she picked up for me, and watched some 30 Rock.

Later, we watched 3 episodes of HIMYM (I love Jason Segel. Soooooo much.). Then, the Vikings Game was supposed to start at 7:30. But, there was a delay because of all of the ran and lightning in New Jersey. So, more 30 Rock. Stupid ABC affiliate could have started showing DWTS for an hour, but nooooooooooo, they just showed some football commentators standing around speculating about football stuff. If I wanted to watch DWTS, our ABC affiliate was gonna air it at 1:07 am. F–K that. And then Castle was to be on at 3:07 am. Double F–K that. It was 3-0 Jets when I came downstairs. To tell you the truth, I don’t even care if the Vikings win or not. I’m a sorry excuse for a MN resident, I know. But I don’t care.

I was going to watch The Office, but I think I might just wait until tomorrow or Wednesday and get back to reading “Middlesex” instead. It’s due back at the library in a week or so and I got a ways to go still.

Have a good one.

