I’d like to thank Glee for my bizarro movie choices today. All 4 of them had to do with Glee in one way or another…

So, I actually kinda slept in today until 8:45. I got up, fed the dogs and let them run around outside for a bit. After they were taken care of, I made myself some tea and oatmeal (I still have an epically sore throat) and sat down to the hundreds of movies we have in our Netflix queue.

The first movie I put on was Noah Baumbach’s Kicking and Screaming. I chose this because the description said that Eric Stoltz was in it… and as we all know by now, Stoltz directed this week’s episode of Glee (and all that Back to the Future talk…), so he’s been on my mind as of late. I made it about 10 minutes into the movie (and saw Stoltz – woot) before I decided I couldn’t handle something dialogue-driven at the moment.

I arrowed through the queue and landed on Rocky Horror Picture Show. Now, unlike most of the people I know, I’ve only seen this movie once. It was when I was in high school and didn’t really fully understand what was going on. At the time I couldn’t appreciate the lyrics of the songs or the utter campiness/cult following of the film. Glee is doing a Rocky Horror episode on the 26th, so I figured I should rewatch the movie so I know who all the characters are and be more familiar with the songs. (For the record, I knew the words to “Science Fiction/Double Feature,” “Sweet Transvestite,” “The Time Warp,” “Dammit, Janet” and “Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch Me”. Just because I only saw the movie once doesn’t mean I didn’t bother to listen to the music…)

I’m really glad I rewatched it because Rocky Horror is downright entertaining. Tim Curry is so great… even though at mention of him, my thoughts immediately turn to Clue, he totally owns Rocky Horror and WORKS those heels. Watching the movie has made me that much more excited for the Glee episode in a couple weeks!

After Rocky Horror, I was going to get started on school work, but knew I needed to get some chores done. I threw in some laundry, bagged up some trash from my room (I kinda went through at least one tissue box over the past couple days), and then took the dogs outside. Yukon was freaking out because some guys with machinery were (i think) repaving someone’s driveway up the block.

I gave the dogs some treats and then made myself some lunch. My mom went shopping yesterday to get me some stuff to eat while I was sick… so I made Spaghetti-Os. I added some organic white cheddar bunny rabbit-shaped crackers on top and had an applecause cup and a Twinkie for dessert. I felt like I was in grade school… if only the Price is Right and Letter People were on 🙂

Instead, I decided to watch Yentl (because on Glee a couple weeks ago, Rachel Berry sang “Papa, Can You Hear Me?” and I have never seen Yentl all the way through before. Plus, I LOVE Barbra Streisand.). I sat down with my Spaghetti-Os and took in the movie.

I quickly came to the realization that watching Yentl was the same as watching Superman. You know how you always wonder why the people of Metropolis, and especially those at The Daily Planet, don’t realize that Superman is just Clark Kent without glasses? Well the same goes for Yentl. Come on, guys at the yeshiva… how do you not realize than Anshel is a GIRL?!

I also didn’t understand why this movie was a musical. I mean, I love Barbra Streisand and her voice, but I was bummed that only her character sang throughout the movie. You don’t have Mandy Patinkin in a musical film and then *not* have him sing. Come on! That’s just a waste of a great voice…

(I love Mandy Patinkin. I’ve seen Sunday in the Park with George on VHS at least 5 times. And I watch old Tony performances of his… especially Evita. SO GOOD!)

Yentl was not as bad as I thought it was going to be… besides my frustrations with people not realizing that Anshel is not a guy and the ending (really?!), I kinda dug it. Some of the songs were good, and I really liked that Yentl was that passionate about studying and learning the Talmud. I don’t know if I’ll ever sit down and watch this all the way through again, but I am really glad I finally watched it.

After Yentl, I did get to work on school stuff… I was hoping to get further on my coding sheet today (well, the coding key sheet), but I didn’t realize how many Academy Award categories I was actually dealing with… Yipes stripes. I’ll work on it more tomorrow.

I fed the dogs and let them outside again to play in the yard for a bit. When they were back in and settled, it was 5:30, so I made dinner. I watched a half hour of Camp

Now, Camp, like Glee, is about show tunes-singing kids who are misfits in society. I actually saw Camp twice in theaters when it came out in 2003. Our theater at school used to show an independent movie on Sunday and Wednesday. After seeing Camp on Sunday, I knew I needed to see the Wednesday showing too… I loved the music and the productions they did in the film.

Later on, when I saw Company on Broadway, I finally realized how inappropriate it was for Fritzi to sing “The Ladies Who Lunch” in the movie… 🙂

I watched a couple reruns of HIMYM and then it was time for new Thursday night tv episodes… woot.

Community made me laugh so hard – I loooooooooved the Apollo 13 references! That show is just so great.

30 Rock was live tonight. It was actually pretty good – I was super worried it wasn’t going to be. I’ll watch the West Coast version tomorrow, but the East Coast version was pretty solid. It was great seeing Jon Hamm, Matt Damon, Rachel Dratch, Bill Hader, Chris Parnell and Julia Louis-Dreyfus (!). I was also thankful for the return of Cheyenne Jackson!! He was only on a few episodes last year, so it was nice to see him back. Jon Hamm’s hand commercial was my favorite part of the show… he’s actually really funny. I know most people know him from Mad Men, but his physical humor and comedic timing is pretty solid.

And then, like a dolt, I watched Grey’s Anatomy… bah. I spent most of the episode playing catch with the dog, talking to my dad on the phone, working on school stuff, making popcorn and texting a friend. So, I wasn’t really watching it… which is fine because I really don’t care about the show. However, being a straight female with two perfectly functioning eyes, I did stop what I was doing to ogle a bit at Jesse Williams during his shirtless scene. The man is gorgeous… Besides being waaaaay built, he’s got the prettiest eyes on television. For reals.

After the show, I took the dogs outside one last time and then tried to make room on my bedroom floor for the dogs. That was a waste of time… Yukon is opting to sleep in the guest bedroom (that’s not a joke – she often sleeps in there… she gets peace from Moose and gets to sleep on a wool blanket and with several pillows if she choses to use them) and Moose is on my bed. She’s sleeping on my feet right now (which have since fallen asleep because of lack of circulation from Moose’s giant dog head) and will likely stretch out to take up my entire bed for herself.

(Oh good, she has just repositioned herself as I type this… I can wiggle my toes now!!)

Well, since she’s starting to snore, maybe I should finish up here and turn out the light for both of us.

Tomorrow I will get more school work done… and hopefully catch up on some TV I’ve missed this week.

Have a good one!

