Okay, so growing up, we weren’t allowed to listen to Christmas carols or watch anything Christmas related until you saw Santa Claus at the end of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. That was the official start of the Christmas season in our household… and we Christmas like whoa.

Well, today I let my dad break tradition and we watched a Christmas movie… I only allowed this to happen because one of his catfish died and last night on the way home from dinner he was saying how much he wanted to watch a particular Christmas movie… Bad Santa. (We had been talking about Billy Bob Thronton because I was making all sorts of noises in my throat and was sounding like his character in Sling Blade… and that somehow got my dad thinking about Bad Santa. Which we only saw once. And that was probably 5+ years ago.)

Anyway, more on that later.

I woke up still feeling pretty crappy. However, I got a solid night’s sleep because there was no dog in my room to take up my entire bed and/or kick me mid-REM cycle.

I got up just before 9 and went upstairs. I made myself some oatmeal and watched some woodworking show on PBS with my dad. By 10:30ish, I was headed out the door to go pick up my BFF as we needed to run some errands today.

Awhile later, she and I were at the mall in search of a coat. On our adventure, we got some awesome-smelling hand sanitizers from the BBW and mini Pumpkin Pie Blizzards at the DQ (yum!). She found the cutest coat ever and it was on sale, which meant a win for all. As we were headed out, we went into a shoe/accessories store and saw the cutest pair of Chucks – purple with owls on them. Adorable. (Although, I was slightly more into the pink sparkly ones, as well as the ones with a Batman cartoon on the sides of them. But owls are awesome too.) I got the owl Chucks for her as a wedding present 🙂 I can’t wait to see pictures (!)

Best exchange from our trip to the mall:

INT. MALL AFTERNOON

MOLLY and KATIE are in the Men’s Department of Macy’s, heading toward the doors to the parking lot. They pass several displays with mannequins modeling preppy men’s clothes – mostly plaids. Katie comments about how if she ever sees a guy dressed up in an entire outfit from a mannequin, she would call him a tool.

Molly: The only people who should be wearing that much plaid are Scottish or Waleian.

Katie: Um, you mean “Welsh”?

Bwahahahaha

From the mall, we headed toward one of many Targets in the area. First stop – Applebees.

I think it’s going to be awhile still before I can eat at an Applebees and not think about grad school peers and the bizarre conversations that went down at that chain of restaurants over the 9 month period of time I spent with said peers.

After that, I sat and read my book while my BFF got her hair did. Then we went to a nearby Pawn shop. I had never been to one before and was very curious about what was in there… turned out it was HUNDREDS of DVDs, CDs, guitars, bikes and electronics. Oh, if I had time to look around, I would have walked out with so many movies! DVDs were, like, $3. We were only in there for a few minutes, but I spotted Bad(der) Santa (the unrated version of Bad Santa) on the shelf and knew I had to get it for my dad. Best $1.99 I spent in awhile…

We had to leave the pawn shop (I will be back, mark my words) and then went to Target for some odds and ends. I got a new toothbrush and toothpaste, among other randomness.

(Side note – I freakin’ love using a new toothbrush and a brand, new tube of toothpaste. Somehow my teeth know I’m using new products and feel extra clean afterward. Yay teeth)

I dropped Molly back off at her house and then drove toward home… I stopped to fill up my car with gas (so I wouldn’t have to do that again for another couple weeks) and then went home. I found my dad sitting in his chair, on his computer. The first words out of his mouth were “Whiskers Jr. died”. Awwwwwww… just this morning my dad was commenting how our smaller catfish (who was still pretty big, mind you) was not looking very well. And there he was, later on in the day, dead at the bottom of the tank. Sadness 😦

Because of this small tragedy, I told my dad I had a surprise for him and presented him with the Bad(der) Santa DVD. He asked if we could watch it tonight. And, because of his dead fish, I said we could. (Even though that totally breaks the rules of the house.)

He had gotten us pizza for dinner, so he heated that up while I fed the dogs and let them outside. During dinner, we watched In the Valley of Elah, which turned out to be a pretty good (albeit depressing) movie. Tommy Lee Jones is a great actor… even if he did steal the 1993 Best Supporting Actor Award away from Ralph Fiennes (come on, Academy, Fiennes’s turn in Schindler’s List is what Oscar Dreams are made of… sure, Jones was solid in The Fugitive, but Oscar worthy? That’s questionable…)

After Elah, we watched Bad(der) Santa and laughed like whoa. And then it was time for sleep…

I gotta go to work tomorrow. Blah. My 4 day weekend is over… but I get another few days off soon. Woot.

Have a good one.

(P.S. I carried around an entire box of tissues in my purse all day. True story. A full sized box… yeah, I’m that awesome/in need of tissues because my nose hasn’t stopped running for a week now. Blah.)

