I’m so thrown off on what day of the week it is… but I realized it was Sunday when we watched This Week with Christiane Amanpour. I should know by now that I shouldn’t watch this show, as it just gets me more and more frustrated with politics. Today’s topics were the upcoming elections (talk of the Tea Party and such) as well as Alzheimer’s. Though I would have liked to watch the part about Alzheimer’s, the beginning part was bothering me so much I turned it off and opted to fold laundry in my room instead.

I will not rant about politics, but I will say (write?) that I don’t understand how politicians make such ridiculous advertisements around election season, why soooooooooooo much money is poured into campaigns (and yet the US’s schools are in horrible conditions and a bunch of people are living below the poverty line and don’t have health care or make a decent enough wage to live on), and how that Christine O’Donnell (“I’m not a witch“) lady is doing as well as she is. *sigh*

After I did some chores (laundry, dishes, etc… though I’ll need to vacuum and clean some more tomorrow before my mom gets home), I watched the first half of L.A. Confidential while I had lunch. (I will expand on my love for this movie in a bit…)

I worked today from 2:45-7:15. I really worked from 2:40-7:25, though, because it got bonkers crazy right up until the end of the shift. There was only one person working in each of the three departments that make up the huge department I work in, so we were all crazy busy. And since none of us had anyone to cover for us at any time, no one got to take a break. I did leave my area a couple times to go get a quick sip of water from the water fountain in the break room. I am going to talk to someone about how we’re not allowed to have water bottles at our work areas. I don’t know about my colleagues, but I get headaches/slight dizziness when I am not hydrated. And it’s hard to help people when your mouth is dry from talking to people all day, and your head is spinning from being thirsty. It’s also not right if you are entitled to an unpaid 15 minute break and you can’t take it because there are not enough people to cover the floor. I like where I work, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t understand why some of the practices are how they are.

I got home around 7:45 and my dad made us breakfast for dinner. We watched the rest of L.A. Confidential.

L.A. Confidential is one of my favorite movies of all time, and one of the best films to come out in the last 15 years (at the very least). It’s one of the most well-crafted scripts I can think of. It seems that there are a bajillion different story lines, but they all manage to intersect, or at least be resolved in a logical, coherent way, by the end of the film. L.A. Confidential also boasts one of the best ensemble casts ever – Russell Crowe, Kevin Spacey, Guy Pearce, Kim Basinger, Danny DeVito, James Cromwell, and David Strathairn (among others…).

I love this movie. There are so many great scenes and brilliant lines of dialogue. (The script was co-written by director Curtis Hanson and Brian Helgeland, based off of James Elroy’s book of the same name.) Even though I hadn’t seen the movie in several years, as I was watching it, I still remembered what lines came next and what scenes and framing of shots stood out to me the most over the years.

Even though it was Basinger who won an Oscar for her role in the movie (Best Supporting Actress), my pick for the stand-out performance is Russell Crowe as Bud White. He is mesmerizing. You can read every emotion on his face – especially through his eyes. You, as an audience member, feel for White because Crowe makes him a vulnerable character (even though White is used for physical brutality against others). The relationships between White and other characters are my favorite in the film, notably those between White and Lynn Bracken (Basinger) and White and Ed Exley (Pearce). These pairs produce a majority of my favorite scenes in the movie.

The biggest character arc, though, goes to Ed Exley. Pearce was the PERFECT choice for him… he looks like the snooty college boy, but when it comes down to it, he plays ball like the best (well, worst) of them. Guy Pearce is a brilliant actor and I think it’s a shame that his career didn’t turn out as awesome as I hoped it would. I mean, he killed it in Memento, but have we seen much of him since? Not really… Though he has had some minor roles in some major movies, he hasn’t had a lead in any high profile films since. (No, The Time Machine doesn’t count… that movie was pretty horrendous. Crowe, on the other hand, has been doing rather well… I LOVED him in Robin Hood.)

Well, more work tomorrow. I’ll get back to thesis proposal stuff on Tuesday. I plan on finishing the Methods section and hopefully by Wednesday or Thursday I’ll have my Works Cited page under control too. Those pages are the WORST!

I also talked to my sister today! That hadn’t happened for awhile… which sucks. We lived together for four years and now she’s super busy with school and whatnot (and we don’t live together anymore), so we don’t get to talk on a regular basis as we once did. Sadness plus. But, I should be seeing her next month, and again in December, so that’ll be nice!

Well, have a good one 🙂

