So, my mom was away for a few (5) days – she did a solo road trip to New Jersey to partake in the memorial service for her grandmother who passed away over the summer. I was super happy to see her car in the driveway as I was making my way home from work today!! I missed my mama – so it’s very nice to have her back home 🙂

I woke up in time to see my dad before he went off to work this morning. As he was leaving, I made myself some oatmeal and tea (my throat is still epically scratchy – blah). I settled myself in the living room and put on our Blu-ray of Invincible (I have the DVD, but I wanted to see just how much more clear the Blu-ray is… and it is. Like whoa). I only saw the movie once, in theaters with my sister when it came out a few years ago, but I felt like rewatching it because I love me some Mark Wahlberg, and I was missing my Philly family (i.e. my dad’s parents – may they rest in peace)

There’s something about those Disney sports movies that are based on true stories (i.e. Miracle, Remember the Titans, The Rookie, etc…) that just get me. I friggin’ LOVE a good sports movie. And Invincible is no exception – who doesn’t love the underdog story of a 30 year old bartender w/no college ball experience earning himself a slot on the 1976 Eagles lineup? Come on! That’s the American Dream 🙂 (well, I don’t dream about making it onto a pro football team… but I am more than happy to watch a movie about it. Especially if said movie stars Mark Wahlberg.)

I still have a bit of the movie left to watch, but I am glad I started watching it again. I have so many DVDs (probably 300-400…) and I know I haven’t watched some of them. Others I haven’t watched in awhile. I think the next movie I’m going to rewatch is Shakespeare in Love. While I was (bored) at work today, I was walking around my department and bits of dialogue from Shakespeare in Love started popping into my head for some reason. I just love that movie… (it is my 3rd favorite movie of all time). Even though I’m not a huge Gwenyth Paltrow fan, my love of Joseph Fiennes and the Bard completely makes up for it. That movie is so smartly written… man, I want to watch it now!

But, instead of watching Invincible in its entirety, I cleaned up after the dogs, did the dishes, vacuumed the kitchen and living room, cleaned my bathroom, got a shower, and then let the dogs run around outside for a bit. (had to make sure the place looked all right for when my mom got home…)

My place of business called me around 9:06 to see if I could come in earlier than my 1:45 report time. I didn’t have my phone on me, so by time I got the message, it was past 9:30. I called the number left on my voicemail – no answer. I waited awhile and then called again… also no answer. Oh, well.

I got to work and clocked in by 1:39. My shift was until 6:00, and once again there was no break to be had because there were only 3 people in the whole department again. I kept busy for most of my shift, running around into stock rooms to find stuff for customers (only to have them tell me they didn’t want the item any more. Blah). I try to answer customer questions the best I can, but I am no expert about the stuff we sell. Again, oh well. I try. I do my best to be as helpful as I can. Most of the time, I think the customer is happy when s/he leaves. Sometimes I know s/he is pissed off. I apologize, but there is only so much one can do.

I got home by 6:20 and chatted with my mom for awhile… she told me how her trip was and who she saw along the way (a friend from the town where we used to live, a lot of her extended family, and then my brother and his gf and dog).

My dad picked up a pizza on the way home, so we had that while watching HIMYM, DWTS and Castle. It was nice to just sit and watch TV with the parents… we all had long days.

Tomorrow I know my mom is going to be spending a bulk of the day raking our yard (leaves like whoa around here). I will be working on my thesis proposal stuff. This is gonna get done. Mark my words.

Well, I need to finish the last few minutes of last night’s episode of Dexter (LOVE IT!). Then sleep, sleep, sleep. I have 3 days off, so I already unplugged my alarm clock. Sleepin’ in – woot.

Have a good one.

