Well, I stayed up last night to watch SNL in its entirety… and it was a very satisfying episode. Sure, some of the sketches revolved around sight gags and body part humor, but on a whole, I laughed a lot. I thought the Back to the Future audition tapes were great, and the Digital Short (the return of Shy Ronnie!) was solid. Rihanna has proved herself to be a great music guest and a good sport with those Shy Ronnie videos, but Jon Hamm once again takes the cake. His third time hosting in two years, Hamm goes for broke without ever seeming desperate for a laugh. He earns laughs because he commits to the bit, regardless of how silly it might be. I hope Hamm gets the opportunity to do more comedy over the next few years because he is really talented. In an ideal world, he’d be in a comedy with Paul Rudd. They’re friends… they should do a movie together already! (I know they were both in The Ten, but that totally doesn’t count.)

I woke up this morning around 8 and my mom asked if I still wanted to go see a movie.

Um, of course!

We got ready and left the house by 10 for a 10:35 showing of RED, that action movie with Bruce Willis, John Malkovich, Helen Mirren, Morgan Freeman, Mary Louise Parker and Karl Urban (among others). It was pretty okay… not as funny as I hoped it would be (though Malkovich made me laugh several times… I love him). Karl Urban seemed to be channeling Brad Pitt, at least the voice. I liked the action sequences. It was a decently entertaining movie.

Mom and I stopped at the store to pick up a newspaper and some ingredients for dinner (chili!) and then went home and had some pizza for lunch before we got to decorating for trick or treaters.

We had two pumpkins that needed carving, so we each took one. Mom carved some sort of skeleton skull on hers and I did the bat signal on mine. They actually ended up looking pretty good. After carving the pumpkin, I sorted through all the pumpkin innards and separated out the seeds so we could roast them. My hands and part of the way up my forearms were slimy and orange, but I got so many seeds šŸ™‚

After putting the pumpkins outside, Mom re-stuffed a giant pumpkin bag we had out in the garden. She put out some torches and luminaries. Our yard looked very cute.

My dad and his friend got back from grouse hunting around 4ish. The chili was in a crock pot smelling awesome, but we forgot corn bread mix and sour cream when we got ingredients earlier, so mom ran back to the store while I folded my laundry.

We had dinner and watched an episode of Bones, and by that time, trick or treaters were ringing the doorbell. Last year I guess my parents had 7 trick or treaters the whole night. This year, we had 14. We finally shut off the lights around 8… by that time The Amazing Race was over and we switched over to the ball game.

Right now the Giants are up 2-0. Buster Posey just threw a guy out at 2nd to end the 4th inning šŸ™‚ It’s the top of 5 and the Rangers just put in a new pitcher. I’m hoping the Giants can hold or expand their lead, as I want them to win the Series. Go team.

I have to work tomorrow from 9:45-2:15. I should work on my thesis proposal when I get home, but we’ll see… I might wait until Tuesday (I seem to be able to concentrate best in the morning.)

Yeah, I’m still working on my thesis proposal. I’m on my Methods Section and have a few pages typed up, but the grammar is colloquial and needs editing badly. I still haven’t heard back from my thesis chair regarding the 40 pages of material I already sent him to edit. I will for sure email him again this week to be like “Hey, so remember that time when I sent you that stuff? Well…”

I won’t actually say (write?) that, but you get my drift. I am trying my best to do this thesis shenanigans. It’s a lot harder than I thought it was going to be… well, harder isn’t the right word. Perhaps information-heavy? I have sooooo much information. And at some point, you just have to say “enough”. I’m also trying to change the entertainment world with my thesis, so I want to make sure I’m doing it right šŸ™‚

(Aw, Giants. Why’d you have to get three outs in a row?)

And that’s that… at least for now. Time to watch some more of the game and then head to bed at a decent time since I have to be up early-ish for work.

Have a good one and HAPPY HALLOWEEN šŸ™‚

