Oh, Wednesdays… you’re like Mondays except that you are in the middle of the week.

I was up early as I had to work early today (and by “early” I mean I was up at 7:15 to get to work for 9:30). As soon as I got upstairs, my mom gave me the run-down of election night. Our state still doesn’t have a governor and it seems that our country has flipped its lid and in the age of “I want it now” has decided to pull the old switcheroo and uproot a bunch of incumbents because people want change NOW.

Now… I’m really awesome at Math (Advanced math classes since 1st grade… took advanced calculus my freshman year of college for fun even though I tested out of taking math ever again… got 740/800 in math on the GRE). So, correct me if I’m wrong, but if it took 8 years to ruin the countries economy and whatnot (2000-2008), shouldn’t we get more than 2 years (2009-2010) to completely fix it?

Alas.

So I had to go to work…

Whilst at work, I saw the girl from another country who I befriended the other day – it was nice to see her again 🙂

Work was… ugh. I wasn’t in my usual area, but an area I had worked several times before. That’s fine… I’m cool with that. I was by myself for my entire shift (again, I am fine with that). However, the managers didn’t turn on the music in my department until 5 minutes before I left for home (I was at work for over 6 hours today…). But, at least I did get to take one 15-minute break today. (Even though company policy says I am to get two… but that rarely happens because epic lack of coverage. Epic.)

It was a slow day today. I did help several customers and had some pleasant chats with some nice older and/or foreign people who needed help finding stuff. But, on a whole it was slow. Slow and silent. I felt like I was being punished. Being alone is fine… but being alone when you know every other department has music playing in it is just plain wrong. I need music to function… it gets me through the day. It seems to make time go by faster. It helps take my mind off of things… like the fact that I don’t have a for real grown-up job, or that my thesis, let alone my thesis proposal, is no where near done yet. Having hours upon hours to myself with hardly any aural distraction gives me a headache because my own brain and thoughts always seem to turn against me.

In times like these I did what I thought would work… I sang to myself. Out loud. Snippets of songs from Glee or various musicals were slipping out of my mouth throughout the day. And I’m pretty sure at one point or another customers heard me. I don’t even care.

Another reason work was ugh was because I had a non-productive chat with an authoritative colleague. I raised some questions and concerns that I had (I had even written them out… that’s how much time I had to myself to just think today). I thought my points were valid, but I received short, curt answers. So, the whole rigamarole of being encouraged to ask questions and bring up ideas to help out the company and whatnot seems to be a farce. Duly noted for future reference…

I guess I just have a case of the Wednesdays. Work isn’t horrible. And of course I am thankful to have a job. I just get frustrated, especially when I get too much time to think about stuff.

I got home from work around 4:30 and got into some comfy clothes. I played with the dogs for awhile while my mom made dinner – hotdish 🙂 See, Minnesota has this thing called “hotdish“. It’s basically a poor-man’s Shepherd’s Pie. It has meat, potatoes, and vegetables, all held together with soup… Before we ever had it I ragged on it pretty bad around the house, but then my mom made her own version of it and it was delightful, so we made it again. Tonight, ours had ground deer meat, cream of mushroom soup, french cut green beans, mini tater tots and was topped with lots of sharp cheddar cheese. It’s basically comfort food, and it’s delicious.

With dinner, we started watching Sherlock Holmes because my mom hadn’t seen it yet (whereas I saw it twice in one week when it was in theaters…). If you haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend it… good action, enough comedy to keep the pace, and a great buddy-team of Robert Downey Jr (Sherlock Holmes) and Jude Law (Watson).

I am beyond glad that Robert Downey Jr has been keeping it together these past few years because he’s a brilliant actor. And I’m super glad that they’re making a sequel 🙂

Also, Jude Law is a great supporting actor. He’s a capable leading man (Repo Men, Cold Mountain, Hamlet on Broadway…), but I think he’s at his best in supporting parts: The Talented Mr. Ripley, A.I. Artificial Intelligence, Road to Perdition, Closer, I Heart Huckabees, and Sherlock Holmes (among others). He’s one of those uber-good looking actors who also happens to be reeeeeeeaaaaaaalllllllllllly good at acting.

Mid-way through the movie we stopped to watch Survivor and Modern Family. Survivor was no surprise. Modern Family was great, as per usual. That show has no weak characters. I know I say (write?) that every week, but it’s so true. My favorite line of the night went to Luke (who was holding a keyboard) – “I found someone online who wants to buy this organ. Can you drive me to the black market?” BRILLIANT

And then after the shows we watched the rest of Sherlock Holmes. After that, time for bed. Well, time to go down to my room to check all the Glee blogs I read (yep, I read multiple Glee blogs… go ahead and judge). Then I typed this sucker up, found some appropriate links, and now I’ll read a bit of my Oscar book and sleep. No work till Friday night, so I can sleep in – woot.

Have a good one!

