A 45+ minute phone conversation with my sister has cut into my usual blogging time, but since I love my sister more than the Interweb, this will be a short post (likely) as I am tired and need to get some sleep.

I woke up earlier than I needed to this morning, but that was okay as I woke up in time to try and help my mom make scones for breakfast. I managed to empty the scone mix into a bowl but then couldn’t find the heavy cream in the refrigerator, so I had to wait for my mom to come back in the house so she could find it… it was hidden in the back on the 2nd shelf. There was no way I was going to find that in a timely manner.

We had tea and scones and watched Ellen (who was interviewing her wife, Portia de Rossi, who is promoting her book Unbearable Lightness).

After that I threw in some laundry and sat down at my computer to try and get more work done on my thesis proposal. I don’t know whether the thesis proposal was part of my dream last night or if I was just thinking about it when I was really tired, but some time during the night last night I thought of something I needed to add to the Methods Section of my thesis proposal. I typed up a couple more pages… it’s literary hooey right now (honestly, how did anyone ever let me into Journalism school?), but I’ll try and edit it a bit tomorrow morning before I send it to my thesis chair. I’m sure he hasn’t responded to me yet regarding the two prior emails full of thesis proposal stuff I sent because he probably thinks its beyond help at this point. I know I’m not the best writer in the world, but I have some good ideas and put in a ton of research over the summer. I just need some guidance, you know?

Anyway…

After a few hours of that, I gave up for the time being and went back upstairs. Mom and I had some pizza and played Yahtzee. We then went back to our respective projects. More thesis proposal crap for me while she straightened up our laundry room. Around 3 we broke for drinks and played some Wii. We did probably an hour’s worth of Cardio boxing and latin dance exercises then golfed for a bit. We did the Wii Sports fitness test thing and it says I’m 21… ha. šŸ™‚

After the dogs were fed and let out we had dinner – leftover hotdish and cheesy cornbread (mmm mmm good). We watched an episode of Bones from Season 2, then watched tonight’s new episode (Season 6 – how’d we get here already?). My mom was the one who got me hooked on Bones in the first place, but somehow I’ve seen every episode (most more than once) whereas she’s missed quite a few. I have Seasons 1-4 on DVD and we have those seasons lined up in our Netflix queue too, so we try and catch her up when we can.

We watched Grey’s Anatomy and then Private Practice (which neither of us have watched in over a year). Grey’s has been much better this season, which surprises me. We only watched Private Practice because ABC kept showing previews of the aftermath of Charlotte getting raped. As I always appreciate shows with relevant social messages, we watched. Turns out that Xander from Buffy is the bad guy… that’s not a spoiler. I didn’t watch last week, but there surely must have been a catalyst for his actions against Charlotte. The plot continues next week (and likely in the weeks after that… no one, not even a fictional character, can get over that kind of situation in just a couple weeks), but I don’t think I’ll watch any more. I used to watch Private Practice for the first couple seasons (I like Tim Daly), but gave up on it. Meh.

After the show I went downstairs to put my pillowcases back on my pillows and brush my teeth and whatnot. I saw I missed a call from my sister so I called her back (she had a question regarding some TV shows that were on tonight… See, when we lived together, I was the one who would program the DVR to record all our shows. Since we don’t live together anymore, she seems to miss episodes of stuff or not know when new stuff is on. Whereas, sadly, I can tell you weeks in advance what shows are on when and if they are new or reruns. I have a freakishly good memory when it comes to media… I can remember what I saw, when I saw it, what I was doing while watching it, who I was with, and other such facts. If you asked me about any of the 400+ movies on my shelf, I can tell you how I got it, if I watched it, about how many times I’ve watched it, my favorite part, the year of it’s release, usually the running time, key cast members and more often than not the director, among other bits of trivia. I don’t know how or why I can do this.)

And so, I called my sister back and we ended up talking for a long time. So, instead of watching some of the shows I missed tonight (Community, 30 Rock, The Office), I will save those for tomorrow/the weekend and perhaps read a bit more of my Oscar book.

Work tomorrow night, but I can sleep in – woot.

Have a good one šŸ™‚

