I did see HP7 Part 1 this morning… and it was soooooooooooo good. I have been waiting for this movie since the day after HP6 came out in theaters. I love the HP franchise so, and it’s so bittersweet that the 7th (and 8th) movie is coming out now (and next year…). I was so excited to see it, but then as I was watching it I got a bit sad that once Part 1 was over, there’s only one more movie to go.

Although I have been a fan of the Harry Potter franchise for 9 years now, I did not “grow up” with Harry Potter the way that some people did. I was 16 when I saw the first movie and will be 27 when it ends, whereas the characters age from 11 to 17. However, I find these books and movies are pretty universal. Just because I was always older than the kids on screen doesn’t mean that I related to them any less. The Harry Potter series (books and films) deal with relevant subject matter for all ages.

Even though the 7th installment (more so the movie than the book, I found) for me seemed like a connection to Nazi Germany (with the Death Eaters and corrupt government putting out all that anti-Muggle propaganda and the disrespect for Muggles and Muggle-born witches/wizards, there are still plot lines that deal with love, life, death, loss, courage, friendship, family, and then some…

Maybe you can’t relate to every single character in that franchise, but I’ll be a monkey’s uncle if you don’t walk away feeling something and/or relating to someone in the series.

I don’t believe in magic in the sense that I don’t think there are real people who use wands to make things happen in our society, but for those 2 1/2 hours of each movie, or the 20+ chapters of each book, I suspend disbelief wholeheartedly. J.K. Rowling created a believable world for those characters and it’s a pleasure to get a peek into their lives, even when it seems that mostly tough times lie ahead for Harry Potter and his friends (at least for their present).

Like other Harry Potter fans, I have spent almost a decade getting to know these characters and being reintroduced to them as I get older. About once or twice a year, I will sit down and watch all of the HP movies. And even though I could probably recite them all by heart, I find that with each viewing, I get something different out of the story. I hope to reread the series in its entirety sometime in the next year or so.

I thought HP7 Part 1 was great. The cinematography, as always, was gorgeous. The script was pretty solid too. Though the 7th book is, in my opinion, the darkest one of them all, the movie gave way to moments of joy, sprinkled throughout moments of shear terror, sadness, and conflict. Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint may not be the greatest actors known to acting-kind, but they are a solid trio every time they are on screen and we the audience have come to believe that the three characters they play are best friends who have experienced hardships well beyond their years.

I could probably go on and on about my utter enjoyment of my 2 1/2 hours sitting in the movie theater this morning, but I won’t. I have “A Very Potter Sequel” to finish šŸ™‚

In addition to HP7, I did some laundry and was going to clean my room a bit more… but I didn’t. Instead I played some Wii bowling, golf and Glee. My parents and I also watched last Saturday’s SNL (thumbs down) and Baby Mama (my parents hadn’t seen it yet). I, of course, saw Baby Mama in theaters (if it has Tina Fey in it, chances are I’ve seen it at least twice by now…). It’s a pretty decent movie. And Greg Kinnear is way attractive in this film…

So, tomorrow I will fold my laundry, get my room more in order for next week’s guests, and then I have to go to work.

I did hear back from my thesis chair again – woot. He thinks part of my coding sheet is still a hot mess (my words, not his), but there is a way to fix it a little bit. He’s the one who gave me the idea for my thesis *and* designed one version of a coding sheet for me… but now that I have done all of the research and revamped the coding sheet to my needs, it’s getting a bit out of control. I don’t think either of us realized what his seemingly simple idea would actually entail. Alas! I told him I would have my edited coding sheet, key and Methods Section for him after Thanksgiving. Between work and trying to help my parents get ready for siblings/other guests this coming week, my dance card is full.

Anyway… have a good one!

