Before I gush about how much j’adore the Kennedy Center Honors, I will quick re-cap the last 2 days at work.

Busy.

Like whoa.

After-Christmas shenanigans, for sure. Mountains of returns and no time to straighten up anything. Bitchy people who yell at me over the phone (or in person) for things that I have no control over. Just because the bigger holidays are over doesn’t mean that people should automatically turn off their Christmas spirit.

Biggest pet peeve about customers – It bothers me to no end when a customer is the only person in line (at the moment) and then they say, “Since you’re not busy, can you do XYZ?” First off, customer. Even when there is no one around, that doesn’t mean that I am not busy. Do you not see the ever-expanding mountain of crap behind me that I’m supposed to be putting away because people like you and your friends/family bought each other presents they didn’t want/need? Second of all, customer, don’t give me lip for something that I can’t control. It’s not my fault you are trying to return shoes with no receipt at the desk where we’re only supposed to return home items and I am instructed to send you upstairs to the proper department.

(end rant)

It’s just been a frustrating 2 days at work because we are epically short staffed. Even some managers were complaining about how we don’t have enough people covering certain shifts. Customers are getting pissy because they have to wait in long lines all the time. Then we get pissy because customers are mean to us and there’s no one to cover our areas when we desperately need to take a break. I was supposed to have 4 15-minute breaks in the past 2 days. I got one 10-minute break and one 5-minute break, and even then it was to choke down a piece of cinnamon bread or granola bar because I needed some sort of fuel to keep me on my feet/keep me from crying because of customers being beyond mean toward me.

(Okay, seriously end rant.)

I need to find a different job. I need to get this f-ing thesis done so I can get a good job and not be working retail. Retail blows.

But anyway… I didn’t post last night because I didn’t get home until past 10 and then I had to be back up around 7 as I had to open this morning.

I was going to do a big end-of-the-year wrap-up, but that will have to wait for tomorrow or the next night. I only just realized late last night that the Kennedy Center Honors were on tonight, so I spent 2 1/2+ hours watching Robin Hood (2010), and then another 2 hours watching the Kennedy Center Honors… woot.

(Btw – Robin Hood is awesome. Russell Crowe made a brilliant Robin Hood. Boo to those who thought he was too old for the part. He made a damn great Robin Hood and was uber sexy to boot. Robin Hood and Bud White (Crowe’s role in L.A. Confidential) are his best roles ever… sooooooooo good. I love me some Russell Crowe.)

And the Kennedy Center Honors… probably the best 2 hours on television the whole year. I have watched these for the past several years and I am continually amazed how each set of five honorees every year has impacted my life in one way or another.

This year the honorees were…

Oprah – I may not watch Oprah’s show every day, but I have seen a fair amount of episodes. I am also well aware of her philanthropic work, and her roles on and/or behind the scenes of TV, film and stage. Though I am not a member of her book club, I have read several titles on the lists because they were a part of her club. Oprah is a strong, powerful, confidant, well-spoken woman who I have looked up to throughout my life. Despite her less than glamourous upbringing and the challenges she has faced, she has earned herself to a position of power and wealth. In my eyes, Oprah really can do no wrong. šŸ™‚ Neither can Jennifer Hudson… when she sang that song from The Color Purple, I got verklempt. That girl can SING. I have been a fan since she was on American Idol long, long ago… love her.

Bill T. Jones – Amazing choreographer. Amazing. Though I was not super familiar with his dance troupe, I did see Spring Awakening twice on stage and he won one of his Tonys for choreographing that show. While I am not a dancer by any means, I do appreciate the art form. It’s such a powerful mode of expression. To be able to convey words, emotions, feelings and complete thoughts through body movement is a gift. The piece that his troupe performed in his honor was stunning. Oh, to be able to move like that. Just beautiful.

Jerry Herman – Even though I love all things musical theater and Broadway, I have never seen Mame, La Cage Aux Folles, Hello Dolly, or any of his other shows (blasphemy, I know). But I *know* that music. And I know how his music and his shows have impacted musical theater forever. I thought the performers during his segment were great – Carol Channing, Angela Lansbury, Chita Rivera, Matthew Morrison, Sutton Foster, et al.

Merle Haggard – Those who know me best know that I am not a fan of country music in the slightest. So even though I was not familiar with his songs per se, I was familiar with his story. And I appreciate lyrics of songs that are written from the heart. Though the twang of most country music sends shivers down my spine, I will admit that the honesty, sincerity and “this is how it is” aspects of a lot of country songs is something I really respect. My favorite undergrad professor always told us to “write what you know”. And Merle Haggard knew what it was to live life.

Paul McCartney – I’m not the biggest Beatles fan. I don’t own any of their albums. I used to switch off the radio when they came on. But over the last few years I have listened to more of their music. I have really listened to it. Not just for the catchy refrains or up-beat music, but for their lyrics. Those songs, though many of their titles seem so simple on the surface, they really resonate on a much much deeper level. It’s poetry. It’s stories. It’s material that is so relatable, set to music that will likely never be matched. You listen to songs from The Beatles, or Wings, or Paul McCartney’s solo career, and they are anthemic. They are staples in music history. They are masterfully written and perfectly executed. They are pieces of aural art that are a million times better than most of the auto-tuned crap that is released today. The past few times I’ve seen/heard “Let It Be” performed on television, I have had to choke back tears. None fell, but I always have this growing lump in my throat and I just feel that song deep inside. And the words are so simple… but every time the phrase “Let It Be” is sung, it’s sung differently. It’s just beautiful. And then they ended with “Hey Jude”. God, I love that song. It’s such a crowd-pleaser. All those “nah, nah nah nah nah nah nahs” are just money. šŸ™‚

So, I’m already looking forward to next year’s show!!

And now I should go to sleep… I have a list of movies and times for tomorrow. Depending on how early I get up will dictate what I end up seeing. There are just too many to chose from!

Have a good one

P.S. I will add links later… promise.

