So, by now you probably saw the footage of that explosion in Philadelphia from last night…

My uncle was standing next to the camera man who shot that footage, as my aunt’s salon is (well, was) right across the street from the explosion. Luckily, none of my extended family members were hurt in the explosion, but my aunt’s salon is closed for now and the building will likely have to be destroyed (at least that’s what my dad told me).

I’ve been in that neighborhood many times. Torresdale is right by where my extended family lives. Hell, I used to live in the Tacony area for a year when I was a little girl. My sister went to Disston Elementary School. I’ve been on that street many times. It’s friggin’ bizarre and scary that footage from a place where I have a personal connection to has been all over national news for this horrible, horrible explosion. My thoughts go out to the families of those who were injured or killed by the explosion. I am just beyond thankful that my family was unharmed.

So, that’s what I woke up to this morning :/

I worked today from 9:45-4:00. Instead of being in the department I’m used to being in, I was asked to cover a different department that I knew very little about. I didn’t do too bad, but boy was I lonely for awhile. I basically walked around for over an hour and tried to straighten stuff before I had my first customer.

I got home at 4:30 and just missed seeing my dad on the news. He was being interviewed by our NBC affiliate about a wine and words cycling event.

After dinner, we watched some HIMYM and then American Idol and Modern Family.

To be honest, I did not have high hopes for Idol, but I was pleasantly surprised. I really liked Steven Tyler and J-Lo… I hope this continues.

Modern Family was great, as per usual.

I’m off from work tomorrow. I’ll work on thesis stuff – formatting what I have so far and whatnot. I need to get this done… because I need to get out of here. I love my parents, but I cannot live here forever (even though the free food and lodging is wonderful. Like whoa.) So, hopefully I will hear back from my thesis chair tomorrow. And I likely won’t, so he’ll be getting another round of emails… I mean, I understand if he doesn’t have time right this very second to read my stuff. But I sent him my stuff in october. And multiple times since then. At least acknowledge that you received my stuff, right? Bah

Well, off to read and sleep.

Have a good one

