Well, folks, today was a busy day for my eyes and ears.

I woke up this morning and before I got out bed, I grabbed my Mac and watched a stream of the Oscar Nominations. I was groggy, so my initial reactions were “What?!” (when the Coen Brothers were nominated for Best Director instead of Christopher Nolan) and “Hey, I saw that!” (when it was announced that Dogtooth was nominated for Best Foreign Language Film).

A full list of nominees can be found here

On a whole, there were a couple surprises – mostly omissions. The aforementioned Christopher Nolan omission in the Best Director category really got to me. He’s such a great director. His work on Memento, both Batman films and especially Inception was really something special. EW has an article about how his Best Director omission is not the worst thing, and how he was nominated in Best Picture and Best Original Screenplay. But still… the dude directed a friggin’ mind-f**k of a masterpiece. Give the man some recognition!

Another omission I was a bit shocked about was that Andrew Garfield was *not* nominated for Best Supporting Actor for his work in The Social Network. What the what?! I was tickled pink that Jesse Eisenberg was nominated for his performance as Mark Zuckerberg, but Garfield was the emotional core to that movie (kinda in the same way that Mark Wahlberg was in The Fighter to Christian Bale’s live-wire performance, and Wahlberg was overlooked but Bale earned a nomination… and will likely walk away with the Oscar too. For reals.). Garfield deserved to be recognized.

And, I didn’t see Blue Valentine yet, but from the reviews I have read, it seems that Ryan Gosling was overlooked in the Best Actor category. He is one of the finest actors from his (my) generation. And while he was nominated a few years ago for Half Nelson (he earned that nomination… did you see him in that movie? Amazing.), the Academy should have probably recognized him again. I am glad that Michelle Williams earned a nod. She’s also a super talented actress from my generation. I am a huge fan and have seen a number of her films (as well as Dawson’s Creek in its entirety… go ahead and judge).

I was also a bit bummed that The Town did not get a Best Picture nomination. I really liked that movie… Ben Affleck is a great director. I am glad Jeremy Renner was nominated for Best Supporting Actor. He’s truly a great performer. I’m glad his role in The Hurt Locker has propelled him forward… he’s super talented.

Colin Firth will win Best Actor. Christian Bale will win Best Supporting Actor. Natalie Portman will win Best Actress. Melissa Leo will more than likely win Best Supporting Actress. However, I am still rooting for The King’s Speech to take home Best Picture. I liked The Social Network and all (and would be fine if that won), but I enjoyed The King’s Speech more. I am a sucker for British films, what can I say?

After the excitement of the Oscar noms, I got down to business and Wii bowled with my mom. I am losing points left and right 😦 Then, my mom ran some errands while I called my thesis chair. He did not sound surprised in the slightest to hear from me. Though our conversation was brief, I have a restored hope that a thesis proposal defense will happen sooner rather than later and that I will be able to graduate in June. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

After the phone call, I opted to play some Wii Glee Karaoke (I’m trying to complete all the Scrapbook levels… I finished Quinn and I’m almost done with Puck and Rachel) and then I played some American Idol Karaoke, but then my mom came home after one medley.

After lunch, I threw in some laundry and then my mom and I Latin Danced/Cardio Boxed and Dance on Broadway. We did the hardest level on the Latin Dance… it was a bit ridiculous, but we made it through. We didn’t do too many Broadway numbers, but my mom still managed to get two or three new high scores today. What?! Our arms were hurting, so we stopped. I’m going to have ginormous biceps come the summertime from these games… Watch out.

Post-dancing, I put in my DVD of Newsies and watched it with commentary (yes, I am a dork). I was sitting in my dad’s recliner and Moose jumped up on my lap and stayed there, all curled up, for over an hour and a half. She is warmer than a blanket, but my feet were cold, so I grabbed the blanket off the back of the chair and threw it over the both of us. And there we sat for the remainder of the movie… it was really nice to just pet my dog and watch Newsies. The commentary was pretty good… though they were really championing the movie and how it seemed to help launch the careers of the kids who played the Newsies. Um, okay. Regardless of how self-congratulating it all was, I was glad to hear what the filmmakers had to say. And I just love Newsies… the music is great. The cast is great. It’s so cheesetastically wonderful. “The World Will Know” will always be my favorite song from that show 🙂

After Newsies, I watched some HIMYM and then the rerun of Glee. It was the “Furt” episode… the one where Kurt’s dad and Finn’s mom get married. Awwwwwww 🙂 I’m not an emotional person when watching TV or movies, but I’ll be damned if I wasn’t getting a little verklempt during the wedding and reception scenes. Mike O’Malley is a joy to watch on that show.

They had commercials for new Glee in February… I can’t friggin’ wait. Need. New. Glee. Now.

And of course we watched the State of the Union. I’m not going to get all political on you, but to be honest I am an Obama supporter and was a big fan of a lot of what he was saying tonight. I didn’t watch any Republican response (not that what they have to say isn’t important… but I can only handle so much political talk in one night), but I’m sure I’ll read about it online tomorrow. Can we win the future? I sure as hell hope so.

I will close for now… gotta catch up on some reading and watch another episode of Six Feet Under. I was never really a Peter Krause fan, but I’m getting there. Plus, I heart Michael C. Hall. (especially when he was macking on Adam Scott a couple episodes ago…)

I’m off from work tomorrow… hopefully more commentaries and crazy dancing will ensue. And some Idol – whoa-oo-whoa.

Have a good one

