I was driving home from the mall and was wondering why cars kept pulling out in front of me from a side street. It was right as I was approaching the line when I realized that my light was red and they totally were adhering to the rules of the road. I slammed on my breaks and ended up about 5-10 feet in front of where I should have stopped. After almost having a heart attack, I backed up to where I was supposed to be and then proceeded to drive home, but only when that light turned so green it looked sick.

😦

I felt horrible the whole way home and am convinced that someone is going to track me down and give me a ticket. I sure hope that is not the case.

Today started earlier than I hoped. I had trouble sleeping last night and then the dogs decided that they wanted to be up at 7:30. I should be thankful… they usually want to be up and about way before that. Tonight before we all went to our sleeping areas, I told them that I’d like to sleep in tomorrow. We’ll see if they actually listen.

I had the dogs out, fed and out again all before 8:00. I then made myself a bagel and watched GMA while I plotted out my day. I decided to run to the library right when it opened at 10 to pick up my DVDs and some books. Then back home to let the dogs out and play with them in the yard before I went to the mall to go see Blue Valentine and go to DSW.

(In addition to my red light incident, I went to the wrong checkout desk at the library… there are two and I went to the wrong one. So the librarian had to tell me to go to the other one… and I felt like an idiot.)

Blue Valentine was good, but it wasn’t everything I had hoped it would be. Michelle Williams and Ryan Gosling are two of the most talented actors from my generation of people. And they had great chemistry and were great in the movie. But I just wasn’t feeling the script. It wasn’t special – it just seemed like a hand-held vision of two people who met, fell in love, married and fell out of love. Was the non-linear storytelling supposed to be something mind-blowing? Because it really wasn’t… The movie felt honest and the feelings portrayed were realistic. But I just wasn’t moved in the way I was hoping to be. I wanted to walk away feeling something profound. That didn’t happen. It wasn’t a bad movie; it just wasn’t all that I expected.

After the movie, I went to DSW to try and find some shoes for work. I did find a pair of black shoes… I’ll need to wear them around the house for the next few days to see if they’ll work for work. I have the weirdest shape/size feet. They are super wide and have super high arches. It’s hard finding shoes that are comfortable and can be worn for 8 hour shifts. So, hopefully the pair I found will work. I also bought two pairs of espadrilles that have 3-4 inch wedges. I can’t/don’t wear high heels, but I friggin’ love wedge shoes. I got these ones and a pair of Tommy Hilfiger ones that I can’t find a picture of… 🙂 They are comfortable, but I wouldn’t want to wear them all day, everyday. But this summer they should come in handy.

I was going to go to work to visit my colleagues after the show store, but I opted to go home instead. (Insert red light incident here.) Once home, I took the dogs outside and we played in the front yard for awhile. Moose’s face was covered in snow because she kept kicking her tennis balls into snow piles and then digging them out. She’s too adorable.

Back inside, I decided I should probably do the dishes. I plugged my iPod dock into an outlet in the kitchen, found a good playlist, and cranked that sucker up. Singing and dancing while doing dishes makes that chore slightly more tolerable.

I made Indian food for dinner – brown rice and chicken with Korma curry. Yuuuuuuuuuuuuum. I added pecans, dried mango and dried cherries. Delightful 🙂

After dinner, I did more dishes, then played Wii Karaoke for awhile. I played some Glee, then switched to American Idol, since I hadn’t played that in awhile. Plus, I love belting out “More Than a Feeling” and “My Heart Will Go On“.

For Community, I made popcorn and grabbed a beer from the fridge. I decided that since I don’t have to be anywhere for a week, I’m going to see if I like beer or not. Right now, I’m still leaning toward “not,” but I thought I should give beer a chance. I know I still like mixed drinks or fruity beer better than just plain beer. I had a Stella Artois. It was all right. There’s some other beers in our cabinet that may or may not be tried this weekend. We’ll see… probably one for the Super Bowl.

Community was so good tonight. I have never played Dungeons and Dragons, but I was totally into this episode. And I LOVED that the opening credits and music were D&Dified.

I caught part of Idol, then watched Bones (during which my sister called – woot. She was on her way to Wendys to get some food after dropping off some people, and we laughed hard reminiscing about one of our many road trips and an exchange she made with a Burger King drive-thru person. Glorious.) and 30 Rock (Brian Williams!).

I am so friggin’ tired, though, so I am looking forward to some sleep. Tomorrow I’m not going anywhere, so I’ll do some chores (laundry, more dishes, vacuum, etc…), watch some Six Feet Under, and just enjoy spending some quality time with my dogs. Yukon is a bit of a loner, so she’ll lay down on the floor near where ever I’m at but never jump up on the couch with me if I’m sitting there. Moose, however, will always jump up and lay down next to me/on top of me depending where I’m at. During breakfast, she always sleeps on the seat next to me. Tonight during 30 Rock, I was in the recliner and she jumped up on my lap and promptly fell asleep. Nothing keeps you warmer than a 60+ pound dog who is beyond fury. Right now, she’s asleep at the foot of my bed. She’s too cute… even though I know she’ll be kicking me pretty soon. And then flopping down next to me tomorrow morning when she wants me to get up. Oh, puppies.

Well, watching her sleep is making me sleepy. Good night

Have a good one

