Today’s Friday, right?

Yes… because nothing was on TV. (That’s how I keep track of what day it is… by what’s on TV at night. I’m sure that sounds awfully depressing, but it’s a good system. Also, I was seriously thinking about studying television for future research and/or academic endeavors. So ha.)

The dogs let me sleep in until 8:00. Best dogs ever, I tell ya. Fingers crossed the same for tomorrow.

The day started out okay. Got up, took care of the dogs, and by 8:30 I was munching a bagel and watching Six Feet Under. All was right with the world.

After breakfast, I decided I should probably Latin Dance/Cardio Box away that bagel I just ate, so I popped in my Wii game and made my own workout. It was better than doing a pre-made workout because I chose routines based on the songs I liked and I ended up burning 250 calories (so said the Wii) without having to dance or box to lame songs.

I threw in some laundry and decided I should probably pay my car insurance now so I don’t forget when it’s actually due. I paid in full, but then when I tried to change my address, my computer told me to call the car insurance people to set up a new policy. So, I spent the next 15 minutes on the phone with a very nice lady from my car insurance place… I got my new policy set up and actually saved $40. So that *totally* covers the shoes I bought yesterday. Score!!

Then I got an email from my thesis chair saying he hasn’t had time to look at my Intro/Lit Review/Methods Section. Mind you, I sent him all of this in October and November (and a couple times since). I was epically frustrated and hungry, so I turned off the computer, let the dogs out and then made myself lunch (leftover Indian food and an orange… woot).

I watched another episode of Six Feet Under. I’m on Season Three right now and Ben Foster is on as Russell, one of Claire’s art school friends. I love Ben Foster anyway, but I am extra digging him as Russell because he reminds me of someone I went to undergrad with. I am now removed enough from undergrad that I can finally look back and smile at the time I spent with this particular person. I wonder what said person is up to nowadays… ๐Ÿ™‚

After lunch, I put my laundry in the dryer and decided I should straighten up my room. I had so much crap piled on top of my dresser because every time I come home from work, I just put whatever is in my pockets on my dresser… clock in/out slips, granola bars, unused tissues, chapstick, Purell, etc… I also gathered up all my tax stuff so I can do that soon. Yay me for trying to be on top of things. I was singing and dancing about my room, as I had brought my iPod and its dock downstairs with me.

After cleaning my room, I was still frustrated about thesis stuff. *cue me texting Robin for advice* A big thank you to Robin for our brief phone conversation this afternoon ๐Ÿ™‚ I emailed my thesis chair and another member of my committee. I will check that email account tomorrow, for fear I will read something tonight and it upset me enough to cause me not to sleep more than I’m already not sleeping.

Around 3:15, I bundled up and let the dogs outside so we could all run around the front yard for a bit. It was such a nice day out, and it was good to blow off some steam playing catch with Moose and chasing Yukon around the yard.

When we all got tired, we went back inside. I decided I wanted to bake something. I wasn’t sure if I felt like eating my feelings, or if I just wanted to mix up ingredients (Chemistry was my most favorite subject in school), but I opted to bake a triple chocolate cake. I like making circle cakes because I like putting a layer of sprinkles in addition to frosting between the layers. Plus, we have a cake holder here, whereas when I lived with my sister we didn’t have one so I always had to make rectangular cakes in one of our Pyrex 13x9s. Circle cakes!! Again, my iPod provided the soundtrack for my baking extravaganza. My dogs just kept looking at me like I was bonkers.

After the cakes were done, I fed the dogs and let them out before I heated up the last of the Indian food for dinner. And then I totally watched 2 or 3 episodes of Six Feet Under. I am loving this third season. With David being in the gay men’s chorus, Claire and Russell, Josh Radnor *and* Bobby Moynihan played dead people (though Moynihan’s IMDB page doesn’t reflect this, I swear that was him as the corpse in the episode “Make Love Work”. Right?!?!?). Awesome.

I let the dogs outside once more before brushing my teeth. By this time, I had moved the iPod dock so I could hear the music as I brushed.

Usually I listen to the same 20 songs over and over and over again (mostly Glee, some select Pink, Maroon 5, Jason Derulo, Katy Perry, Taylor Swift, etc…). But today I opted to just put the iPod on Shuffle Songs and see what happened.

I have 3200+ songs on my iPod. I’m sure that’s not a lot compared to some people. 200-300 of those songs are Christmas songs, which I have to skip since it’s not the holiday season anymore. I don’t listen to most of the songs, nor have I even heard some of them ever in my entire life. But there are whole CDs on there that I know I only listen to one or two songs.

But, throughout the day, I made it through probably 300 songs. I skipped a whole bunch, mind you, but I would listen to bits and pieces of most songs. Some I would listen to all the way through. I love it because it’s almost my entire musical history (I say “almost” because I have a bunch of CDs I haven’t uploaded onto my iPod yet).

It’s amazing what’s on there. At least I think it’s amazing. Some music is on there because of my parents (The Cars, ELO, Elton John, Queen, James Taylor, John Denver, Barry Manilow). Other music is there because of my sister (Chicago, NSYNC). Then there are the artists I came to love on my own (Josh Groban, The Killers, Darren Criss). I can tell what Broadway shows I’ve been to (Company, The Addams Family, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, Sweeney Todd, Rent, Ragtime, In the Heights, etc…) or ones that I’d like to see (Titanic, The Scarlet Pimpernel, Phantom of the Opera, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, etc…). There are soundtracks from films I’ve loved. Scores that I could listen to over and over again. Every Glee song known to mankind. American Idol has a heavy presence (Kelly Clarkson, David Cook, Elliot Yamin, Adam Lambert, Matt Giraud, Carrie Underwood, David Archuletta, Jason Castro, Constantine Maroulis, Kris Allen, Jordin Sparks, Taylor Hicks, and even Clay Aiken). So do boy bands (BSB, NKOTB) and female pop vocalists (Whitney, Mariah, Britney, Mandy, Christina, Beyonce, Gaga). There is rap, select country tracks, hip hop, R&B, rock, a cappella, dance, etc. So much music. I love it.

Certain songs remind me of certain times in my life or evoke specific feelings. I listen to “Flight From Neverland” from the Hook soundtrack or the theme from Lawrence of Arabia and the corners of my mouth instantly slide upward – those instrumentals will remain with me forever because they are that powerful. I heard Christina Aguilera’s “I Turn To You” and will always be reminded of that awkward slow dance in high school. (I totally went out and got her debut album after that dance… and I totally still listen to it because her music makes me smile.) There are songs I have to skip because they make my heart hurt (“Broken“). There are others that I can listen to a bajillion times in a row and never get sick of them (“Rock With You“).

I love music. I may not have what you think to be the best taste in music, but I don’t care. I love my music. And without it, I wouldn’t be able to function. I need it. I need to sing along to it. I need to dance along to it. Sometimes it makes me so happy I could cry. Sometimes it makes me so sad that I do cry. But it’s mine. And I love it ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a good one

