Is it really Valentines Day again? Didn’t this just happen last year… and the year before that? And a million more before that?

I had to work today, and you know what, it wasn’t so bad. Sure, I didn’t have a Valentine, per se, but I have learned over time that I do not need a Valentine or to be someone’s Valentine in order to still be my awesome self.

Work went well… I was mostly by myself, which was fine. I was super busy, though, for a lot of the night. Some last minute holiday shoppers buying their respective partners some fancy fancy things and/or chocolates. I like helping people who I know are trying to pick out the right thing for their wives/girlfriends.

Also at work, a lot of the older women are always asking me about my school stuff or talking me up about movies they’ve seen. I love it šŸ™‚ It makes me chuckle because they are always very encouraging about my thesis topic or how I want to teach film or do something film-related when I grow up.

I love how people who are practically strangers are so embracing of my interests and thesis stuff when some academics I have respected over the past couple years think that film is not a scholarly enough topic. Oh, generation gaps, you amaze me so.

So, I am in the midst of getting my thesis proposal defense set up, right? I have to construct a new thesis committee, which I will continue working on tomorrow. I’m too tired and not in the right frame of mind to check my school email account to see if my former thesis chair got the voicemail and/or email I sent him this morning. I will check tomorrow morning… I’ve already had too many sleepless nights because of my thesis proposal stuff, that I could use a decent night sleep before I read any emails about it. Blah.

So, last night was the Grammy Awards, eh?

On a whole, I give the whole ceremony a B-. There were some good music acts, but others just did not impress me much.

I was a huge fan of the opening tribute to Aretha Franklin. In my eyes, Jennifer Hudson can do no wrong. She is so talented and beautiful and her voice gives me chills in the best way possible. I could listen to her sing all day long… and when I listen to her music, I sing along in the hopes that somehow an iota of her amazing talent will be absorbed into my soul so that I may try and sing like her. That won’t happen, but a girl can wish, right? Poor Christina Aguilera… after last week’s National Anthem hiccup, she seemed to try to out-sing the other gals. And then she tripped at the end of the segment. Embarrassing… šŸ˜¦

I was so looking forward to Lady Gaga’s performance, especially after I kept hearing she showed up on the red carpet in that egg thing. I like her new song, “Born This Way” (even though it TOTALLY sounds EXACTLY like Madonna’s “Express Yourself“), but I was less impressed with the showmanship of her performance. Last year’s Grammys performance was awesome… but this year her outfit wasn’t all that interesting, and neither were those shoulder and facial horns. I still love Lady Gaga, though. I love her voice and how her music just makes you want to dance. I really am looking forward to hearing the Glee version, as the show is supposed to use this song in an upcoming episode. Woot!

One of my favorite performances of the night was Bruno Mars, B.O.B. and Janelle Monae. J’adore how Bruno Mars is so old school with his look and sound. I thought his doo wop performance of “Grenade” was amazing (albeit all over the place, pitch-wise). And I had no idea he played drums… that was so sexy when he took the sticks for Monae’s “Cold War”. He is such a talented musician and songwriter… I think I’m a little bit in love with Bruno Mars.

And, as much as John Mayer gives me the willies, I liked when he sang/played guitar to “Jolene” with Norah Jones and Keith Urban. That was such an intimate and well performed little number.

I am a huge Barbra Streisand fan, so I was beyond thrilled that she sang last night! Even though “Evergreen” is not my favorite Babs song, I still loved her performance. I hadn’t seen her sing recently, but it was nice to see she still had it šŸ™‚ Her voice is another I would love to have… god, if I could only sing like her. I try and try, but there is no one like Streisand.

Cee Lo Green and Gwenyth Paltrow’s duet of “Forget You” was crazy, but I dug it. I didn’t like that song, but it grew on me. Cee Lo Green’s outfit was CRAZY. If a giant turkey and a peacock mated and had a baby, then if that baby grew up and mated with Elton John, then you’d have Cee Lo Green’s ridonkulous outfit. What was that?! It was crazy, that’s what.

One of my absolute favorite performances (if not my favorite one) was Rhianna, Adam Levin, Eminem, Skylar Grey and Dr. Dre… DAY-YUM. “Love the Way You Lie” was one of my favorite songs from last year, for sure. I love Eminem. I don’t listen to much rap, but I will gladly listen to anything he puts out. And “Love the Way You Lie Part II” is friggin’ haunting and beautiful and disturbing all at the same time. Rihanna’s vocals on that song are great… and I loved that Adam Levine was playing/singing with her as she sang during the show last night (I didn’t know he played piano… dammmmmmmn. Guys playing instruments I didn’t know they played is always hot… i.e. Bruno Mars on the drums. Adam Levine on the piano. Etc…) And I didn’t know who Skylar Grey was, but her vocals on “I Need a Doctor” were great. And Eminem is always great. He just always looks so into what he’s saying. Like it’s a matter of life or death if those words don’t come out of his mouth.

I spent most of the show commenting to my mom how most of the songs/artists nominated have been covered or will be covered by the Glee cast. Glee is the best šŸ™‚

Well, I should get going… I am super tired and I’d like to read some before I head to bed.

Tomorrow is Glee Tuesday – huzzah!

Have a good one

