Wow, I am two for two with crappy days. Things can only get better, right? I mean, Glee tickets go on sale Saturday morning… so that at least is a positive something to look forward to. Another positive thing about today is that I did not throw up. Yay me. I am living the dream right now.

I did sleep a bit better last night than the night before. Double points for not getting sick throughout the night – woot.

Although I was feeling a bit better, I stuck to dry cereal and applesauce for breakfast. I then headed back down to my room to look over some stuff and take notes before I called a professor about my thesis proposal stuff.

Two things on my “I’m not awesome, but I still try” list are:

1. Writing
2. Phone conversations

So, you can totally guess how my phone conversation about my thesis proposal draft went.

😦

Although the whole conversation didn’t suck, parts of it were epically bad. There’s nothing more embarrassing than an academic telling you that you obviously didn’t proofread your 50 page paper you sent him, when in reality you totally spent a week looking over everything and trying to fix errors and rearrange passages so it flows better.

I know writing isn’t my forte. *That’s* why I went to journalism school. I wanted to learn how to become a better writer. I’ve never written anything longer than 20 pages before, and I certainly hadn’t done that amount of research before. So, when I spent the whole summer reading 100 articles and taking pages upon pages of notes, and then spent a couple months going over those notes and filling them into a multi-page outline, I thought I was doing a good job. I know I’m not a great writer. This is why I sent my proposal draft to my professor in OCTOBER AND NOVEMBER so that he would have more time to read it and I would have more time to do rewrites instead of him not answering me for FOUR MONTHS and then belittling me over the phone for him having to take hours and hours out of his already busy schedule to read my stuff so that I can get my friggin’ thesis proposal and ultimately my thesis defended in time so I can GRADUATE at the end of this school year.

During this semi-heated phone conversation, I know my voice broke a couple times and I was totally on the verge of tears several times as well, but I held my ground (at least I think I did) and I (as calmly as I possibly could) defended myself and my need to adhere to a timeline and for my professor to adhere to one too. I didn’t think that was too much to ask.

ALSO, I am pretty sure my professor has been writing scholarly papers for more years than I’ve been alive, so I would think that he would take into some consideration that since I have never written a thesis before and he has about a bajillion times, of course my first draft is not going to be flawless. I am new to this. I have been doing my best, but I have had ZERO guidance in this whole process thus far.

So, I am really frustrated right now.

But, as awful as that conversation was, at least it looks like I do not have to whip together a new thesis committee. And when I get my professors notes and work on rewrites and edits, I should totally be able to graduate on time (so long as correspondence between myself and my committee keeps up… no more of this waiting four months to get my shit read).

I just need to breathe in and breathe out and keep repeating that. This is all going to turn out okay. It’s just a hot mess right now.

Really other than thesis drama, I took it easy today for fear I was going to hurl again (but thankfully, I did not).

I rewatched “Acafellas” and then started watching the first movie in the Red Riding Trilogy. I didn’t get too far because my dad got home from work early and watched to watch The A-Team since we got it on Netflix. (He and I saw it over the summer, but my mom didn’t… plus, I wanted to rewatch it as I liked that movie. So many good people… Liam Neeson, Bradley Cooper, Sharlto Copley, Patrick Wilson, Jon Hamm… mmmmmm)

Can we just pause for a second to appreciate how ridiculously handsome Bradley Cooper is? My sister and I saw him on Broadway in Three Days of Rain a few years ago. Believe me when I say, the man is as attractive in person as he is on screen:

Bradley Cooper signing autographs after the final performance of Three Days of Rain

I know, right?

We also watched American Idol, Bones and 30 Rock. I love 30 Rock… and I laughed outloud when they showed a clip of Pete in Loverboy. HAHAHAHA. And then Eion Bailey was on as Anders! What?! I love him… I remember when he was on ER and Band of Brothers. Awwwwwwwwww 🙂

Now it’s time for sleep… I gotta work tomorrow. But then it’s the weekend!!!

Have a good one

