I started editing my thesis proposal draft today. It wasn’t too awful… it’s actually going a lot better than I thought. Most of the stuff I needed to fix were grammatical or proofreading errors. I’m the first person to admit that I’m not an awesome writer, nor am I extremely skilled in word order. I tend to write (type?) how I talk… which in some cases works (like this blog), but that doesn’t really transfer too well to a scholarly paper. For being as well educated as I am, I have really bad grammar. A lot of people at my work who don’t know that I’m in the middle of a graduate journalism program probably think I didn’t make it too far out of high school with the mouth I have…

But, with all of the typing I do from this blog and for my thesis stuff, my wrists are worn out like whoa. So this will be short.

Really I spent most of the day behind the computer. I read through my thesis chair’s notes twice, then made an outline of what I needed to do, then I started fixing the “easy” stuff. I highlighted the parts I’ll need to get back to with further notes or sources. I will work on that more tomorrow. I did some of it today, but I will try and finish tomorrow.

I almost had a heart attack today. I was trying to register for my last credit hour and I saw that I needed a special code. So, I went and checked my DARS (OU kids know what I’m talkin’ about…) and it said that I still needed 4 credit hours to graduate. For a couple minutes I was panicking that I somehow overlooked a class I needed to take. I am a master at reading the DARS, there was no way I was off by 4 credit hours… but it turns out none of my thesis hours have counted yet. Phew…

I still need to register for my credit hour. I also still need to get a thesis proposal defense date set. During the time I wanted to do it, there was no day/time where all three members of my committee were available. BAH. So, I have to push it to the first week of Spring Quarter. I am panicking about this, but I feel I will be able to get everything done on time and still be able to graduate in June. I am going to punch someone if I don’t. I’m just saying… Fists will fly.

Really all I did was work on my paper. I also watched American Idol and 30 Rock. I was sooooo happy Casey and Brett made it through on Idol!!! I think they are both adorable in their own way, and I look forward to their performances next Tuesday. 30 Rock was actually pretty funny… although I was like “Hey, that’s not Bob Ballard. I’ve seen Bob Ballard in person. That’s Terrence Mann! Who I’ve also seen in person…” Crazy times.

Tomorrow will be more of the same… workin’ on my editing my thesis proposal. Saturday I’ll get to see some friends, which will be awesome πŸ™‚ Yay for a break from paper typing.

And, last but not least, a big CONGRATULATIONS to my amazing friend Robin who found out she got a magazine job today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so freakin’ happy for and proud of her πŸ™‚ Words cannot express how super excited I am for her, as I know she was totally wanting this job. Get it, girl! You are the best πŸ™‚

Have a good one

