So, I totally tried to be super productive today with regards to my thesis stuff. I had this grand plan to download my free trial of SPSS and then do some number crunching/cross-tabbing all afternoon. Did any of that happen?

Say it with me…

NO.

I thought I did everything right. I registered where I was supposed to register. I downloaded what I needed to download. I installed what it told me to install. And when all was said and done and I clicked on my program to open, guess what happened?

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

My computer indicated that SPSS was open, but nothing showed up anywhere. And you know how on a Mac there is a line of information/tabs at the top of the screen depending on what program you have running? Well, there were no tabs or even any sort of options to open up a new screen or start up a new document.

I am friggin’ fed up with SPSS for tonight, so I will tackle it again tomorrow morning. I am too pissed at technology right now to actually accomplish anything of value. (Well, really I’m just too tired and have too big of a headache to start tackling a new project at 9:15 pm… girl needs her sleep, yo. Also, I’m really pissed off at the world right now. We’ll blame hormones for a bulk of my problems as of late, but also people in general are just epically frustrating. I found out today that my brother got roughed up yesterday by some drunk person. My brother is totally non-confrontational and would never start something… he was just on his way either to or from school/the library [I think?] and must have been in the wrong place at the wrong time. And some drunk person started a physical altercation with him. There were witnesses, but no one did anything to help him. That’s FUCKED UP. My brother is coming to visit next weekend… I can’t wait to see him and hang out with him. He deserves to enjoy his spring break after all of the stupid stuff he deals with on a daily basis where he lives/goes to school.)

So, I didn’t get much done on the thesis-front today. I did watch an episode of Community (“Physical Education” – one of my favorite episodes of all time). I also played some more Wii Sports with my mom (somehow she bested me in billiards today, even though she has literally no idea what she is doing when it comes to aiming the cue ball… I am perplexed). I also made a tasty cookie bar, complete with peanut butter chips, chopped up M&Ms, chopped up walnuts and chopped up dried cherries. DELIGHTFUL

Baking is a totaly stress relief for me. It’s just me and a counter-full of ingredients that need to be measured in exact amounts to get tasty results. (Chemistry was totally my favorite subject in high school… I love measuring and mixing things.) While I did the dishes and baked, I had my iPod blaring loudly in the kitchen so I could sing along and dance around while I worked. It is just the best feeling to be able to sing and dance and just get out all of my pent-up stress and whatnot. Of course most of the music was from Glee… but that’s the best to belt out to, really. I know I’m no Warbler, but I friggin’ love almost all of their songs, and they are the tracks I listen to most often.

Speaking of the Warblers, I was totally laughing yesterday when I was re-watching “Special Education”. There are a few different scenes with all of the guys who play the Warblers. And really, we only know a few of their names on the show at this point (through “Special Education” we only know who Blaine, Wes, David, Jeff and Nick are… through the most recent episode, we have also been introduced to Thad… and we’re supposedly gonna get introduced to Trent on Tuesday’s episode.). However, I follow pretty much all of the Warblers on Twitter and/or are friends with them on Facebook, so every time I see them, I automatically think of the actor and *not* the character. The only Warblers who I think of as characters are really Blaine and Kurt. Not that *you* care, of course. But it’s just something I think about when I’m watching the show now.

And this is waaaaaaaaaay off topic, but I put my iPod on Shuffle Songs the other day (you know, for kicks)… and of the 3600+ songs on there, Selena’s “Dreaming of You” came on the same night that that dude on American Idol sang R. Kelly’s “I Believe I Can Fly“. I started laughing like whoa because these two songs totally make me think of middle school. For one of my friend’s birthdays, a large group of us had a sleepover at her house. And I remember, the group of us stayed up the whole night singing these two songs over and over again. At one point, we were literally all standing in a circle with our arms draped over the girls next to us and we were just singing the heck out of these songs… and we just thought we were the bees knees 🙂 Oh my goodness… those were the days.

Well, I am off to sleep. Gotta rest up for another day of trying to outwit, outplay and outlast the SPSS on my computer. (Yes, this is my version of Survivor – deal with it.)

I gotta work tomorrow night… BOOOOOOOO… but then the day after is Glee Tuesday!!

Have a good one

