So, my brother had to go back from whence he came today… which epically sucks. He’s basically the funniest person on the planet, and it was just really nice having him around for a week to hang out and watch crappy movies. But, he’s got a lot of school work to do this weekend and his classes start back up on Monday. So, he had to go 😦 Boo reality.

I worked for 5+ hours today… work was alright. I was with my favorite colleague, which is always nice. And some of my other favorite people were there too… *and* I get to work with them tomorrow. So, even though work is not the most fun place ever, at least I get to be with fun people. We get what we have to do done, but it’s nice to be around fun people for when it gets super boring. We should be busy tomorrow, though. I was busy most of today. Everyone is getting sick, though, so I’m sure I’ll catch something soon.

When I got home from work, I walked up to the front door to get in the house and I could hear our television from the porch. I walked in the house to find my parents watching Eat, Pray, Love at a ridiculously loud volume (oh, hearing… why does everyone in our house have poor hearing?). So, I was stuck watching that with them… I’m not a Julia Roberts fan. I tried reading the book but I couldn’t get through it. The movie wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. But, I hate how a bunch of the characters in the movie were all like (to Julia’s character), “You need a man.”

Man, I hear the same thing from everyone at work. GEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEZ oh Pete, people. Give me a freakin’ break.

I get it – I’m alone right now. But you know what? It’s kinda okay… I need to be focused on my thesis stuff right now so I can graduate and move on with my life.

In non-relationship news, I need to reiterate how much I love music. Like I wrote in yesterday’s post, I just put another 800 or so songs on my iPod the other day. I put it on Shuffle and here’s what I heard today:

1. Charlene Kaye and Darren Criss collaborations – I cannot come close to describing the epic amounts of joy I feel when one of their duets comes on. Their voices compliment each other so well, and I just love love love the lyrics to Charlene Kaye’s songs. And besides the songs being so amazing, the music videos are awesome as well…

“Skin and Bones” – The cutest music video of all time. For reals. Esp. at 2:25 when Darren Criss plays a cardboard trumpet. Adorable

“Dress and Tie” – Ohmygod I love this song and it will be played at my wedding. The lyrics kill me… “Oh my heart’s been tried time and again. I always thought that it was me, but… I see now just how wrong I was. No, I haven’t known you for a lifetime, but somehow I’ve never been more sure that you’re for me. Mmm baby please don’t, don’t leave just come and dance with me tonight.” And the chorus… oh, the chorus. What a glorious chorus 🙂 *And* I have those pink glasses… 😉 Do yourself a favor. Buy this song. Listen to it all the time. You’re welcome.

2. “Tiny Dancer” – I think I have at least 4 versions of “Tiny Dancer” on my iPod, and all of them are fabulous. I have: (1) The Elton John original (2) The Almost Famous bus sing-a-long (3) Darren Criss cover [couldn’t find it on youtube… sorry, as you are missing out like whoa] (4) Ben Folds cover. All are awesome. But this song is just awesome…

3. Broadway musicals!!!!!! Oh my goodness, I didn’t realize how obsessed I was with showtunes. I mean, I should have realized this addiction… I used to put on a mix of Broadway songs, grab my hairbrush/water bottle/microphone (yes, I have 2… and I want more… well, I want a sparkly one like Rachel Berry on Glee) and just sing them full-out while practicing facial expressions/acting in the mirror. I got to the point where I could pretty much cry on cue depending on the emotional need for the song. But, I have 4100+ songs on my iPod, and when I put it on shuffle, it played “Omigod” from Legally Blonde: The Musical, “The Blame” from Titanic: The Musical and “Madame Guillotine” from The Scarlet Pimpernel back to back to back. I love Broadway. I love showtunes. I can’t help it…

“Omigod” – Omigod, I love this song. I love this show. (Which is odd, b/c I don’t really like the movie…) But I l-o-v-e the music from this show… and I wish I could sing like Laura Bell Bundy.

“The Blame” – My FAVORITE song from this show!! I love songs where there is overlapping dialogue/lyrics (like the “Quintet” from West Side Story). This song is so money. And j’adore Michael Cerveris. My sister and I saw him as Sweeney Todd in Sweeney Todd a few years ago. I am so glad this clip is on youtube w/the original cast!! “Well then Thank You, Mr. Ismay for your contribution. Now please pray for some miraculous solution. You’re timing is perfect! Now help us please, if you can.”

Madame Guillotine” – The broadway version isn’t online, but this clip was pretty pimp, if only for the awesome location. I love the music for The Scarlet Pimpernel. I haven’t seen the show, but I know the whole soundtrack by heart 🙂

Music is, like, the best thing ever.

Well, have a good one!!

