(Heads up, this will not be a gigantic post, even though I insinuated I would write epic monologues tonight. I just spent the last 4 hours on my computer putting together some music for my brother and working on some stuff for one of my charts I need to make. So, my eyes hurt and my wrists are already tired… but I’ll write a bit. Okay?)

So, tomorrow is April 4th. The 30th Anniversary of my parents’ first kiss. I was just made aware of this specific date this evening… and I think it’s adorable. Just like my parents.

Now, I have been told several times over the story of how my parents met and fell in love. They both have told me that they knew they were going to marry each other within just weeks of the start of their relationship. They’ll be married 30 years this August. Yep – my parents first kiss and wedding day are separated by about 4 1/2 months. And they’ve been married for almost 30 years. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, right? You bet 🙂

When we were done watching television tonight and I was headed down to my room to type this up and go to bed, they both gave me a hug and said goodnight. I told them I love that they are still in love with each other. I was never under the assumption that their marriage has been perfect for all 30 years, but I did tell them that I never was worried that the two of them were ever going to divorce. Our house was (and still is) very much full of love all the time, regardless if there was fighting going on among the children and/or parents. One of our in-jokes is that “We are rich with love.” And we totally are… and I will never take that for granted. It’s amazing how unconditional love works, and I am forever grateful that my family is my family.

I’ve been super busy with work and such the past few days. Even though I am still bonkers stressed out, I actually slept pretty well last night. I expect to sleep better tonight too.

A lot has happened in the past few days. I almost had a meltdown last night when I was trying to install the trial of SPSS 19 on my mom’s computer. It took me 3-4 hours to try to install it, and it still wouldn’t run. And then it took me all of 2 minutes to uninstall. I may try again tomorrow.

During my epic computer problems, I was frantically texting Robin and asking her all sorts of questions since she used the program for her thesis stuff and is already finished with her paper (because she’s awesome like that and got her stuff done months ago 🙂 ). And since she’s the best, she called me and tried to walk me through my computer woes… I ended up deleting the program while she was on the phone and then we just got to talking. Dude, it was beyond great catching up with you, Robin. Like, that was exactly what I needed… I hadn’t laughed that much in a really long time. You are such an amazing person and friend. Getting the chance to meet you and get to know you is one of the best things that ended up coming out of going to grad school last year. I miss you like whoa, girl. I miss you like whoa. 🙂

I had to work for a few hours today. I was super busy. Like super busy. I also had to have multiple chats with my manager. She had to tell me about some new policy stuff (we have to sign off on a bunch of stuff to indicate that we’ve talked with our managers every week about performance and whatnot). And then I had to tell her that I couldn’t go to the convention she told me I was going to in May. She said she was disappointed (totally in the way that a mom says “I’m not mad, I’m just disappointed.”). Yeah… so that was rough. But I got out of it and now can go see my sister!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOT

I helped a bunch of nice people today too, which is the one of the nicer things about where I work. I may not love the job, but most of the people I deal with are pretty nice. I helped some exceptionally nice older women today, and that made me smile.

Confession – I helped this guy out today and thought he was just about the most adorable person ever. He was with his mom and grandma and his grandma was telling me how it was his birthday tomorrow. I could tell he was a bit embarrassed, and he cracked a few self-deprecating jokes. He was probably my age or a little older, kinda preppy looking (but not hoity toity) and he had glasses (which I think is one of the most attractive things about a guy… for reasons I do not know). I was kinda smitten. I helped him and his family out for maybe a total of 10 minutes (though it turns out I helped his mom – and dad – out yesterday… as his mom reminded me while I was helping out again today), but it was enough time for a small part of my mind to completely wonder who he was and what he was all about.

This “I’m smitten even though I totally just met you, spent 10 minutes with you, and will never ever see you again” feeling has happened with exactly one other guy I helped at work right after the holidays. That guy was completely different than today’s guy. Guy from after the holidays was maybe my age or a tad younger, had a military style jacket, shoulder length hair, and a mustache/beard covering most of his face. Let’s just say I would have followed him around for the whole night if I didn’t have other people I had to help.

Both of these guys were super nice. I don’t really have a “type,” but both of these guys had qualities that reminded me of guys from my past, and yet at the same time, they weren’t like any of the guys from my past. If that makes any sense.

However, I am 99.9% sure that I will never encounter either of these guys again. And I am fine with that. It just makes me chuckle when I do have these little chance encounters with people who, if I were in a completely different situation, I would totally want to get to know. It gives me hope that when I do move on from this place, there are going to be other chance encounters to be had that will be at the right time, in the right place, in the right situation. These are just little practice runs that help the work day be a little bit better, if only for 10 minutes.

(btw – totally watched Letters from Juliet with my mom tonight… and maybe that has got me thinking a bit. I don’t really take much stock in “chick flicks” [a term that I loathe like whoa], but I didn’t think this one was that bad. I actually kinda dug it… but it got me thinking about destiny and fate and things being “meant to be” and whatnot)

I need to stop typing. I have so much more of it to do tomorrow 🙂

Have a good one

P.S. I totally promised Robin a Glee tidbit… so, you know how the Warblers have their own album coming out on April 19th? Well… (SPOILER ALERT)… the Glee radio channel on iTunes played one of the Warblers tracks that’s actually going to be in the next new episode (supposedly)… it’s their version of Keane’s “Somewhere Only We Know”. If you love Klaine and are prone to crying, then grab a tissue before you listen to this. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – Darren Criss can do no wrong.

