So, I’m sitting on the couch in the living room killing time until midnight. That’s when our government is going to shut down if Congress and the President don’t figure out this whole budget mess.

(IMMA RANT NOW… JUST TO LET YOU KNOW)

My dad works for the federal government, so if the government shuts down, he’s out of work until this mess gets fixed. We’re watching the news right now… my dad got interviewed earlier today. The news station will air his interview if the government still is on the verge of shutting down. Our fingers are crossed that we don’t get to see the interview, but I have a feeling that we will be seeing it during the 10:00 news. This is so depressing.

I’ve been watching the news a lot during the past few days. This is definitely out of character for me. Even though I am a journalism student, I don’t really watch the news more than I have to, nor do I really keep up with a lot of political stuff. I’m not proud of this, but it’s just something I’m not super into. I can tell you all of the latest entertainment news (I’m not talking tabloid stuff… more along the lines of movie, television and theater news and headlines), but I’m not a fan of politics and whatnot.

However, since my dad’s job (as well as the good of the whole country, really) is at stake right now, I’ve been trying to keep up with the news as of late. And what seems to be getting thrown around as something that Republicans and Democrats can’t agree on when it comes to the budget fiasco is the funding of Planned Parenthood.

It seems that the Republicans want to defund Planned Parenthood, to which I reply, “WHAT THE F**K?!?!?!?”

Now, I have only stepped inside of a Planned Parenthood one time (to see if they were hiring…). But, I whole heartedly support this organization. I am a firm believer in a woman being able to control what happens to her own body instead of government trying to regulate what she can or cannot do. And I’m not just talking about abortions here (even though I am Pro-Choice)…

If you look at their website, you will see that Planned Parenthood is an organization that provides information and help with birth control, emergency contraception, general health care, relationship issues, STDs, sexual orientation questions, and women’s health (among other areas of interest for people in need of health-related services).

Planned Parenthood offers Breast Cancer Screenings, Pap and HPV Testing, Pelvic exams, and other women’s health tests and information.

To think that there is a large chunk of our government who wants to stop funding an organization that does so much for people (especially women) when it comes to health issues… well that just makes me sick to my stomach.

It is extremely close minded of people in our government to want to stop funding for Planned Parenthood. These close minded individuals are so hung up on the topic of abortion (Which is still legal, right? I mean, it’s not like Roe vs. Wade ever got overturned…). I feel it is wrong to try and defund an entire organization which does so much good for women’s health (among other services) just because they also conduct abortions.

People are entitled to their own opinions about whether they consider themselves Pro-Choice or Pro-Life. However, I do not feel it is right for the government to mandate what goes on inside of a woman’s body. There is supposed to be a separation of Church and State, yet I feel that people’s beliefs have worked their way much to far into government, laws and regulations.

Plus, really in the grand scheme of things, the funding of Planned Parenthood is such a small part of the bajillion dollar deficit our country is in. It’s friggin’ RIDICULOUS to be fighting over funding Planned Parenthood when waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay more important things are at stake.

Like, how about… oh, I don’t know… if the government shuts down, the troops won’t get paid but Congress people will. WHAT THE F**K IS WRONG WITH THAT PICTURE? (Answer: Everything)

Pull your head out of your ass, government, and agree on something soon because your shutting down is going to negatively impact a lot of people.

(OKAY, ENOUGH ABOUT THE GOVERNMENT)

I had a pretty productive day today. I probably could have gotten more done, but I am pleased with what I did.

Right before I went to bed last night, I had a thought about how to fix a couple of my charts. So, this morning I did just that… I fixed my charts the best I could, tried to start formatting them to the Thesis and Dissertation people’s standards. I then typed up a couple pages worth of results. I was going to do the results and discussion sections today, but just got the results part done. I will type up the discussion section tomorrow.

I figure I will do the discussion part tomorrow, and maybe start on the conclusion. I have to work on Sunday, but then I have three days off in a row again. Monday I will finish up the conclusion part and then finish formatting my whole paper to TAD standards. Then, Tuesday I will proofread and edit to the best of my ability. I hope to send my finished paper to my thesis chair on Wednesday. Holy hell… lofty goals, but I think I can do it 🙂

Tonight my parents and I watched the movie Jack Goes Boating. Netflix claimed it was a romantic comedy… not as such, Netflix. Not as such. Parts of it were kinda funny… not laugh out loud funny, but more like a knowing chuckle of being able to relate to the awkwardness of the characters. But, I love Philip Seymour Hoffman, so I was glad I saw it.

And that’s really about it… I guess I did also start rewatching Firefly during lunch earlier. I’ve only seen the series all the way through once (and then I did watch Serenity). I love how it’s a mix of Star Wars and a western. Plus, Nathan Fillion is amazing… as always 🙂

And that’s really about it. Oh, and for those wondering, I did post the two codes to unlock “Pink Houses” and “Ice Ice Baby” on Wii Glee Karaoke Revolution Version 2 in the comment section of yesterday’s post.

****This just in at 9:46 pm… it seems the government has placed an extension on their budget mess. So, now we have to wait a few more days (until next Thursday?) for them to figure stuff out. This doesn’t solve anything. It actually makes things worse… just keeping us all on our toes until next week. But will they figure stuff out by then? Are we just postponing the inevitable? BLAH ****

Oh well, I guess I can go to bed soon. I’ll stay up with my parents for awhile more to see if they air my dad’s interview. But then off to bed.

Have a good one

