My head hurts pretty bad right now from all the typing I was doing today, but I’m pretty sure there is some sort of song whose lyrics go “So close… so close and yet so faaaaaaaaaaar away.” I’m watching Castle right now, so I can’t youtube the lyrics to see if I’m right. I’ll check on that later and get back to ya. (btw – I checked youtube, but was unable to find the right song… I swear it exists, though.)

My goal was to complete my discussion and conclusion sections today. Well, the discussion section got done, and *most* of the conclusion section got done, but I still have a bit to go. And then I have a hoss amount of editing and proofreading to do. I’m done for the night, but will regroup, refocus, and jump right back into all this tomorrow morning. I am determined to send this finished draft of my thesis to my thesis chair Wednesday afternoon at the very latest. I can do this. I can do this.

I did spend the majority of my day today hard at work on my paper. I wish I was a better writer, but this thesis is really very hard for me. I was always a great student, but papers are the bane of my existence. I am better at writing how I talk (which is pretty damn colloquial, even though I am a very well educated person) than writing in a scholarly fashion.

Besides typing like a mad fiend and stressing over the sub-par quality of my attempt at writing like a scholar (I am the Eliza Doolittle of writing grad school papers), during my food breaks I started rewatching the 1967 movie musical How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying.

I friggin’ LOVE this musical. Despite it’s horrendously sexist nature (the character of Heddy LaRue… and how all of the executives are men and all the secretaries are women who worry about their appearances), I love the songs. I love the cast. I love the look of the show. Robert Morse is brilliant as J. Pierpont Finch. I am among the minority of people of my generation who will always first think of Morse as Finch instead of Bertram Cooper from Mad Men.

I would LOVE to go see the current Broadway revival of How to Succeed starring Daniel Radcliffe…

Speaking of musicals…

Since I have been listening to the same Thesis playlist for the past week while working on my computer, I have my iPod set to Shuffle again so I get to hear a random sample of my 5000+ songs while I’m brushing my teeth or combing my hair.

I have heard some songs the past few days that I didn’t even remember I had on there, in addition to some favorites I hadn’t heard in awhile.

Today’s biggest surprise was a selection from Candide – the operetta composed by Leonard Bernstein. We played music from Candide in high school symphonic band… it’s really beautiful music. (I’m not a huge classical music expert, but I really liked a lot of the stuff we played in high school band… some Nilesdance, Third Suite, Hobbits, Gandalf, First Suite, Into the Raging River… good stuff. I played 1st trumpet on most of these, so my parts were always awesome 🙂 )

Besides some Candide goodness, I also heard four songs today that actually made me tear up a bit.

I have been listening to two of these songs a lot for the past few weeks, so it wasn’t surprising that when they started playing, my eyes welled up.

1. Barbra Streisand’s version of “Somewhere.” I know I have mentioned this in multiple blog posts prior, but this song is GORGEOUS. I cannot put into words the emotions I feel when I hear this version of the song. Like, it’s so good and it makes my heart hurt so much that I could throw up from the amount of emotion that it just brings up in the very core of me.

2. The Warblers version of “Somewhere Only We Know.” If just the vocals on this make me want to cry, I cannot even imagine what’s going to be happening inside of me when I see this played out in context on next week’s episode. Darren Criss (and the Beezlebubs) tackling a ballad such as this… mmm mmm mmm. When he starts vocalizing around the 2:27 mark. Day-yum… (Speaking of Darren Criss being all day-yum, this video surfaced today of him singing “Hit Me Baby One More Time” at Perez Hilton’s b-day party… I just about died when he slams his hands down on the keyboard at 2:39. Priceless.)

And then there were a couple songs that came out of left field on ya olde iPod today that caught me off guard.

3. “I Could Be In Love With Someone Like You” as sung by Norbert Leo Butz. This was a cut song from the off Broadway musical The Last Five Years. I have never seen this show all the way through, but I have the soundtrack and have watched various pieces of it online. This song was replaced by “Shiksa Goddess,” and I feel that “I Could Be In Love With Someone Like You” is a far superior song. And the way Norbert Leo Butz sings/performs it just makes my heart hurt. This song is pure poetry and his performance is a master class of interpretation.

The part where he sings “I don’t know what I’m doing, but come in and ruin me” at 1:54 KILLS ME. That line is just one of the most beautiful song lyrics that I have ever heard. Every time I hear this song, I rewind that bit over and over again. Man, if I ever meet someone who talks the way these song lyrics are written…

4. “Return to Pooh Corner” by Kenny Loggins. Oh my word, I used to listen to this song all the time. But I hadn’t heard it in years, so when it played on my iPod today, I literally stopped what I was doing and just was completely absorbed in the song. I still know all the words by heart, so I softly sang along to myself. And then I just started crying… This song is my childhood. And sometimes I just get really sad that my childhood is over. I mean, it’s not horrible being an adult. But sometimes I just miss the innocence of youth and a time when I wasn’t so worried about everything all the time. You know?

Alas

I’m tearing up again… which means I’m too tired to be typing 🙂 Off to sleep… so I can wake up and finish my thesis stuff!!!

Have a good one

