Today was my first legitimate day off in a really, really long time. And I thoroughly enjoyed it 🙂

I woke up earlier than I wanted, but it was okay because I rearranged our Netflix queue so that the next movie we get in the mail is something better than the last one that came. (My dad got War of the Worlds 2… yikes bikes) So, I put Never Let Me Go at the top of the queue… I love me a good drama.

This morning my mom and I went to the movies – we saw Arthur. It wasn’t a great movie by any means. And most of the funny parts were in the trailer. But, my mom and I both enjoy Russell Brand and Helen Mirren. And, I am a Greta Gerwig fan from her performance in Greenberg. We chuckled some. It was just nice to be back in a movie theater… I hadn’t been to a movie in about a month. I used to go about once a week. My how times have changed.

After the movie, my mom and I dropped some stuff off at the Goodwill and then went out to lunch before the rest of our errands. After refueling, we went to the library. I got a couple books and some DVDs (Broadcast News – because I have an epic need to rewatch this amazing, amazing movie; The Wiz – in honor of the late Sidney Lumet; and Roadhouse – because j’adore Swayze and I haven’t seen this movie yet).

Upon exiting the library, we went to Target because I was in desperate need of the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part One DVD (well, Blu-ray/DVD/Digital Copy) and we needed some groceries.

When we got home from Target, I changed into my comfy clothes, popped in HP7 and watched it with my mom. My mom has seen all of the HP movies (and has inadvertently seen most of both A Very Potter Musical and A Very Potter Sequel), but she doesn’t remember the plot points to most of them, nor has she read the books. So, a few minutes into HP7, we had to press the pause button and I tried to recap Part 6 and remind her about Voldemort’s return (starting with his physical presence in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire), what was up with Snape, what happened to Dumbledore, etc…

I saw HP7 twice in theaters and have read the book a few times, so I knew what was going to happen in Part One and what’s likely going to happen in Part Two (as the movies aren’t exactly the same as the books…). So, it was extra fun watching HP7 Part One with my mom since she had no idea about what the Deathly Hallows are, or who dies, etc…

We had to pause the movie about 1/2 hour before it ended to make some enchiladas for dinner. I chopped tomatoes, shredded lettuce and provided some sweet Glee tunes from my iPod doc. My mom likes the Glee version of “Baby” for some reason (she likes Sam… that’s why). And, since she’s going to the Glee tour show with me in June, I try to make her listen to Glee as much as I can to get her pumped. I know she’s not going to enjoy the show anywhere near as much as I am. But, I think she’ll like it more than she thinks she will… she totally sings along to a bunch of the songs when I have the music playing in the kitchen. I know, though, she is going to totally laugh at me when I flip the f**k out for Darren Criss and Chris Colfer. And, if the Warblers are on the tour too… forget about it. I am going to lose my shit much like the time when I met Ralph Fiennes outside of the Booth Theater in NYC. (True Story – Fiennes totally chuckled at me when I had a Bridget Jones-esque case of verbal diarrhea and pretty much gushed how I love him, his movies, and how Quiz Show made me want to study film.)

We finished HP7 during dinner and are now watching The Other Guys (well, re-watching The Other Guys… we saw this in theaters over the summer). Mark Wahlberg is so great in this movie… I hope he does more comedies because he truly is a delight to watch.

Well… I think I’m gonna pack it in and watch the rest of the movie. And then I think I’m gonna go to bed as I am friggin’ sleepy. I have to work tomorrow night from 4-11… boo. But then I have Sunday off, which is good b/c I’ll need to do laundry.

Have a good one

