I know today is Good Friday.

And I had a chat with my parents the other day about what Good Friday is all about and the meaning behind Easter and all that jazz… Let’s just say it’s been about 17 years since I’ve been to church. (No, I take that back… I went to church once with a friend in 7th grade… but we were different faiths… but it still counts… so it’s been 14 years.)

I don’t come from a super religious family. It’s not that we don’t believe in God – because we totally do – it’s just that we don’t go to church, nor do we wave our beliefs in anyone’s faces. We believe what we believe and our tolerant of other people’s beliefs. I even took a religion class in undergrad… I mostly just sat there and listened to some more extreme classmates try and tell the rest of us what religion is right and what ones are wrong. But, I still took the class. I’ve learned about various religions over the course of my life and aspects of all of them make sense to me. I just kind of go with the flow and figure I know what’s working best for me. I know what i believe in. At times I still can’t quite wrap my mind around certain aspects of it, but so far, so good.

So, Good Friday. And Easter Sunday is upon us. I will reflect on what I remember from Bible school from way back in the day. But mostly I will just be thankful for my family and the life I have been given. I know I am blessed. And I am continually thankful for it.

Non-religiously speaking, Easter is pretty much the same as Thanksgiving in our house. We’re just really thankful to have each other and the lives we are living. And the food is the exact same too… we have turkey and all the same stuff that we have at Thanksgiving (same w/Christmas). So, it’s really Spring Thanksgiving… with more religious overtones.

Anyway… when I got up this morning, the first thing my mom did was show me a picture of a wood duck that she saw in the yard this morning. As she was showing me the picture, she asked, “Is *this* what you saw yesterday?” She thought that maybe what I thought was a pheasant yesterday was actually the wood duck, since they both have green heads. I know what a wood duck is!! And I know what a pheasant is!! It kinda hurt my feelings a bit that she thought I was wrong about the kind of bird I saw yesterday. Even though I’m not as into nature stuff as my parents, I do know my birds pretty well. (Go ahead and laugh… but I always get told the story of when I was really little, I was sitting in the back of church with my Grammy looking at a bird book when my sister and everyone else was up front… I think rehearsing for some Easter play or something… and anyway, I just sat there pointing out birds in the bird book and yelling out their names, even though I was supposed to be quiet.)

Today, I helped my mom out with some stuff to prep for Easter Sunday. After we watched Darren Criss and the other Warblers on the Ellen DeGeneres show this morning, we went to Target to get groceries for the rest of the weekend.

After lunch (during which I watched some more of The Wiz), I folded laundry and then chopped up a loaf of bread for stuffing.

While chopping said loaf, I was listening to one of my iPod mixes and there were some songs from the next episode of Glee, “Born This Way”.

(SPOILERS, YO… Plus some of my opinions)

So, if you’ve seen the promo for next week’s episode of Glee, you know that Kurt Hummel is going back to McKinley. Yesterday, there were several clips released from the episode, including the scene where Blaine and the Warblers sing “Somewhere Only We Know” to Kurt in the McKinley outside common area.

I watched this clip a bunch of times… and while I love it to pieces, especially b/c Blaine/Darren is playing piano… I got to thinking: Why didn’t the writers give us an episode of Kurt and Blaine dating while Kurt was still at Dalton? I mean, they just started this new side of their relationship, and already the writers are splitting them up. (Splitting them up distance-wise… not breaking them up, as in “they aren’t going out any more…” because they are still together.) I know there are only 6 episodes left in the season, and Kurt needed to get back to McKinley in time for prom and prepping for Nationals. But it would have been interesting to seeing Kurt and Blaine together in front of their fellow Warblers… see how the other Warblers reacted to their relationship. Give them some time together before putting them in different schools again.

That being said, Kurt’s “I’m back at McKinley” song, “As If We Never Said Goodbye” is FLAWLESS. The vocals are oh so good. I can imagine the context of this scene is him singing to himself as he is prepping to go back to McKinley/wandering the halls of the high school while no one is actually paying attention to him. Not quite a dream sequence, but one where he is able to see everyone while he is singing, but no one acknowledges him and that he is singing… like when Finn sang the first part of “Losing My Religion” in Grilled Cheesus.

Anyway, I am super looking forward to this episode. Especially when they sing “Born This Way” 🙂

(END GLEE SPOILERS TALK)

When I was done helping out in the kitchen, mom and I played some Wii sports, but then I went to my room to try and catch up on some TV I missed. I only watched one episode of HIMYM, then went back upstairs to watch Oprah. Chris Rock was on… and I love Chris Rock. So, that was a good hour of entertainment.

And then I fell asleep on the recliner in the living room… I was out for probably 45 minutes when my mom’s phone rang. My dad was on his way home from work, so I got up and helped my mom make tacos for dinner. We listened to more Glee music (I’m still trying to get her psyched for the Glee Live concert in June 🙂 ) and then had tacos and watched Easy A with my dad.

I dug the movie… though I thought they almost over-killed it with all of the references of how they weren’t as cliched as some of the more current teen movies/TV shows have been. I liked all of the 80s movie references (John Hughes movies are the voice of a generation) and the cast was great (well… most of the cast. I’m not an Amanda Bynes fan. Sorry. Though I was pumped to see Max Crumm!). Emma Stone is funny, and I have liked her in everything I’ve seen her in. I thought the movie was pretty solid and it was highly entertaining. My parents were laughing like crazy people during the scene where Olive and Brandon are jumping up and down on the bed making sex noises.

After the movie, I kept my mom company in the kitchen while she washed dishes (I washed dishes earlier today, so it’s not like I don’t ever do chores around the house, fyi.). Then, we played 10 games of Wii Billiards. I was kicking her ass, but then she caught up… I had turned Glee music back on, and for some reason would do well in Billiards when the Warblers were on, but not when New Directions were on. Hmmm…. So, after losing 3 games in a row, and the score was Me: 5 Mom: 4, we decided to play one more game. If we tied, we would play one more, but if I won, then I was the champion. So, I clicked through my Glee-mix until I found the next Warblers song, which was “Teenage Dream.” I was doing really well, but the song ended right before I was about to take my last shot – the shot I needed to sink to win. And, “Born This Way” came on… and by the power of Gaga, I totally sank the 9 ball and won. Woot. Woot.

But, now I am tired, even though I had that bit of a nap. I am not setting my alarm, as I don’t have to be to work until 3:45… so here’s hoping I can sleep in some!!

Have a good one

