I totally checked Facebook at the right time this evening to see that a couple people had posted that Osama bin Laden is dead. I immediately went to Yahoo to check to see if this was true, and Yahoo indicated that the president was going to make a speech soon…

Luckily I always have my TV remotes within reach, so I turned on NBC and saw my man Brian Williams talking until the president gave his speech.

(btw – I shake my head at the people who made comments below that video… being ignorant and racist about another group of people is just wrong)

I kind of can’t believe that this happened. I mean, I know it happened, but it’s still something I am trying to wrap my head around.

9/11 happened the fall of my senior year of high school. It’s something I have dealt with my entire adult life.

I know bin Laden’s death does not solve everything… it’s not like the war on terror is now over. But this is something. And it is a historic event that I will likely never forget.

Though I find it somewhat repulsive to be celebrating the death of a human being, I understand why people are considering this a joyous occasion.

My heart goes out to those who lost someone on 9/11, to the men and women in uniform who have been fighting to protect us in this particular war on terror for the past 10 years, to the innocent people in the Middle East who have suffered because of this continuing war on terror, and to the Muslim people who will likely still get treated unfairly even though that entire group of people are not our enemies. I’m glad Obama reiterated the fact that the US is not anti-Muslim because Muslim people on a whole had NOTHING to do with 9/11. But, I know there are still ignorant people out there who are anti-Muslim because they (the ignorant people) are too small-minded to differentiate between the Muslim people and the radical terrorists. How I wish more people had common sense.

Anyway, I need to sleep now. For real 🙂

Have a good one

